We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Almost Lost”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Blue Waters Antigua
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2010

The hotel is in a stunning location and has excellent facilities. The hotel manager and his key staff went out of their way to ensure we had a pleasant stay which we did. What was a little confusing was that about 70% of the hotel staff were super friendly and helpful, yet the remainder seemed a bit surly and disinterested.

The food served was of a high quality in the Cove and Vivyien restaurants but a more imaginitive and varied menu would improve the dining experience.

We really enjoyed our stay and met up with some fantastic fellow guests.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kempr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Reservations Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2010

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Blue Waters, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,913)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,539 - 1,545 of 1,913 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2010

We have just returned from14 days in the Cove Suites at Blue Waters. We went with a little trepidation after reading various downsides with regard to pools,standard of food and service etc. Well we had a ball. Yes sometimes the service was a bit slow, sometimes the food was not as hot as it could be .....but hell this is the Caribean!!

We had a Cove Suite in 'Block 1' The room was VERY spacious with a supurb bathroom and a superb infinity pool outside.Tip...Don't bother taking Shampoo etc as all, high quality, toileties are supplied.
The room has a fridge which is stocked to your requirements as soon as you arrive and all free of charge. This is without doubt the best all inclusive hotel we have ever stayed at. It is totally all inclusive with few buffets and most premium brands of drinks included.

The staff were mostly friendly and the gardens were immaculate. Would we go back .....Yes tomorrow

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyTel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Reservations Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2010

We are so pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations and that you soon slipped into the Caribbean way of life and enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters. We hope you'll come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Visited Blue Water to celebrate my husbands 50th we were not disappointed, beautiful hotel, we stayed in one of the Cove Suites which has rather spoilt us, huge room, own pool just for those staying in your Cove Suite which comprises one penthouse and six suites no more than 6 people around the pool while we were there and the same can be said for the other pools never any problem getting a sun bed. Beach small but had it to ourselves on a couple of occasions.
Food great your evening meal is served to you and you have three restaurants to choose from, Serivce a little slow at times but so what we are on holiday.

Dont know what the place would be like when it is very busy but would recommend December, great weather, great food, it was paradise. I dont think I am going to be able to stay anywhere now where I have to line up for my dinner or get up at 7.00am to get a sun bed. No bingo, no kareeoke, no kids club, no birdie song, just heaven!!

One last thing go for a day trip around the island it has alot of history and there are loads of photo opportunities. Apparently the trip around the island by sea is fantastic too but Im not a very good sailor!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsandMrsS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Reservations Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2010

Than you for your kind review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your birthday celebrations at Blue Waters. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

If you are looking for a vacation spot to keep you hopping from morning until night, keep looking. Blue Waters is a slow paced paradise for those who want to find a plush chaise lounge and read a book a day while enjoying spectacular views, delicious drinks (try the Blue Surprise and the BBC), while wondering what you're going to have for lunch/tea/dinner. The food was wonderful at the three available restaurants, although breakfast was pretty basic. Afternoon tea (4pm each day) with a different scone each day was lovely. Service was generally fabulous with the exception of some of the pool bar staff who didn't seem to want to make you a drink and definitely did not want to take your food order and suggested that the restaurant would serve you faster. The beach pool bar had far better service. The rooms were lovely and had fabulous balconies with built in couches that you could sprawl on to watch the sunset, enjoy a beverage, read a book, relax... The only complaint I can make is that the bathtub/shower combo was exceptionally high and difficult to get into, especially for my parents who are in their late 70s. The hotel provided a stool for them to be able to get in and out of the tub, but it was still a little treacherous. If you have any mobility issues, ask for a more accessible room.

There are some non-motorized water sports (windsurfing, small catamarans, peddle boats, kayaks...) for those who feel the need to move, and a small but effective fitness facility and a games room. The beach has soft, fine white sand. The water was a little rough when we were there over new years, and therefore it was murky, but apparently it is normally clear and calm. They were experiencing some ground swell during our visit that prevented us from using the water sports for two days but the two pools that allow children weren't busy at all and were perfect for swimming, floating and having fun. There is a smaller adult only pool for those who wish to sunbathe with less than a full swimsuit.

The ride from the hotel is a quick 15 minute transfer for $20 (we had 6 in our party), you are close to St. Johns if you want to go shopping and it is a similarly quick and inexpensive trip in very new and clean vans.

Upon departure, make sure you leave ample time for the very disorganized airport. You'll need $20 per person (cash only) for the departure tax, keep everyone's departure record in their passports, and be prepared for a crazy departure area where all planes leave from one small area. People were fainting in the crush of the departure lounge when we left on January 3rd. Crazy!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cavapa51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

Warm breezes, beautiful gardens, clean and friendly hotel with a totally tropical taste!
I found Bluewaters to be tranquil, restful, exotic and charming with many lovely touches which make the holiday wonderful.
Views out across the bay are amazing. Graham the Head Chef was attentive and interested in ensuring that our group were more than happy with our food - and we were. The Cove restaurant served the best Rib Eye beef I have ever eaten - quite superb! The standard of the food in the Palms was also of a hgh standard. Buffet lunches were fresh, tasty and well cooked.
I would recommend Bluewaters as a Caribbean destination to anyone who wants to get away from the normal rat race and relax into a slower and more relaxed way of life for their holidays. For those more active there are tennins courts, water sports to keep them busy. The weather was glorious, my suntan great (sadly fading) and the swimming pool areas a blissful memory now.!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Reservations Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2010

It sounds like you need to top up that tan, when are you coming back? We are so pleased that you found the Blue Waters' experience so enjoyable that you decided to share it with others on Tripadvisor, thank you. Sending you warn, sunny greetings from Antigua :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

The room allocated to me was upgraded to a beach front suite which was perfect in size and could not have been closer to the sea with fabulous views. Listening to the ocean crashing below was fabulous. The Management were more than helpful and special notice must go the Alistair Forrest the Resort General Manager who when I was delayed due to snow in Gatwick could not have been more helpful and to the executive chef Graham Singer who looked after us superbly. The food was excellent throughout my trip, and the all inclusive package was good value for money.

I met new friends there and found the resort to allow privacy, unlike other resorts in the Caribbean. If you can afford it stay in the Rock Cottage. This is an experience not to be missed and i was fortunate enough to be allowed to use the facilities there on my last day.

Overall, a superb resort, run by professional management and a great holiday. Thank you everyone at Blue Waters and Mr Randall.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manxflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Reservations Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2010

Thank you so much for posting a review of your stay at Blue Waters. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality and I am sure that your kind words will go a long way in helping others to choose Blue Waters when making their holiday arrangements. We hope to welcome you back some day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

I visited Blue Waters in Dec 2009 with my wife. This was my 5th trip there - previously as a business traveller but for a week at a time.
Sadly - the standards are falling - maybe because of the recession - but maybe because of new management and staff and service cut backs.
This time around the food was average - and regrettably not up to the 5 star standards that I had previously enjoyed so much. The staff were friendly as ever - but in short supply and hence overworked and unable to cope. Bring back the Maitre' D' ladies who rulled the restaurant staff with a rod eof iron and made the service in the past so enjoyable and a pleasure to receive.,
The bars / and terraces are beautiful as ever - and many staff remembered me and were kind enough to say hello. Entertainment was disappointing - was this the time of year (quiet) or the cut backs again?

Come on Blue Waters - you can do better and should be striving to keep those high standards that I have previously enjoyed.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunlovverjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
11.2 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
633 reviews
10.4 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
491 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,341 reviews
10.8 mi away
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Carlisle Bay Antigua
#4 of 7 in Saint Mary's
994 reviews
5.1 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Antigua

Address: Soldier's Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. John's
#1 Business Hotel in St. John's
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £240 - £1,069 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Waters Antigua 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the North West Corner of Antigua where crystal clear waters lap onto secluded white sand beaches, Blue Waters Resort offers an island paradise. From your personal welcome, complete with cooled scented towel and rum punch, you will realise you are our valued guest. Featuring small secluded beach coves, seven freshwater pools and 17 acres of lush tropical gardens, Blue Waters provides the ideal setting for relaxing days by the pool or on the beach, cocktail in hand, or for reading a good book in the shade of the swaying palm trees. Having gently evolved and constantly improved over 50 years we offer a range of luxuriously appointed rooms to meet the needs of our guests, from hillside rooms in a garden setting to beachside rooms with renowned spectacular ocean views. For the more active guest we offer complimentary watersports, tennis and a newly refurbished gym. Our recently opened Elemis Spa and Hair Salon with its stunning ocean views provides a perfect setting for a pampering treatment or as part of a wedding package. Finish the day off dining at one of our 3 restaurants, each with a different ambience to suit your mood. Our staff is ready and waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Waters Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Blue Waters St Johns
Hotel Blue Waters
Blue Waters Hotel Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing