We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Blue Waters Antigua
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Just returned from a lovely, relaxing break at Blue Waters. The rooms were nicely decorated with lovely views of the sea but make sure you request a newly refurbished room or you may be disappointed! The staff were lovely and very friendly, and the management are first class. Entertainment in the evening was usually a band, either playing jazz or something a bit more funky or a steel band, but all were excellent! The only real downfall, was the food. Breakfast was good, and dinner at The Cove restaurant very good, but dinner at The Palms is very limited and a bit canteen like. However, a new English Chef has been brought in now, so hopefully things will improve, which we would really like as we would love to return to the hotel in the future. The beach and pool areas are lovely, and we could always get a sunbed. It would be nice to see some improved pool service, maybe the facility to order food around the pool, and as the sun sets very early (around 6pm), perhaps a sundown drink at the pool bar would be a nice touch rather than the bar shutting at 5pm. Would I return to this hotel - most definately! Have a great time if you go.

Room Tip: The Cove Suites are beautiful but if they are out of the budget, make you sure you request a refurbi...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and were pleased with the resort's facilities and hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,879)
There are newer reviews for Blue Waters Antigua
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

773 - 779 of 1,879 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

Just returned from a relaxing week at Blue Waters. Could have stayed forever!!!

Cannot say enough good things about this place!!! The hotel was one of the best we have ever been to.

From the time you arrive you are put into a chill out mood, with the cool lavender scented towels and the rum punch!!

The staff are ALL fabulous so cannot possibly single out any one person!!

Will definitely return and would recommend to anyone who is seeking a nice relaxing holiday!!!

Room Tip: If you can stretch to a Cover Suite do, these are wonderful and very private.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gina58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and were pleased with the resort's facilities and hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We've just returned from a pleasant week at Blue Waters - but do feel that the quality of the resort (in particular, the food) did not offer great value for money.

- The beach, especially the small one in front of Pelican House, was fantastic - the sea was calm and there was always space, even though the hotel was nearly full when we stayed.
- Many of the staff were extremely friendly, particularly Mark, and Carolyn from the beach bar. However, sometimes it felt as though some members of staff were a bit put out by even simple requests - we found Nicole at the Pelican bar quite difficult to deal with, and it actually put us off sitting around the bar.
- We also ran out of cash for taxis - and asked at the front desk if we could charge further taxis to our room bill - we were told this would be no problem. The next day, we went to book a taxi but were told by the (quite surly) man at the tours desk that this wasn't possible - and our only option was to get an advance (+ commission) from the hotel. This was annoying - as, had we not been given false information, we would have made sure we kept enough cash back for the taxi.
- The room was quite nice - a little tired, but did the job, especially as we didn't spend a lot of time there.
- Our main issue with the hotel was the food - as we were not on the all inclusive plan, we really noticed the high prices of the food, especially as, in our option, the quality was really not there. Most mains cost at least 25USDs, often higher, and at the Cove we paid 49USDs for 3 lamb cutlets, lumpy mashed potato and a couple of julienne carrots. It was the same story at the other restaurants - high prices for very average, 1980s style food. In the end we started eating out, and had better luck (and lower prices) with that.
- On the other hand, the drinks prices were quite reasonable, and breakfast was always very nice.

On the whole, we had a nice, relaxing week - the resort seemed peaceful and quiet, and the beach was wonderful, which is what we came for. However, if you're into good food/ better value for money, then perhaps stay somewhere else - Galley Bay ticks those boxes.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank welikethehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The girlfriend and I have had a wonderful week here at the resort. Highlights have been the staff who are very friendly and helpful, the seclusion of the resort and the beautiful beach/gardens/views.

The service is excellent, for example the cold towels and fruit offered to you on the beach.

In general a very relaxing, beautiful and idylic place to unwind from the pace of modern life. I would definitely love to return.

Room Tip: The deluxe beachfront rooms are perfect if you like falling asleep to the sound of the sea.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattDukeBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and that we exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Initial impressions very good as check-in was smooth and effortless including complimentary rum punch (the first of many we were to enjoy during our 7 night stay) Extensive breakfast choice which set us up for the day. Complimentary afternoon tea was great fun and a nice break at 4pm (how very English!) All three restaurants offer great choice. Barkleys a little quiet, the Cove well worth it for an anniversary celebration and the Palm a firm favourite for relaxed dining every evening. Varied entertainment each evening with excellent singers and musicians added to the enjoyable evening relaxation. Rooms light and airy, comfy beds. Excellent service from everyone, we were made to feel very valued and important by all the staff and it was good to see management in evidence checking that everything was ok. Would thoroughly recommend the resort and we hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julesan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and were impressed with the resort's facilities and level of hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Amazing holiday in beautiful surroundings. First class service from all staff throughout our 11 night stay. Excellent food, including a very special wedding anniversary dinner at the Cove. Fabulous! Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and that your wedding anniversary meal was extra special.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Beautiful setting and immaculately maintained resort, both in the rooms and the grounds. Stayed in one of the regular rooms on second floor - bed was extremely comfortable and there is a good size balcony looking right over the water. Bathroom was nice, but the floor flooded a bit after showers because there was no door or curtain (not a big deal). Service was overall very good. Definitely skews to an older crowd, although there were a handful of families with toddlers/babies. The beach is lovely but very small and one drawback is having to get up early to obtain a spot with an umbrella, which are in short supply. Spa was nice but not amazing. The food was very good - great breakfast buffet (the eggs were fantastic). Recommend the meal plan. Also recommend Cove suites if you are a pool person - the pools are gorgeous there, while the main pools are average. Overall, a very nice choice for a completely relaxing, low-key caribbean getaway.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 100s and 200s on the second floor are nice in the afternoon for sitting on the balcony...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and were impressed with the resort's facilities and level of hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
11.2 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
591 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,020 reviews
5.1 mi away
Jumby Bay Island
Jumby Bay Island
#1 of 16 in St. John's
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,336 reviews
9.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,305 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Antigua

Address: Soldier's Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. John's
#1 Business Hotel in St. John's
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £238 - £997 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Waters Antigua 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the North West Corner of Antigua where crystal clear waters lap onto secluded white sand beaches, Blue Waters Resort offers an island paradise. From your personal welcome, complete with cooled scented towel and rum punch, you will realise you are our valued guest. Featuring small secluded beach coves, seven freshwater pools and 17 acres of lush tropical gardens, Blue Waters provides the ideal setting for relaxing days by the pool or on the beach, cocktail in hand, or for reading a good book in the shade of the swaying palm trees. Having gently evolved and constantly improved over 50 years we offer a range of luxuriously appointed rooms to meet the needs of our guests, from hillside rooms in a garden setting to beachside rooms with renowned spectacular ocean views. For the more active guest we offer complimentary watersports, tennis and a newly refurbished gym. Our recently opened Elemis Spa and Hair Salon with its stunning ocean views provides a perfect setting for a pampering treatment or as part of a wedding package. Finish the day off dining at one of our 3 restaurants, each with a different ambience to suit your mood. Our staff is ready and waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blue Waters Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Blue Waters St Johns
Hotel Blue Waters
Blue Waters Hotel Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing