We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A once in a lifetime holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Blue Waters Antigua
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We throughly enjoyed our stay at Blue Waters. The hotel is gorgeous, it has a colonial feel to it and very spacious, so it never feels there are too many people about.
The food was very tasty and fresh and they catered so well for my partner's allergies.
We stayed in one of the suites which are truly lovely.
This was supposed to be a one off holiday but we are already planning for our return in a couple of years' time!!
The staff is most helpful and the atmosphere is generally very relaxed.
The only thing I would say is that big parties of people should be warned that this place is very quiet. There was a group of people that came for a 50th celebration and I feel they could have chosen a better location for being boisterous.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and were pleased with the resort's facilities and hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,879)
There are newer reviews for Blue Waters Antigua
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

762 - 768 of 1,879 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed in one of the Cove Suites, a very nice room where everything worked well and you stepped out of the back door onto your own patio and then down to the pool. Some of the plumbing noises coming from upstairs grated a bit, as did the lady stomping up and down in stilettos. Thank goodness they went to bed early.

Staff are welcoming, friendly and only too pleased to help. A genuinely nice bunch. Service was mostly very good, sometimes a bit more laid back than horizontal, but always willing.

There are beautiful gardens to wander through and watch hummingbirds shoot from flower to flower.

The spa looks great, although we did not use it. Water sports not involving an engine are free at the far end of a small beech. There is one other small beech, although to be fair, this didn't really affect us with several pools to choose from.

Breakfast and lunch had a wide range of everything you could possibly wish for and in the main good quality ingredients, well cooked.

So far, so good then, until you get to dinner, and this was what let the Hotel down. It is difficult to describe, and I really do wonder what others eat at home if they think this is 5 star! It was sort of school dinners, but with a steel band bashing out a tune and making conversation difficult. House red, was a "headache in a bottle" and not the sort of thing you would recommend to a friend. Hence my overall score of average, I don't think we would go back, which is a shame, however, fine wine and food are important especially at Dinner, and this was not up there. House white and rose wines were ok.

Room Tip: Cove suites are the way to go, get 1st floor or Penthouse to reduce the chances of noisy neighbors!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Watfordbloke7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and were pleased with the resort's facilities and hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We recently returned to Blue Waters to witness our friends wedding. We were there the previous year and very rarely return anywhere! The location, facilities and food are all great, the resort is beautiful and very well maintained and the staff/service really are excellent. The spa staff deserve a special mention - I slipped a disc in my back just prior to travelling and they tailored a massage to help me feel more comfortable and relax some of my strained muscles! (I feared they might refuse to treat me) The bride and I spent the day of the wedding being pampered which was also wonderful - full marks to Gwen! On behalf of my friend (the bride) who is Coeliac, I would like to complement the chefs, particularly Jason, - they were always available for consultation on suitability of dishes and would often create something special; the best selection and treatment my friend has experienced anywhere!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your return visit to Blue Waters for your friend's wedding, and were able relax with a spa treatment or two.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was our second trip to Blue Waters and obviously we wouldn't have returned if we hadn't enjoyed our first visit. The location is great and the staff are friendly and helpful. Some of them are particularly quick at learning names and will even stop for a chat if you meet them off-site. On both occasions we booked a hotel room with all-inclusive. Rooms are comfortable and clean with towels, toiletries and drinks regularly replenished. My only criticism would be that they lack a suitable light for reading. Next time we intend booking a Cove Suite as we're travelling with family including a baby and toddler who need more space.
The Pelican Bar is a pleasant place to sit, although some of the chairs in the middle need back cushions. The staff will soon anticipate what you want to drink! We ate mostly in the Palm with occasional forays to Bartleys or a The Cove. Service in Bartleys was much improved on last year and Jason (the Welsh chef at The Cove) has ambitious fine-dining plans. We like outside at The Palm for breakfast and inside in the evening. We particularly appreciate Melicia who will find you a table even if you turn up early. The only problem with The Palm is tea-time when a lot of tables are in direct sunlight - though Paulette was kind enough to bring tea across to the bar for us when there was no room left in the shade. As for the food, it's plentiful and good - though we do wish there were more vegetarian dishes, especially in the evening. Our daughter and children are vegetarians but Vincent (the catering manager) has assured us it won't be a problem.
That brings us to a big plus at Blue Waters. Unlike in many hotels, Andy (the manager) and Vincent have a very visible presence and not just at the Manager's party. They chat to guests and trouble-shoot, meaning that any minor difficulties are quickly resolved. For example, all of our lights failed one evening but having been reported at reception, the problem was sorted by the time we returned from dinner.
You could easily spend a week at Blue Waters without setting foot outside the resort but we felt safe walking in the local area. If it's your first trip you may want to book an island tour from the concierge or your rep. We'd recommend Pelican. Once you've done this you'll know where to go if you hire a car. The only trip we booked this time was to Barbuda Bird Sanctuary. We enjoyed it but it's not suitable for very young children owing to the length of time spent on the boat.
Would we recommend Blue Waters? Yes! But Andy please note...if you get lots of bookings after this, please make sure we get priority!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGodd1ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your return visit at Blue Waters, and were pleased with the resort's facilities and hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
14
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The location is perfect-secluded but accessible. The bay is quite small and sheltered which is perfect for sea swimming and water sports. The accommodation is attractive and comfortable and the gardens and grounds are beautiful and well kept. Above all, the service is outstanding.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and were pleased with the resort's facilities and hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Blue Waters Resort in Antigua is the most beautiful place! Believe me.. I am fussy, but I have no complaints here!
I was ‘forced’ (I say this loosely) to choose Blue Waters, because I was attending a friend’s wedding.

On arrival at Blue Waters I was pleased we hadn’t had a mammoth journey from the airport, yet it was far enough away to not be disturbed by aeroplanes. We had welcome drinks and our registration cards to fill in, which lasted a short while before being escorted to our rooms.
The staff were very welcoming and gave the impression that nothing would be too much trouble, little did they know that we would be the group to test them with our requests, and although we were all there for a wedding, each guest was very important to them. Every need was met which made us all very relaxed.
Food – There are three restaurants, at Blue Waters, The Palm is an excellent buffet and a la carte restaurant, run by Jason. The palm is also where the breakfast buffet is held, which serves a wide range of foods as well as made to order omelettes. Bartleys, had a different a la carte menu every night and was again, nothing but superb! The Cove, a fine dining experience which we only visited once (for the wedding day) was absolutely fantastic! The bride and groom had hired it out specially - it was magical. Again, the kitchen was run by Jason. I am celiac so fussy with the types of food I eat, but Jason and his team were wonderful.
That’s not it for food. Some days there was a BBQ available for lunch, there is afternoon tea on the terrace and on the occasion I bumped into someone offering sorbet by the pool.
Drinks – We were a group who like to drink and enjoy having fun. We occupied the bar every night after dinner and at times headed to the Jacuzzi, once the bar shut, but don’t tell anyone…

The entertainment was fantastic and we danced the nights away before heading back to our rooms, counting down the days until we had to leave paradise. There was water sports onsite to keep us entertained as well as a huge list of excursions to attend.

Atmosphere – Everywhere we went, the people were so lovely. Not just the staff but other guests were very friendly and we managed to make some new friends. Outside of the resort, on recommended trips, it was clear to see that the Antiguans have a real zest for laughter and fun.
Rooms – The rooms were as you would expect, clean, lightly decorated and had everything we needed including dressing gowns and slippers – a luxury I love! I was in a standard room with a friend and it was perfect. High floor with a sea view was the best way to be. Some of the group had apartments or suites. These rooms were incredible, everything you need and more!
The Spa – my favourite place! I had a few treatments during my stay and got to know the staff quite well. Lovely, lovely ladies who made me feel so relaxed. The view from the spa was lovely and it has a separate pool, only really suitable to cool down because it’s tiny, but all you need.
A few other points to note, hiring a car was easy and very cost effective.
Apparently the resort was at full capacity however, there was always free sunbeds by many pools, and along the beach. I never thought it was crowded. We also managed to watch the England rugby game in the pelican bar, which I was very grateful for, although we lost the game it was great to get back out into the sun to commiserate.
If you are going to Antigua you MUST go to Shirley Heights on a Sunday, to see the amazing sunset across the ocean. Food, drinks and music will see you through the incredible evening.

If you are looking for The Wedding spot of the year, contact Mandi at Blue Waters who was fabulous. Not only did she care and take interest in the Bride and Groom, she also looked after the rest of the party. So many people to mention, Andy (GM), Jason (chef), Gwen (Spa Manager), All of the F&B staff – Thank you for an awesome holiday! One to remember always!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank trishastours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed staying at Blue Waters during your friend's wedding.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Beautiful resort. The water is really blue. Resort overlooks small cove. Lovely gardens and flowers. Room Ac and fan. Good bathroom with free standing tub and shower. Breakfast buffet and fine. Ate in restaurant which was also good. Fine dining restaurant full staff helpful and friendly.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank SouthamptonStarlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and were pleased the resort's dining options and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
11.2 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
591 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,020 reviews
5.1 mi away
Jumby Bay Island
Jumby Bay Island
#1 of 16 in St. John's
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,336 reviews
9.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,305 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Antigua

Address: Soldier's Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. John's
#1 Business Hotel in St. John's
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £238 - £1,000 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Waters Antigua 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the North West Corner of Antigua where crystal clear waters lap onto secluded white sand beaches, Blue Waters Resort offers an island paradise. From your personal welcome, complete with cooled scented towel and rum punch, you will realise you are our valued guest. Featuring small secluded beach coves, seven freshwater pools and 17 acres of lush tropical gardens, Blue Waters provides the ideal setting for relaxing days by the pool or on the beach, cocktail in hand, or for reading a good book in the shade of the swaying palm trees. Having gently evolved and constantly improved over 50 years we offer a range of luxuriously appointed rooms to meet the needs of our guests, from hillside rooms in a garden setting to beachside rooms with renowned spectacular ocean views. For the more active guest we offer complimentary watersports, tennis and a newly refurbished gym. Our recently opened Elemis Spa and Hair Salon with its stunning ocean views provides a perfect setting for a pampering treatment or as part of a wedding package. Finish the day off dining at one of our 3 restaurants, each with a different ambience to suit your mood. Our staff is ready and waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Destinology, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blue Waters Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Blue Waters St Johns
Hotel Blue Waters
Blue Waters Hotel Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing