We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Wonderfullness!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Waters Antigua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Waters Antigua
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
norfolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding Wonderfullness!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Me and my, now husband spent 14 nights at Blue Waters in November and, wow, what an amazing time we had. We chose Blue Waters as our destination to get married at with the added bonus of having our honeymoon there too. We had not been there or anywhere like it before but the website made it look just perfect. There was no need to worry or stress with Mandie the wedding co-ordinator taking care of us and co-ordinating our photographer, cake, flowers, dinner, Minister, spa treatments and legal bits and bobs. Mandie will send you an information request form but if there is anything else you had always imagined at your wedding which isn't on the form, she will accommodate you. All of the staff are so friendly and make you feel like family which was nice considering we only took our parents with us to watch us get married. We can't wait to return for one of our anniversaries and to see everyone again!

On-resort recommendations would be to take a couple of kayaks out or let one of the water sports guys take you out on a sail boat and snorkel off Boons Reef. Also, having your evening meal in the wedding gazebo is so special, you must try it! We had ours in there after the wedding but you can hire it for the evening regardless of whether it is a special occasion. Cocktail recommendations would be the Pink Panther. Banana flavoured and pink! Amazing!

An off-resort recommendation would be to go to Shirley Heights (if you haven't heard of it yet, you will soon enough) on a Sunday as the sunset is spectacular and the music fantastic! Also, take a taxi to the cinema. It's such a different experience to going to the cinema in the UK...trust me, it's brilliant.

Our time at Blue Waters and our wedding was everything we had ever wanted AND MORE!!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a deluxe beachfront room (115) with a lovely view of the sea with the sounds of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimbalweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful wedding and honeymoon at Blue Waters, and that we were able to make your big day extra special.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,329
    311
    77
    45
    21
See reviews for
392
973
41
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

We've just come back from the most amazing time at blue waters. We stayed with our baby daughter and the staff were just so kind and accommodating. Nothing was ever too much trouble. The resort is just beautiful. The rooms clean and spacious and they even turn down your sheets before bed!
Mandie the wedding co-ordinator, I can't put into words how fantastic she was. She made our day so special and relaxing we really can't praise her enough. Everything went so well and she even entertained our baby whilst we had our photos done! We will be forever grateful. Such a stress free, romantic, idyllic wedding!
If you're looking for a resort that won't disappoint, blue waters really do go that extra mile. See you again next year!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brightonbelle900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful wedding at Blue Waters, and that we helped to make your big day extra special.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

What a relaxing resort. Excellent service and food. Really top notch. Can get busy on the beach as there aren't many sun beds available there. But there is usually a quiet area by one of the pools. The bathrooms were sparkling. Everyone working at the resort was courteous and solicitous.




  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and enjoyed the food and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

We have had a wonderful 8 days at blue waters cove suites. The experience has been truly amazing. Despite mixed weather but more good than bad, we have made the most of the resort and surrounding area. We cannot really fault Blue Waters. The staff are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble. That in turn leads to a really happy friendly atmosphere amongst the guests. The cove suite was very comfortable and w liked the space and privacy it afforded us. We think we had the best spot being on the ground floor with easy access to the pool. On balance we are glad we opted for all inclusive but probably didn't venture out as much as we might have done had we been on bed and breakfast. The three restaurant system is good as when you set in Bartley's or The Cove it feels like your are going out.
We can definitely recommend this and I am sure we will return one day

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay at Blue Waters and enjoyed your Cove Suite accommodation.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

After my fifth visit to Bluewater, the holiday was still was an amazing experience! The staff are excellent the rooms are spacious, highly recommend it, there was a wedding taking place while we were there and it was such a beautiful surrounding made even more special by the staff at the resort.
The cove restaurant is excellent with a wonderful fillet of beef
Bluewater should be on your bucket list!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natalierebeiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your return stay to Blue Waters and that we lived up to your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Blue Waters is so good, it is difficult to know what to say about it that has not been said already - but because it's so good, it would be unforgivable not to say something.
We were there at the end of November 2013 for just a week following a week in Barbados. Our welcome was superb - as if we were old friends and the most important VIPs. We were then driven by golf buggy to our accommodation at The Cove Suites which was just out of this world. The pictures on the web site hardly do the reality justice, with marble floors everywhere; "proper" air conditioning (no box on the wall stuff here); sumptuous furnishings; massive built in televisions; a bathroom that was something out of a movie set (complete with partially folding wall, so you could sit in the bath and talk to The Damaging Director if you were so inclined!); fabulous lounge area opening out onto your own terrace and then to the infinity pool serving just the suites in your Villa etc etc. Now the Baroness is very fussy about her bed, (and I do mean fussy!) but she thought the bed was even more comfortable than her own at home. Praise indeed! With a view to die for overlooking a beautiful bay with pelicans diving and that endless vista across an azure Caribbean it would be difficult to imagine anywhere more perfect to spend a week.

Although there are 100+ rooms and suites at Blue Waters, they are set in 17 acres of what is effectively private botanical gardens, which have obviously been very thoughtfully planned out and are immaculately maintained, and so there is always a "small and exclusive" feel to the place.

The facilities were first class and the food was superb. Breakfast is a comprehensive buffet style operation but with fresh coffee and tea brought by the ever smiling waiting staff. Some people groan at buffet style anything, but it was very slick, uncrowded and unhurried with virtually everything you could possibly want - including my favourite of eggs benedict (on request). In the evening, out of the two restaurants, our preference was for The Cove Restaurant, overlooking the bay and right on the edge of a small bluff. The atmosphere was very romantic (only the Damaging Director and me on this trip) and the view was very spectacular. Equally, the food was superb, with novel "back-lit" menus to save peering with squinting eyes in the candlelight to see what was on offer. Fillet steak; lobster thermadore etc were the order of the day and give an idea of the level of cuisine on offer, and at surprisingly reasonable prices for the Caribbean. (Barbados is significantly more expensive in our experience.)

But the most enjoyable and impressive part of our holiday at Blue Waters was the people. From the moment we arrived until we left, we were treated with the utmost courtesy, warmth and friendliness. Nothing was too much trouble and everybody (without exception) was smiling and happy. Similarly, we were astonished that from the word go, everybody seemed to know our names - even when we were climbing into the taxi for the airport at the end of our holiday, one of the groundsmen stopped what he was doing and came over with a beaming smile, and addressing us by name, wished us a safe and comfortable journey home! The General Manager, Andy, was always highly visible moving from table to table at breakfast time making sure everything was OK, as were the girls in the Concierge, Karen and Adrienne (she of the smile that could launch a thousand ships!) checking to see if there was anything they could do for us, like booking taxis, trips or tables at the restaurant etc - all very attentive without being intrusive. The waiting staff, the front office staff and the ladies from housing were all equally smiling and helpful every time we encountered them and there is no doubt that the people at Blue Waters are undoubtedly its greatest asset.

Would we go back? Like the proverbial shot is the answer. Having experienced a host of holidays of all types and in virtually every continent during my 65 years, I can honestly say that, overall, this was not only superb, but definitely among the best.

Room Tip: If funds run to it, spoil yourself with a Cove Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeBaronRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at Blue Waters and that the resort's facilities and hospitality made your stay extra enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

This was our fourth visit to Blue Waters over the last four years.
In the past would never have gone back to the same place year after year as too many countries to see.
But for us Blue Waters puts a tick in every box.
The hotel has a great position on the island and easy to get to St. John's and out and about.
Its definitely the staff from the management to each and every other person who works at the hotel that makes it a pleasure to visit.
The food on the whole is good, the beaches fine, quiet evening entertainment which suits us and the husband loves the watersports on offer.
Looking forward to visit for a fifth time.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ShoRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your return stay to Blue Waters and that the staff helped make your visit extra special.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.1 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,188 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,604 reviews
5.1 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
7.0 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#2 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
8.9 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Antigua

Property: Blue Waters Antigua
Address: Soldier's Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. John's
#1 Business Hotel in St. John's
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Waters Antigua 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the North West Corner of Antigua where crystal clear waters lap onto secluded white sand beaches, Blue Waters Resort offers an island paradise. From your personal welcome, complete with cooled scented towel and rum punch, you will realise you are our valued guest. Featuring small secluded beach coves, seven freshwater pools and 17 acres of lush tropical gardens, Blue Waters provides the ideal setting for relaxing days by the pool or on the beach, cocktail in hand, or for reading a good book in the shade of the swaying palm trees. Having gently evolved and constantly improved over 50 years we offer a range of luxuriously appointed rooms to meet the needs of our guests, from hillside rooms in a garden setting to beachside rooms with renowned spectacular ocean views. For the more active guest we offer complimentary watersports, tennis and a newly refurbished gym. Our recently opened Elemis Spa and Hair Salon with its stunning ocean views provides a perfect setting for a pampering treatment or as part of a wedding package. Finish the day off dining at one of our 3 restaurants, each with a different ambience to suit your mood. Our staff is ready and waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelbag, TravelUp and Holiday Gems so you can book your Blue Waters Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Blue Waters St Johns
Hotel Blue Waters
Blue Waters Hotel Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing