We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“holiday never to forget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Waters Antigua
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“holiday never to forget”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

took mum and dad (50th wedd anniv) and all the family for a holiday of a lifetime and it was just that!!!
bluewaters is awesome,staff are so nice and friendly and they cant do enough for you
food,accomodation was top notch
entertainment could have been alittle better in the eve but overall 10/10

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham8877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,338
    312
    78
    45
    21
See reviews for
394
980
41
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Beatifully located, a perfect blend of comfort, style and tranquility this is an outstanding hotel. We have just returned having stayed in a Cove Suite with my wife, 2 children and toddler. Cove Suites were perfect for a family as there are additional pools for each Cove House. Three separated beaches and one large pool, plus an adult pool, this works very well on different elevated levels. The size and layout is clever and increases the feeling of space, whilst everyone has a sea view. The gardens blooming with Bourganvillias and you could tell there was much dedication to the garden and trees. There are no motorised water sports touting themselves up the beach, which was a relief, and the Hobbie cat sailing and kayaking were excellent. The profile of the guests was predominantly English, newly weds, young families and then middle aged plus. So it had a civilised ambiance and was not noisy. Staff and guests alike were friendly, which is a reflection on it being a perfect sized hotel. Food and drink were first class. We will go back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Needagoodholdiay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and that we didn't let you down for your parents' 50th wedding anniversary.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

10 days at Blue Waters was just what was required, We were lucky in being in the newly refurbished 100 block with new bathrooms and fittings, we looked at friends in the 200 block yet to be refurbished and would not have been so happy in there.
The resort is excellent and although virtually full never appeared crowded as there are so many places to lie out and the options of 3 pools and the beach. Food was good and sometimes excellent with plenty of choice, we did have a disaster at the Cove Restaurant but the following morning we not only had a visit from the Head chef but also Andy, the General manager, to see what could be done, subsequently we went back twice and had great meals and the matter was dealt with in an exemplary manner. Andy and the whole of the staff tend to go that extra mile to make sure that things do go well and any problems are sorted, they were all super from the maids to the restaurant and Bar Staff and up through the management levels, the questionnaire on departure asked for a nomination for "employee of the month " but it would be unfair to single out just one person as they were all so friendly and had a great attitude.
As mentioned in other reviews it is expensive but to be cared for as we were made for good value as we were cared for superbly. Are we going back? Yes without doubt and we will book again for next year as soon as flights can be confirmed

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sacrebleu_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and were pleased with the resort's facilities and landscaped gardens.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We just came back from a week at Blue Waters and could not have had a more perfect time. We had gone every February for ten years but the last time, four years ago, found that the personnel departures and meal changes rendered it not worth the money. However, we wanted to try it again and could not be happier that we did. It was like coming home, all the magic is back. The staff are simply amazing; warm, welcoming, and incredibly helpful. They remember your name and favorite drink from the first day. For a boutique hotel, there is an wonderful selection of food. Breakfast includes numerous hot dishes plus made to order eggs and omelettes, fresh fruit, yogurts, a variety of pastries and breads, etc. Lunch can be ordered off an extensive a la carte menu of salads, sandwiches, main courses, and pizza or from the hot buffet, as well as a large variety of salads and desserts. There is a barbecue two days with steak, fish, chicken, ribs, burgers and hot dogs. There are three restaurants for dinner, the best of which is The Cove. Stunning waterfront dining, excellent food, stellar service.
There are plenty of chairs and umbrellas at the three pools and beach, plus unlimited beach towels. In the morning platters of fresh fruit are passed out at the pools and the beach and in the afternoons, sherbet. The water sports center was always fully staffed and there were plenty of sailboats, kayaks, and paddle boats.
The manager Andy was terrific, circulating at meals, very available and approachable. The rooms are immaculate and while you are at dinner, your used towels disappear and you come back to the room with fresh towels and a turned down bed.
We have been to many resorts in the Caribbean and this is truly the best.

Room Tip: Beach front is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SKmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and were pleased with the resort's facilities and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great location, great facilities, friendly and attentive staff. Blue Waters Antigua has left us with many happy memories and we would not hesitate to return. Sure it's expensive, but you feel cared for and that nothing is too much trouble. My only slight concern is over the quality of the food in the evening. Breakfast is great, lunch by the pool was good but evening dinning was not as good as it should be. The Cove restaurant in spite of its breathtaking location can't live up to its views gastronomically.

Congratulations to all the staff at Blue Waters you gave us a holiday to remember.

Room Tip: we had a cove suite which provided a good deal of privacy and a beautiful pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, and were pleased with your Cove Suite accommodation.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We just spent a week at the Blue Waters resort with our two children. We will not be coming back. The property itself is pretty nice, the Cove Suites are really lovely and private…BUT the most important thing that truly differentiates a 5 star resort from an average one - that is the quality of service - is lacking.

Every morning an army of employees of the resort comes to the breakfast area and each one asks whether everything is ok (I guess that's what they have been trained to do). But an honest truth is that the vast majority of them only wants to hear that everything is perfect and no action is required on their part. Every morning we had to wait 15-20 minutes for warm milk for the kids - and when it came it was boiling hot, whereas our coffee came cold. When clean beach towels were finished by the bar area I was told to fetch some at the reception by myself…examples of poor service are endless.

On the last day no rooms were available for a late check-out, so we were offered to use the facilities at the spa. This was acceptable for us, until I was told by the spa manager that I had to pay $55 to blow dry my hair (note - NOT for a hairdresser to provide a service to me but to use a hair drier myself). She said that she is running a business here and she simply cannot allow people to use a hair drier from the spa because then everybody would want to do so for free. Wow! So we left the spa…with dripping wet hair, including our 3 year old daughter. We did mention this incident at the reception and then spent another 4 hours at the hotel - nobody came to apologise, so I guess this kind of service is a norm at this resort.

I also agree with other reviewers that the food is below average - we ate at the Palm restaurant and the Cove for 3 nights and then had to take a taxi to dine elsewhere for the rest of our holiday.

So overall a disappointing stay, which is a real shame because the resort itself is beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ESH1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear ESH1001
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor.com. We value our guests’ feedback at all times as we strive to provide the highest levels of service to our guests. It was very positive to note that you approved of the property and our Cove Suites. However, it is of particular concern when we are told that a guest will not be returning to the property. Kindly allow me the opportunity to address the deficiencies you have highlighted. We have a very hands on management style and our service culture is one where guest contact is central. We take personal interest in meeting all of our guests on a daily basis to ascertain whether or not they are enjoying their stay and if there are any issues so that my team or myself can address them. The service issues that you raised would most certainly have been followed through had they been brought to our attention as those are certainly not the standard of our hotel. Food is a very subjective area, however when we are made aware of any particular concerns over choice and taste, our Executive Chef personally meets with guests to ensure that we offer options they can and will enjoy.
As a guest in our Cove Suites you were entitled to our Concierge Services which provides a personalised service at all times so as ensure your stay is perfect and enjoyable. However you declined this service at all times. I personally spoke to you each day and each time you told me you were having a good time. As noted there were no available rooms for a late stay on your last day. We have changing rooms in our Main Lobby for guest use but the courtesy of utilising our Spa’s changing room and lounge area facilities on a complimentary basis was extended to you and other Cove guests on that day as a gesture of our appreciation and goodwill. You and our other guests were advised that there were no hairdryers available but this service could be provided in our Hairdressing Salon which is situated within the Spa. Your son was given a complimentary blow dry and you were advised that your daughter could have hers done for ½ price but that your hair service would be full price at which point you stated that you would post your dissatisfaction on tripadvisor.com.
We regret that you viewed that we did not offer everything on a complimentary basis in such a negative light when we made every effort to ensure your last day with us was with minimal discomfort.
Personal regards,
Andy Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Spent 2weeks here from 30/1-14/2 2014. From the moment we arrived we new we were somewhere special. Greeted with a smile and a cocktail a welcome to your new home in paradise.
The manager Andy personally welcomed us and chatted to all guests many times during our stay.
All the staff were polite, courteous and very obliging, we must single out Carolyn & Miguel at the beach bar for their superb attention and cocktails of course, always smiling always happy nothing was too much trouble.
The room had spectacular views of the garden & Caribbean, if there was one criticism, and this really is nit picking was the bathroom could do with upgrading but that in no way detracted from our immense enjoyment staying here, so little time was spent in the room anyway.
A big Thank You to Andy and all the staff for a superb holiday ,totally relaxing and rjuvinating.
The fitness room was a bonus and very well equipped enabled you to burn off some of the calories.
Food in all restaurants good to excellent esp. breakfasts, do not have any reservations about staying here. One recommendation to us was that so many of the guests had been returning there for 5, 6 even one couple were spending their 10th consecutive year there, that must tell you something about the place.
We will be returning.

Room Tip: The cove suites are superb all rooms have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and were impressed with the resort's service and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.0 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,215 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
3,646 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
598 reviews
9.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,224 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Antigua

Property: Blue Waters Antigua
Address: Soldier's Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. John's
#1 Family Hotel in St. John's
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Waters Antigua 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the North West Corner of Antigua where crystal clear waters lap onto secluded white sand beaches, Blue Waters Resort offers an island paradise. From your personal welcome, complete with cooled scented towel and rum punch, you will realise you are our valued guest. Featuring small secluded beach coves, seven freshwater pools and 17 acres of lush tropical gardens, Blue Waters provides the ideal setting for relaxing days by the pool or on the beach, cocktail in hand, or for reading a good book in the shade of the swaying palm trees. Having gently evolved and constantly improved over 50 years we offer a range of luxuriously appointed rooms to meet the needs of our guests, from hillside rooms in a garden setting to beachside rooms with renowned spectacular ocean views. For the more active guest we offer complimentary watersports, tennis and a newly refurbished gym. Our recently opened Elemis Spa and Hair Salon with its stunning ocean views provides a perfect setting for a pampering treatment or as part of a wedding package. Finish the day off dining at one of our 3 restaurants, each with a different ambience to suit your mood. Our staff is ready and waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Waters Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Blue Waters St Johns
Hotel Blue Waters
Blue Waters Hotel Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing