We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Waters Antigua
Nearby Hotels
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Siboney Beach Club(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$221
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Trade Winds Hotel(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$436
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$284
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Point Resort & Spa(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antigua Village(St. John's)
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jumby Bay Island(St. John's)
US$1,396
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Galley Bay Cottages(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$531
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,977)
Filter reviews
1,977 results
Traveller rating
1,487
339
85
45
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,487
339
85
45
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscove restaurantcove suitepelican barrock cottagepelican housebartleys restauranthillside roomchampagne breakfastall inclusive planwedding gazebosorbetwedding co ordinatorall inclusive optionthe main hotelinfinity poolcold towelsrum punch
Filter
Updating list...
852 - 857 of 1,977 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just came back from 11days at Blue Waters and it was heaven. Went with three kids aged 7,12 and 15. We stayed in the stylish and extremely comfortable penthouse in the Cove suites- lovely interiors - very clean and well maintained plus a shared pool which we had to ourselves most of the time. Beach smallish but easily big enough for the size of hotel and safe and clean for kids. Best of all was that there were plenty of beautiful clean pools and areas where you could be away from other people if you wanted. Concierge system means that you have all your needs met, trips and restaurant bookings sorted by the team who are informed and charming. food pretty good and everyone loved it. Have stayed elsewhere on the island quite a few times but Would definitely revisit. Truly relaxing as kids and babies are made to feel very welcome despite the grown up feel of the hotel plus very good service. Perfect combo!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and were pleased with the resort's facilities, including your Cove Penthouse accommodation.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel, for the first few days, knocked our socks off. It really is 5 star, the only area lacking is the food. Read on:

Bits to enjoy:

Excellent facilities, grounds, buildings, rooms, etc. Everything is spotless, clean, meticulous in detail. We stayed in a cove suite (ground floor) in block 1 and were far enough away from the evening entertainment to not hear it and close enough to be a 5min stroll from the main complex (although in the cove suites, you can ask for a golf buggy to come and transport you - if you're feeling really lazy!)

Staff on the whole were good, beach bar and buffet restaurant and the shop are the ones that stick out in my mind. Mostly very hard working, engaging and made an effort to get to know you - it must be a thankless task with 000's of people coming and going each year and never knowing who you may or may not see again. There were a few that could have been a little more cheery but overall very good.

There are about 10 or 11 pools in the resort - some exclusively the use of suites or houses and others for the use of everyone. We stayed several days by the pool in the 1st block of cove suites and had it all to ourselves. There's an adults pool too which was good (very quiet) and of course the other two pools near the restaurant and the beaches (smallish but perfectly adequate)

Water sports were OK - a few Hobies that we took out a couple of times, kayaks, etc for use. There are no jet skis but the water sports team have the numbers of the guys at Sandals (about a 7 minute jet ski transfer) and you can use them for about $55 for 30mins. The hotel is between the Carribean and the Atlantic so does get a bit choppy.

Used the spa a couple of times with my wife and thought it OK, not brilliant, but good enough.

The buffet restaurant was pretty good, it is what it is (though we felt expensive) an as there's nowhere in walking distance of the hotel, you are limited - some people ate out every night because of this which I felt was excessive but each to their own.

The real let down, in our opinion was the Cove restaurant - the first time we went I was politely asked, upon reaching the bar, if I would change my shoes as I was wearing open toed sandals (a very nice designer pair) with my linen trousers and shirt. I said I didn't mind and changed and was in back in less than 5 minutes but it seems so old fashioned and I think the Cove has bigger things to worry about that its guests foot wear.

The food was average, the delay (on one visit) was unacceptable - read my other restaurant review on the Cove. They have hired an English chef to try and turn what it a pretty dreary dining experience in to fine dining and I hope they achieve this - in a hotel this good, you need theatre at dinner time rather than an overcomplicated, tired, uninspiring menu (parma ham and melon - really?!).

The other restaurant wasn't much better - Bartley's Italian. I did read in some of the literature this was an adult only venue - it turned out not to be but the hotel should consider this. We don't have kids and don't mind them but screaming children at dinner time in a hushed restaurant is decidedly horrible.

Anyway food here was odd - strange nibbles, wrong order one time and the décor is something out of a 1980s restaurant with the dessert menu looking particularly sad and thin - I think about 4 options to choose from - none of which inspire.

You can see some folks love it and rave about the food in their reviews but the truth is both the Cove and Bartley's could do better - they wouldn't have hired Jason if they hadn't thought so themselves. BTW the wine list is also pretty short an uninspiring.

Would we go back? Yes we would - on the basis that if we felt the evening food and drinks were to be more in line with the exceptional quality of everything else.

Would I recommend? Yes I would but not to real foodies, not until Jason has a few more months under his belt and can start implementing what he talks about.

Room Tip: We loved Block 1 Cove Suites. Some of the deluxe beachfronts are close to the action and may get noisy.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank essjay2730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My husband and I came to Blue Waters in March for our honeymoon. It really was one of the best holidays we have ever had. Everything about our experience was amazing and the staff are the most friendly, polite and helpful I have ever come across. We have recommended this resort to all our friends. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gemma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and were pleased with the resort's facilities and hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the beautiful Blue Waters Resort from April 6 to 13th and had a truly memorable experience. Our superior hillside room, away from the hustle and bustle suited our needs to a T - beautiful scenery from a huge 2nd floor balcony, wonderful cozy king size bed and marble bathroom. The food at the hotel was scrumptious, well presented, well thought out. - this is certainly NOT your average all inclusive. Most of the dinners were a la carte and the service to our table was very friendly and timely. All buffets had so much choice with lots of fresh salads and fruits always available. We so enjoyed meeting the staff and were so grateful for all the non intrusive help they gave us ( Andre in The Palm Restaurant and Tramaine at Veronica's Bar were our favs!). The setting of the hotel is stunning - lush, private, a photographers dream! We would most definitely return to Blue Waters in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the second floor away from the hustle and bustle - while it was a walk to the hotel and the beach (which gave us some needed exercise) it was perfect for us!!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and were pleased with the resort's facilities and hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Having spent three weeks at the resort in February and March our overall opinion was that this was without doubt one of the best holidays we have had. The staff were the friendliest people you could ever meet and all were dedicated to ensure that guests were treated royally, nothing ever appeared to be too much trouble, in fact all the staff went the extra mile to make sure we were well cared for at all times.
The room was very comfortable and in a superb location (500's) just behind the pool and Carolyns bar.
The variation of menu in all restaurants was impressive and the choice of three restaurants allowed us to vary surroundings when we wanted to. Although the beaches in Antigua are all public the location of Blue Waters made the beach appear to be just for the use of clients and was never crowded during our stay. We were greeted on arrival by Anderson the GM and most days at breakfast he would have a word or two with guests to ensure that we were happy and comfortable and satisfied with our stay, all in all we were delighted with Blue Waters and cannot wait to return, our only regret is that we did not find this gem until now.
Great job everyone at the resort !!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and were pleased with the resort staff's level of hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews