We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic sea view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Waters Antigua
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fantastic sea view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Beautiful resort. The water is really blue. Resort overlooks small cove. Lovely gardens and flowers. Room Ac and fan. Good bathroom with free standing tub and shower. Breakfast buffet and fine. Ate in restaurant which was also good. Fine dining restaurant full staff helpful and friendly.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthamptonStarlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and were pleased the resort's dining options and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,338
    312
    78
    45
    21
See reviews for
394
980
41
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Always our first choice no matter for how, long, either for a lengthy vacation or just passing through. Excellent staff who always make you feel at home. I have recommended Blue Waters to countless people and they all are repeat guests

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and were pleased with the resort's facilities and hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Set on a beautiful, but small beach, Blue Waters is amazing from the moment you arrive. We were greeted by the manager with a drink and a smile. Our toddler was asleep so they speedily checked us in and got us to our Cove suite. Being 7 months pregnant too, the buggies that they have to move people around in were great! we mostly walked but it was great to have the option of the buggy.

I definitely agree with the other reviews - if you can afford Cove go for it - they are stunning. We were in 3B and the view was straight over the water, and watching the sunset every night was a highlight for us. We had a cot in the room for our toddler and there are a huge amount of space for all our stuff, the cot and the toddler to run around! The private pool was also perfect for him to swim and for us to relax. Other people have mentioned the music which I was worried about - we did not here a thing! Cove 3 is quite far form the main building (a 2 min walk), so was perfect.

The beach is small but perfect - amazing sand and water - they bring you cold towels and fruit during the day!

Service was laid back but very friendly and breakfast was great! we were not all inclusive, and mostly ate dinner out.

I guess if i had one tiny moan it would be that dinner at the hotel was expensive if you did it as a one off (and nothing suitable for toddlers by the time we ate). BUT saying that, the food was very good, so no major gripe here at all

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, highly suitable for families,and we had a fabulous, relaxing time.

Room Tip: if you can do Cove then do it. 3B was amazing views straight out over the sea, and
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curlygirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and were pleased with the resort's facilities and hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Blue Waters is our definition of paradise.
We were recommended this resort by our travel agent Paula at Oundle Travel and knowing we were seasoned travellers she was on the button.
We travelled through Virgin Holidays flying premium economy just to set the standard we wanted.

Our arrival at Blue Waters was encouraging . Being met by the general manager Andy Howard and his staff , with cold towels and rum punch added to the experience. We had booked a deluxe beach front refurbished room and the porter showed us the way whilst giving an informative mini tour of the resort. The room was brilliant being steps from the beach and a great view across the small private bay to the north. The room was well furnished and airconditioned and being on the top floor of the small 100 block was a short walk away from the bars and restaurants which gave a feel of tranquillity with just the gentle lapping of the sea below the balcony.

We visited all three of the restaurants and can praise each with their own distinct ambiance and culinary diversity. The new Chef de cuisine Jason ( Gordon Ramsey trained ) was bringing new ideas and freshness to each restaurant but his baby was the Cove which was amazing.

Water sports are available with non motorised included in the price. They also have their own speedboat the Monteray run by the fabulous Owen and crew Irwin. Hiring this individually or with a small group was just the icing on the cake. Hobiecat sailing and snorkelling off the reef was one of my wife's highlights.

The resort and it's staff are Amazing. Ones that linger in our memory are Owen at the watersports , Jason the new Chef , Carolyn at the pool bar , Yvette and Andre in the Palm and many more .

Is this a place to go back too. Of course, after all it is Paradise

Room Tip: Block 100 upper floor is good value and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chinatrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and that we were able to redefine paradise for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

My husband and I did a "last minute" getaway vacation with only about 10 days' notice. We were tired of the cold and snow and wanted to find somewhere that had a short (4 hour) direct flight and warm sunny beaches to recharge our batteries! We had never been to Antigua before and chose this island and, thankfully, we chose Blue Waters.

Everything about Blue Waters is absolutely fantastic - and I am usually very picky. From my initial contact with the staff in the UK prior to booking, through booking, arrival, and departure; everyone was kind, courteous, and genuine. I read the negative reviews on TA and I don't know where those people stayed, because it certainly wasn't Blue Waters.

We arrived several hours before check-in and, yet, were greeted warmly with smiles, cold towels, and a delicious rum punch along with a personal welcome from the General Manager, Anderson Howard.

After a brief chat and finishing our drinks, we were taken to our room by Mark. Mark took the time to walk slowly and show us around the resort and point out almost everything we would need for our stay there before we got to our room. That is a really nice touch!

We arrived at Pelican House #602 and were blown away by our suite, our pool, the views, and the access to a private beach. Within a few minutes of Mark's departure, our concierge, Karen arrived to make sure we were settling in, checking to see if we needed anything; and to find out what dinner arrangements we wanted her to make for us (we did not do the AI plan). We explained what restaurants we were looking to go to on what dates and what times. As we were chatting with Karen, room service arrived with a bottle of chilled wine that I had ordered as a special surprise for my husband.

After unwinding for a bit, we decided to let the wine chill and roam about the property. We had been up since 3 a.m. and it was about 1 p.m. as we walked by the Palms Restaurant Saturday BBQ buffet. It smelled wonderful, we were tired and hungry, so we decided to have lunch onsite rather than going out. Lunch was very nice. Fresh grilled fishes, chicken, ribs, burgers, and hot dogs along with a complete buffet of sides, salads, and desserts. The buffet was $30 US per person which I thought was fine.

The rest of the day we spent relaxing by the pool and on the beach. Since we had our own pool at Pelican House, we didn't use the others, but they all seemed fine. To me, the adult only pool never seemed to get any use. The private beach access was wonderful and there were never more than 3 or 4 couples at any time on our beach. All the beaches and pools were well kept. The grounds of the entire resort were pristine and all the staff go out of their way to keep it so.

The onsite gym was large, clean, and very well equipped. Every morning (7 a.m.) it was almost close to full which says alot since most resort gyms aren't always so great.

The breakfast is wonderful with a ton of choices both hot and cold. Eggs are cooked to order however you like. The staff is very attentive because one of the girls saw me picking through the bacon (I like mine crisp to almost burnt) and there wasn't any, so I skipped it and made other selections. Within 5 minutes she brought a plate of very crisp bacon out to me - I had never complained or asked!!

The afternoon tea was great with a nice variety of selections (tea, coffee, iced teas, iced coffees, or virtually anything you wanted) and were accompanied by great little sandwiches, sweets, and fresh baked cookies. This was a great way to tide you over if you were planning a late dinner.

For lunch we only ate here once (as mentioned before) and we went out each night for dinner (Le Bistro, La Bussola, Cecilia's, Catherine's, and Coconut Grove). The only dinner we had onsite was The Cove, which was fabulous! We orginally had reservations for 7:30 or 8:00 p.m. and both Nian (awesome Nian) at the tours desk and Andy (general manager) recommended we change to an early reservation (6:30) to be able to have a waterfront table and watch the sun set. We took their advice and it was well worth it. We arrived around 6:15 and enjoyed a cocktail with the sunset, then began a memorable dinner. We were never rushed. The food was delicious and prepared beautifully - hint - leave room for the banana crepes!!! YUM!

Blue Waters has just hired a brand new Chef who had only been there for 2 or 3 weeks when we arrived - He is classically trained and worked for Gordon Ramsey. We met him several times during our stay as he circulates during breakfast, lunch, and dinner to chat with the guests and get feedback - he is changing things (albeit slowly) but you can already see the differences.

The staff are attentive, yes service may be a little slower than you are used to in the States, but that is island living and island time. Slower does not mean inattentive or poor at their job. Upper Management is very hands-on and visible on a daily basis. Each and every day we saw Andy Howard (General Manager) interacting with the guests and staff in a quiet, but effective way.

Since all the non-motorized watersports are included, we learned to sail while we were there. The guys down at the water shop (Brian and Dave) were great to work with and made us feel very comfortable. After our first lesson, we went sailing every day!

I had a list of activities, sights to see, and tours to take while visiting Antigua - NONE of them got done! This statement truly says alot about how remarkable Blue Waters is - as we are not the type to sit around and do nothing, which is exactly what we did for the first time EVER. To be fair, "nothing" included the pool, the beach, the views, sailing, and drinks!

My husband and I have been traveling together for 26 years and normally go away twice a year. We have been to most Carribean islands and all over Europe. This is the first time that my husband had ever said, "I would like to come back here - soon!"

Thanks to everyone at Blue Waters (even those I forgot to mention) for a wonderful holiday - and, I know, we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bermudabarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and that we were able to make your first time in Antigua extra special.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Just returned from a lovely, relaxing break at Blue Waters. The rooms were nicely decorated with lovely views of the sea but make sure you request a newly refurbished room or you may be disappointed! The staff were lovely and very friendly, and the management are first class. Entertainment in the evening was usually a band, either playing jazz or something a bit more funky or a steel band, but all were excellent! The only real downfall, was the food. Breakfast was good, and dinner at The Cove restaurant very good, but dinner at The Palms is very limited and a bit canteen like. However, a new English Chef has been brought in now, so hopefully things will improve, which we would really like as we would love to return to the hotel in the future. The beach and pool areas are lovely, and we could always get a sunbed. It would be nice to see some improved pool service, maybe the facility to order food around the pool, and as the sun sets very early (around 6pm), perhaps a sundown drink at the pool bar would be a nice touch rather than the bar shutting at 5pm. Would I return to this hotel - most definately! Have a great time if you go.

Room Tip: The Cove Suites are beautiful but if they are out of the budget, make you sure you request a refurbi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and were pleased with the resort's facilities and hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Just returned from a relaxing week at Blue Waters. Could have stayed forever!!!

Cannot say enough good things about this place!!! The hotel was one of the best we have ever been to.

From the time you arrive you are put into a chill out mood, with the cool lavender scented towels and the rum punch!!

The staff are ALL fabulous so cannot possibly single out any one person!!

Will definitely return and would recommend to anyone who is seeking a nice relaxing holiday!!!

Room Tip: If you can stretch to a Cover Suite do, these are wonderful and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gina58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and were pleased with the resort's facilities and hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.0 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,215 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,646 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
9.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Antigua

Property: Blue Waters Antigua
Address: Soldier's Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. John's
#1 Business Hotel in St. John's
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Waters Antigua 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the North West Corner of Antigua where crystal clear waters lap onto secluded white sand beaches, Blue Waters Resort offers an island paradise. From your personal welcome, complete with cooled scented towel and rum punch, you will realise you are our valued guest. Featuring small secluded beach coves, seven freshwater pools and 17 acres of lush tropical gardens, Blue Waters provides the ideal setting for relaxing days by the pool or on the beach, cocktail in hand, or for reading a good book in the shade of the swaying palm trees. Having gently evolved and constantly improved over 50 years we offer a range of luxuriously appointed rooms to meet the needs of our guests, from hillside rooms in a garden setting to beachside rooms with renowned spectacular ocean views. For the more active guest we offer complimentary watersports, tennis and a newly refurbished gym. Our recently opened Elemis Spa and Hair Salon with its stunning ocean views provides a perfect setting for a pampering treatment or as part of a wedding package. Finish the day off dining at one of our 3 restaurants, each with a different ambience to suit your mood. Our staff is ready and waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Waters Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Blue Waters St Johns
Hotel Blue Waters
Blue Waters Hotel Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing