We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Waters Antigua
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$436
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$392
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Point Resort & Spa(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antigua Village(St. John's)
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jumby Bay Island(St. John's)
US$1,842
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,967)
Filter reviews
1,967 results
Traveller rating
1,477
340
84
45
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,477
340
84
45
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscove restaurantcove suitepelican barrock cottagepelican housebartleys restauranthillside roomchampagne breakfastall inclusive planwedding gazebosorbetwedding co ordinatorall inclusive optionthe main hotelinfinity poolcold towelsrum punch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
904 - 909 of 1,967 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We just came back from a week at Blue Waters and could not have had a more perfect time. We had gone every February for ten years but the last time, four years ago, found that the personnel departures and meal changes rendered it not worth the money. However, we wanted to try it again and could not be happier that we did. It was like coming home, all the magic is back. The staff are simply amazing; warm, welcoming, and incredibly helpful. They remember your name and favorite drink from the first day. For a boutique hotel, there is an wonderful selection of food. Breakfast includes numerous hot dishes plus made to order eggs and omelettes, fresh fruit, yogurts, a variety of pastries and breads, etc. Lunch can be ordered off an extensive a la carte menu of salads, sandwiches, main courses, and pizza or from the hot buffet, as well as a large variety of salads and desserts. There is a barbecue two days with steak, fish, chicken, ribs, burgers and hot dogs. There are three restaurants for dinner, the best of which is The Cove. Stunning waterfront dining, excellent food, stellar service.
There are plenty of chairs and umbrellas at the three pools and beach, plus unlimited beach towels. In the morning platters of fresh fruit are passed out at the pools and the beach and in the afternoons, sherbet. The water sports center was always fully staffed and there were plenty of sailboats, kayaks, and paddle boats.
The manager Andy was terrific, circulating at meals, very available and approachable. The rooms are immaculate and while you are at dinner, your used towels disappear and you come back to the room with fresh towels and a turned down bed.
We have been to many resorts in the Caribbean and this is truly the best.

Room Tip: Beach front is worth it!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SKmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and were pleased with the resort's facilities and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great location, great facilities, friendly and attentive staff. Blue Waters Antigua has left us with many happy memories and we would not hesitate to return. Sure it's expensive, but you feel cared for and that nothing is too much trouble. My only slight concern is over the quality of the food in the evening. Breakfast is great, lunch by the pool was good but evening dinning was not as good as it should be. The Cove restaurant in spite of its breathtaking location can't live up to its views gastronomically.

Congratulations to all the staff at Blue Waters you gave us a holiday to remember.

Room Tip: we had a cove suite which provided a good deal of privacy and a beautiful pool
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, and were pleased with your Cove Suite accommodation.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We just spent a week at the Blue Waters resort with our two children. We will not be coming back. The property itself is pretty nice, the Cove Suites are really lovely and private…BUT the most important thing that truly differentiates a 5 star resort from an average one - that is the quality of service - is lacking.

Every morning an army of employees of the resort comes to the breakfast area and each one asks whether everything is ok (I guess that's what they have been trained to do). But an honest truth is that the vast majority of them only wants to hear that everything is perfect and no action is required on their part. Every morning we had to wait 15-20 minutes for warm milk for the kids - and when it came it was boiling hot, whereas our coffee came cold. When clean beach towels were finished by the bar area I was told to fetch some at the reception by myself…examples of poor service are endless.

On the last day no rooms were available for a late check-out, so we were offered to use the facilities at the spa. This was acceptable for us, until I was told by the spa manager that I had to pay $55 to blow dry my hair (note - NOT for a hairdresser to provide a service to me but to use a hair drier myself). She said that she is running a business here and she simply cannot allow people to use a hair drier from the spa because then everybody would want to do so for free. Wow! So we left the spa…with dripping wet hair, including our 3 year old daughter. We did mention this incident at the reception and then spent another 4 hours at the hotel - nobody came to apologise, so I guess this kind of service is a norm at this resort.

I also agree with other reviewers that the food is below average - we ate at the Palm restaurant and the Cove for 3 nights and then had to take a taxi to dine elsewhere for the rest of our holiday.

So overall a disappointing stay, which is a real shame because the resort itself is beautiful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ESH1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear ESH1001
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor.com. We value our guests’ feedback at all times as we strive to provide the highest levels of service to our guests. It was very positive to note that you approved of the property and our Cove Suites. However, it is of particular concern when we are told that a guest will not be returning to the property. Kindly allow me the opportunity to address the deficiencies you have highlighted. We have a very hands on management style and our service culture is one where guest contact is central. We take personal interest in meeting all of our guests on a daily basis to ascertain whether or not they are enjoying their stay and if there are any issues so that my team or myself can address them. The service issues that you raised would most certainly have been followed through had they been brought to our attention as those are certainly not the standard of our hotel. Food is a very subjective area, however when we are made aware of any particular concerns over choice and taste, our Executive Chef personally meets with guests to ensure that we offer options they can and will enjoy.
As a guest in our Cove Suites you were entitled to our Concierge Services which provides a personalised service at all times so as ensure your stay is perfect and enjoyable. However you declined this service at all times. I personally spoke to you each day and each time you told me you were having a good time. As noted there were no available rooms for a late stay on your last day. We have changing rooms in our Main Lobby for guest use but the courtesy of utilising our Spa’s changing room and lounge area facilities on a complimentary basis was extended to you and other Cove guests on that day as a gesture of our appreciation and goodwill. You and our other guests were advised that there were no hairdryers available but this service could be provided in our Hairdressing Salon which is situated within the Spa. Your son was given a complimentary blow dry and you were advised that your daughter could have hers done for ½ price but that your hair service would be full price at which point you stated that you would post your dissatisfaction on tripadvisor.com.
We regret that you viewed that we did not offer everything on a complimentary basis in such a negative light when we made every effort to ensure your last day with us was with minimal discomfort.
Personal regards,
Andy Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Spent 2weeks here from 30/1-14/2 2014. From the moment we arrived we new we were somewhere special. Greeted with a smile and a cocktail a welcome to your new home in paradise.
The manager Andy personally welcomed us and chatted to all guests many times during our stay.
All the staff were polite, courteous and very obliging, we must single out Carolyn & Miguel at the beach bar for their superb attention and cocktails of course, always smiling always happy nothing was too much trouble.
The room had spectacular views of the garden & Caribbean, if there was one criticism, and this really is nit picking was the bathroom could do with upgrading but that in no way detracted from our immense enjoyment staying here, so little time was spent in the room anyway.
A big Thank You to Andy and all the staff for a superb holiday ,totally relaxing and rjuvinating.
The fitness room was a bonus and very well equipped enabled you to burn off some of the calories.
Food in all restaurants good to excellent esp. breakfasts, do not have any reservations about staying here. One recommendation to us was that so many of the guests had been returning there for 5, 6 even one couple were spending their 10th consecutive year there, that must tell you something about the place.
We will be returning.

Room Tip: The cove suites are superb all rooms have views
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and were impressed with the resort's service and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

What can I say?!! This is my second home. I absolutely love Blue Waters and the staff are wonderful - there are far too many to name but mostly I would like to thank Andy for making this hotel such a great place to stay and also my stay was so relaxing and to come back time and again is such a joy. The gardens are beautifully kept and so gorgeous. My room in Block 100 (Iam not giving the number away in case someone books it for when I want it again, which is soon!!) was so peaceful and to hear the sea just underneath is something you cannot get anywhere else in the world. The restaurants are extremely inviting and clean and so are the main facilities. The Cove is a wonderful place to dine in and I would love to have breakfast there!!! This is a short review as I cannot fault my whole holiday and Blue Waters. I have already booked to come back in October. I can't wait to see you all!

Room Tip: The rooms in Block 100 are superb
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mabelsouthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and consider it your home away from home!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews