We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Waters Antigua
Nearby Hotels
Siboney Beach Club(St. John's)
US$221
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$315
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$194
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$436
US$392
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Point Resort & Spa(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$180
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antigua Village(St. John's)
US$176
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jumby Bay Island(St. John's)
US$1,842
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,963)
Filter reviews
1,963 results
Traveller rating
1,473
340
84
45
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,473
340
84
45
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscove restaurantcove suitepelican barrock cottagepelican housebartleys restauranthillside roomchampagne breakfastall inclusive planwedding gazebosorbetwedding co ordinatorall inclusive optionthe main hotelinfinity poolcold towelsrum punch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,650 - 1,655 of 1,963 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2008

We spent the first week of November here and loved it. We stayed in a Cove Suite and it was stunning. The staff were fantastic - helpful, polite and friendly - nothing ever to much of a problem. Upon arrival we were greeted by the Manager, a cold drink of choice and an icy menthol towel - heaven ! Don't come here if you want an action packed holiday, do come if you want a little bit of paradise served on a silver tray to your sunbed. :O)

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ABCL_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2008

Couldn't fault it - exceeded all expectations. This was our 25th Wedding Anniversary and we felt we had a special holiday that the occasion deserved.

This is a hotel with the real personal touch and extremely friendly staff. The food was excellent at all 3 restaurants and the wine was very good for an all inclusive standard. There was plenty of variation and choice on the menus and we particularly recommend the fish - the snapper and swordfish were some of the best and the scallops were exceptional. Presentation of food was outstanding.

The cleanliness of the whole resort was spotless both grounds and rooms.

We had daily conversations with the general manager (Alastair) who remembered our names from day one and who personally made sure our Anniversary meal was booked exactly as we wanted it. His new catering manager also had daily conversations with us. I have never experienced this level of interaction at any other resort and I was impressed.

At the beach pool we were served complimentary ice cold peppermint towels mid-morning followed by ice cold water just before lunch. I got to know all of the bar staff by name and when they weren't busy at the bar they were more than happy to bring drinks.

The whole ambience was intimate, nothing was too much trouble.

The scenery was spectacular.

We will definitely go back, probably for our 30th wedding anniversary - god willing.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Xante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2008

The Blue Waters (BW) is an above average, mid-sized hotel. It is what you would expect from any Caribbean based Marriott, Hyatt or Wyndham, just on a smaller scale: nice reception area, professional staff, well manicured grounds, clean rooms and decent food. If this is your first time in the Caribbean, are honeymooners or are traveling with your children, you should find the BW more than adequate. But if you are looking for something quiet or elegant or distinctive, the BW is simply not the place.

We returned a few days ago from the BW. We rented a car from Titi Rental (a wonderfully run, highly recommended local company) and made the 15-minute drive to the BW. Ivan warmly greeted us as we entered the reception area and our bags were immediately taken from us. We were led to a comfortable couch and given ice cold, mint scented washcloths to freshen up with. A very nice touch. We were offered the drink of our choice from the bar, and two rum punches were delivered within minutes. Check-in was quick and painless and we were ushered to our room where Ivan went over all the details: safe, mini bar, room service, beach towels, etc. This was one of the better check-in processes I have recently experienced.

We opted for the Deluxe Beachfront room, which, may I add, was NOT on the beach. In fact, you could not even see the beach from our room. It was nothing more than an ocean view room with a limited view of the ocean. So we were disappointed. I’ve stayed in enough beachfront rooms to know that means you walk out of the ground floor, without shoes, and onto the beach within seconds. This is simply not the case at the BW. As an example, the beachfront rooms at the stunning Hermitage Bay on the west coast of the island are on the sand. That is beachfront. To be clear, NO rooms are truly “on the beach” at the BW.

Our room consisted of a king size bed with ample space to move around (see photo). There was plenty of closet and drawer space. The bathroom consisted of a very small sink area and a larger toilet/shower area. Because of its small size, the sink area is limited to one person only, so be prepared to take turns (see photo). There was nothing bad about the room, but nothing special either. It was just a room…

The mini bar can also be used as a personal refrigerator, which we stocked with beer and pineapple juice (to mix with the rum). Speaking of rum, a 750ml bottle of Antigua’s Cavalier Rum costs about $6 – the price of a rum drink at the BW bar – at the Woods Mall grocery on the way to St. John. We just did Happy Hour and nightcaps on our balcony and saved a bundle.

Breakfast was good with a variety of juices, fresh fruit, packaged yogurt and cold cereals. There is a hot food station where eggs are made to order and where you can also load up on bacon, sausage and potatoes. As with most breakfast buffets, the choices became tiresome around day four. We did not eat a single lunch at the BW because we were never there for lunch. Let me tell you why.

The beach at the BW is quite possibly the SMALLEST beach on the entire island of Antigua (see photo). Had I known the true size of the beach, which is cleverly camouflaged on the BW website, I would have chosen a different hotel. It is also one of the least attractive beaches on the island. There are maybe 150 feet of usable beach at the BW. While the beach is actually longer, a good portion of it is taken up with the water sports equipment (i.e., sailboats, kayaks, paddleboats, etc.) For some reason, the architects who designed the BW chose to use a good portion of the limited beach for the main pool. On the beach there are only eight umbrellas permanently installed with two chairs at each umbrella. The BW was at less than 50% capacity during our stay and the beach was crowded with all chairs scooped up very early. I couldn’t imagine the traffic on the beach during high season. It would be as far from relaxing as you can imagine. As a result, my wife and I ate breakfast and drove to one of the many stunning, and often near-deserted, beaches on the island. Long Bay, Half Moon Bay and the beach at Turner’s on Johnson Point put the BW beach to utter shame. The pool areas at the BW were attractive, but uninspiring and crowded - with chairs at the beach pool set just a few inches apart (think cruise ship).

We passed on dinner at the BW. The menu at Vivian’s didn’t do anything for us and the Cove appeared overpriced, which it was as we later learned from other diners. We were, however, directed to several outstanding restaurants – many of which were so good, we returned. Amongst the best were Le Bistro (French) and La Bussola (Italian). The service (especially at La Bussola) and quality of these restaurants were outstanding, with both costing about $110-$120/person with starter, entrée, desert and good wine – excellent values. Papa Zouks was a fabulous, casual (shorts and flip flops) seafood dining experience that is a must. Coconut Grove at the Siboney Hotel should be avoided. While the food was not objectionable, it was more expensive than both Le Bistro and La Bussola but not even close in variety, service or quality.

We did the Shirley Heights thing on a Sunday night. This is a weekly “tourist event” on a hill above English Harbor – just about the farthest point on the island from the BW and a good 50-minute drive one-way. There is a BBQ, music and a LOT of people. If you have a rental car, nothing else better to do, and are curious, it may be worth the trip. Had I known in advance that this was nothing more than a tourist gathering place, I would have instead bought a bottle of nice wine and hit a quiet beach on the west coast to watch the sun set. I would certainly not pay what has to be an exorbitant taxi fare from the BW solely for the purpose of attending this event.

I have nothing bad to say about the BW. It is a decent, comfortable, chain-style hotel. But I truly feel that it will be generally uninspiring to anyone who has traveled the Caribbean more than a few times. To experienced travelers it will not be magical, paradise or enchanting.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank USMA1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2008

This hotel is is 2 stars on a good day. The staff is so rude and uncourteous no one smiles or is happy at all. There was never any drinking water available. The restaurants were covered with flies and mosquitoes, I cannot imagine how many my husband and I consumed. The rooms were dirty with dead bugs, poor air conditioning, and phones that don't ring. I have never stayed at a hotel where when you call the front desk no one answers and it was only around noon. This hotel is expensive and advertises as something much nicer.
The beds should absolutely have mosquito nets available and the hotel should fog for them as well. (Which they did not do the whole week that we were there.) There was continuously a shortage of beach towels and you had to walk about a half a mile to get them. Most of the beach is eroded from the latest hurricane and there is no service on the small beach either.
This is the first and last time that my husband and I will visit Antigua as an island. This is also the only all inclusive resort we have ever stayed at where we lost weight!! A combined 30 pounds!!!
Our advice is choose a different island altogether!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank penny5869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2008

After reading one of the more recent reviews on Blue Waters that gave the hotel a 1* rating we were a little concerned as to the standard we would find. We did not need to be, it is a lovely hotel built in plantation style. The rooms are not plush and a little shabby in places but the feel of Blue waters is relaxing and calm. The staff are typical of the Carribean so service is slow and steady but the more we chatted to the staff the more friendly they became, the food was good and the cocktails fab. I would recommend all inclusive as it could work out quite expensive to be on any other board basis as the hotel is a residential area so not within walking distance of restaurants etc.
We arrived before half term and the hotel was only 2/3 full but we will take our children back there as the bay is good for swimming and the non-motorised water sports that are included.
The only negatives I can give the hotel are the water in the bay is cloudy compared to other Carribean Islands we have been too and there are lot of mosquitos so take the strongest spray you can!
Overall the hotel is a very good 4*, not a 5 and there isn't a spa as we had been told. This did not spoil our holiday in any way.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovemyflipflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews