We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you'll feel like a guest, not a number”
Review of Siboney Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Siboney Beach Club
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“you'll feel like a guest, not a number”
Reviewed 12 August 2008

Having just returned from Siboney, i can assure you that if you enjoy fighting for a chair on the beach, having a mass of people all around you, hearing the non-stop pitching of the hawkers, and the annoyance of conforming to a resort-lifestyle, then the Siboney Beach Club is not for you.

The previous reviews basically sum up what my family enjoyed while staying with Mr. J at Siboney.

We were all treated more like visiting family, than occupants of a room in their hotel.

From Karl, Ulysses and Jerome on the grounds, Tamu, Sonia and the office staff, Lena and Carolyn in housekeeping...each made our stay extremely enjoyable.

When i asked for a fan for the living room where my kids were sleeping, they got one right away. There was no need too small for them to happily attend to. The staff will go out of their way to accomodate any reasonable request.
Each was met with a "can-do" attitude, yet with a style that kept the vibe of the hotel laid-back, relaxed and accomodating.
The pictures that you'll see on the reviews don't do the spot justice either...i'll only say that you'll find this a romantic, quiet haven from the rucus just down the beach. My personal favorite acitivity was having my morning coffee on the beach, underneath the palms and sea-grape trees, watching Sandals workers crowding their stretch of the beach with enough crap to accomodate the packed-in crowd. Their beach's only shade was from the few umbrellas that were plunked into the sand.
My kids enjoyed the pool as much as the ocean, it's wonderfully kept, and the beautiful grounds offer a nice respite from the sun and the beach.
People to encounter while staying there, Victor the "bead-man", Marvelous Marvin, Jenny, Jermaine and Gail at Coconut Grove, and go see Ashton at Dive Antigua for the best dive guide on the island.
If you really need a lot of commotion around you, and you need to be herded into planned activities, this place is not for you.
but, if you'd like a small slice of solitude to escape the typical resort zaniness, while still having all the acitivities close at hand...then the Siboney Beach Club is the place to stay.

  • Liked — staff helpfulness
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank islandtimeBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    97
    25
    12
    5
See reviews for
47
173
28
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

Though we love to try new places we find ourselves returning to Antigua and, in particular, to Siboney. It is unique; laid back but service is excellent, the staff is always ready to assist you in your requests. Everyone is very professional but warm and genuine. The garden is beautiful and has a pristine pool, though with the crystal clear ocean right there, I only have used the pool a few times. In the evening the night-blooming jasmine lining the walk is heavenly.

Some of the rooms have been recently updated and I believe the plan is to remodel the others. Very nice. The rooms all open out on to the garden and it is soothingl to enjoy your coffee on the balcony. The rooms have efficiency kitchens, perfect for breakfast or lunch and dinner too, I suppose, but with a number of restaurant choices in walking distance, who eats in their room? Coconuts is a few steps from the hotel, the lobster is the best I had on the island. Nearby, La Bussola offers an excellent, authentic Italian dining experience. The location is great, it’s tucked away on Dickenson Bay and there are a number of restaurants as well as a small grocery within walking distance.

Beyond the room and dining, I think the reason we have returned to Antigua and Siboney four times is that the staff and the owner, Tony Johnson, makes certain you know all the island has to offer, beyond its perfect beaches. (Don’t even get me started on the beaches.) The landscape is lush and hilly. In the south part of the island is the historic Nelson’s boatyard, which has been restored and maintained; it is still a working boatyard. On Sundays Shirley Heights is the place to be, with live music, barbecue and the most unbelievable views. Then there’s Sailing Week, a world class event. The Antiguans are the helpful, some of the nicest and friendliest we’ve met in our Caribbean travels. I can almost hear their call. If you go to Siboney, say hello to Mr. J, Lorraine, Tamu, Paulette, Lena and Carolyn . They're the best!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ivers2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, USA
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2008

We just returned from an amazing stay at a lovely hotel, The Siboney Beach Club. It is a small hotel where we received personal attention to every detail. The rooms were immaculate and always adorned with freshly cut flowers from the garden. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful in having transportation arranged for us. The owner, Tony Johnson, lives on the property, and we thoroughly enjoyed visiting with him. He was always out and about. The grounds are meticulously landscaped with beautiful flowers and trees. We awoke each morning to the musical sounds of the various birds outside our windows. In addition to the lush garden view, the ocean view from our balcony was breath taking. The hotel has a nice pool; however, we always preferred being on the beach right on the property. The location was perfect for us. We were near enough to do sight seeing trips and experience the local culture. Restaurants were also nearby. In fact, a really good one is on the grounds of the hotel. We could not have asked for a more perfect place to spend an exciting fun filled week. We did not have the crowds or the rows and rows of beach chairs filled with guests as the Sandals Resort just down the beach. If you are looking for a beautiful and quiet place to vacation, we highly recommend The Siboney!

  • Liked — The location and view as well as the cozy atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Nothing! Everything was exceptional!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waschweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2008

Stayed in Siboney's for the last 4 days of our holidays. The appartments are quite reasonable - nice bathroom with lots of hot water, reasonable living room and bedroom. The problem is noise and security.

The front facing rooms have only a single pane window, the bedroom has louvre windows, the living room only a louvre door.

The bedroom has an airconditioning unit which is extremely noisy, the living room only a ceiling fan. The curtains in the bedroom are very flimsy all the sunlight comes through which is a problem at five in the morning!(to me at least)

There is a restaurant just left of the building, Coconut Club, which is open from early morning until the last guest leaves which is usually after midnight. All these people pass through the side of Siboney's and there is no security - would be easy to break through the appartment's door, which are not particularily secure!

The beach outside the building and the restaurant is quite small and is freequented by locals - one afternoon a party of about 30 kids turned up and had a great time by all the noise they made but nobody else had a good time. This I believe happens quite often.

The Coconut Club is a great restaurant, but is not a part of the hotel, which means you cannot charge your expenses to the bill and need to carry cash (or credit card) each time you want to visit.

The swimming pool is quite nice set in a tropical garden but not sure how well maintained it is. Was not inviting enough for me to use. The whole Dickenson bay is very average, cannot understand why people rank it as one of the best in the Caribbean.

Overall, would not stay there again even for free, and was very happy to leave.

  • Liked — small kitchen facilities
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Emma676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2008

We had a fantastic stay at The Siboney Beach Club. Before we arrived the staff was helpful in creating the ideal vacation by answering all of our (and sometimes silly) questions. And despite the 'island time' attitude which we were told about the entire staff at The Siboney were all attentive, kind and helpful. I really can't say enough good things about everyone at the Siboney they really made our time there special. Service with a sincere smile.
HOTEL: We stayed in room 5 (mid-level balcony) which we loved and had great views of the garden (to left) and partial views of the water (to right). The room was spotless and had a great sitting/living room with kitchen table, 2 couches, and coffee table that opened onto a balcony with sitting chairs and table. We spent each morning drinking coffee, listening to music, reading or planning our day on the balcony. The birds were great entertainment and, although they came close, they never were a bother but gave us a nice serenade to get the day started. They brought us a TV which I don't think we ever turned on. The kitchenette was great and fully stocked with everything needed to make meals and although I don't think we ever got too ambitious we did use the stove to make breakfast and snacks. The small refrigerator was perfect and kept us in cold water and beer all week. The bathroom was nice with a large shower (detachable shower head) and nice counter and sink space. Our bedroom was large with several screened windows that, when left open at night, brought the sound of the ocean (and early morning voices) into the room and afforded partial views of the water (obstructed only by trees and flowers). We had an AC unit which we hardly used but worked really well when we did. The bed was not very comfortable, large but not the best. I spoke with a friend who stayed at a high-end Antigua resort (Blue Water) and she said that despite almost double the price her bed sounded no better than ours.
GROUNDS: The Siboney has a small manmade beach perfect for dunking and swimming (there are no waves) that sits just in front of Coconut Grove restaurant and Bar. This is not owned by the hotel but is in an ideal location for delicious food and a rum punch at sunset (or midday refresher!). The garden is beautiful with a hammock and wonderful pool. In the afternoon you will probably find owner, Tony Johnson, feeding sugar water to the birds. Men, be aware(!) Tony, who celebrated his 80-something birthday while we were there (looks mid-60's), is debonaire and charming and, if you stop long enough to listen to even a fraction of his story, you are in for an insightful treat. You may decide to scrap the day-to-day and move the family to the islands! His motto seems to be to enjoy each day of life and live it in style and that translates in the detail and ambiance of The Siboney Beach Club.
LOCATION: Dickenson Bay. This stretch of beach is home to Sandals Resort as well as a couple of other large hotels. The Siboney is, without a doubt, an oasis on the beach. Due to being on the south(west) end of the beach it is far enough away not to feel like you are in a large commercial resort but close enough to be in the action if you want. The bay is calm and the temperature is amazing. They had a storm the week before we arrived so the water wasn't crystal clear but still quite nice. There are enough merchants slinging tours and water-sport rentals to keep you busy if you want to be active and if not, a simple, "no thanks" sends them on their way to the next sunburnt tourist. They were all nice enough and never seemed too pushy (I bought jewelry from Jenny, who sits quietly at The Siboney, and fresh veggies and fruit from a woman in the neighboring parking lot). Stop by Sneaky Pete's for a rum punch and great conversation.
ACTIVITIES: We did do the Wadadli Cat Circumnavigation Island Tour which leaves at 9:30am and returns at 4:30-5. It was a full day of sailing with a couple of hours docked on Green Island to snorkel (not much color or life to the reef, sad to report), swim, and eat (bbq chicken & fish-pretty good food) lunch. But the location is really beautiful-postcard quality. After snorkeling it was all the rum punch and beer you could want but most people stayed pretty mellow and just relaxed in the sun. All-in-all it was a good tour and gave great views of the island and most of the 365 beaches in which they boast. We rented a car and headed south to Half Moon Bay-WELL WORTH IT! Driving is a bit scary, everything is backwards if you are from the USA, so we drove cautiously and slowly and made it safely. The Siboney arranged the car so we had it in the morning and used it for a one day rental. Getting a bit lost was great b/c we saw parts of the island we wouldn't have otherwise and once we made it to our destination we had a beautiful, crystal clear water, white sand beach basically to ourselves. Pack a cooler with food and drink and spend the day in the water and hiding out in the shade at Half Moon Bay. There are cricket games in downtown St. Johns, we missed it by about an hour but it sounded like fun.
FOOD: Coconut Grove is great, good island food, nice wine list.
Beaches Restaurant was one of our favorites. Casual good food. Hemingway's Restaurant was good food and located in St. John's. C&C WINE BAR was GREAT. SImple menu to accompany the delicious offerings of wine. We found this gem while looking for Hemingway's and really loved it. small inside bar and large outside patio seating.
We also stopped on the road and purchased a half bbq chicken with local beers. This was actually one of my favorite meals (the sauce was homemade and wad delicious) but I think my beau had a slightly bad belly the next day?!?
**there is a local hot sauce that is INTENSE so be very careful, we love hot stuff but this was painful!**

Next time we go to Antigua we will stay at the Siboney but also venture to the other side of the island. I would like to spend more time down at Nelson's Dockyard and English Harbor we didn't have enough time to explore down there.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonBucknut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2008

My husband and I chose the Siboney for our one week stay in March. We typically book rooms at smaller, less comercialized hotels/B&B's and the Siboney was just that. We stayed in the treehouse suite which was smaller than the other 12 rooms, but adequate for my husband and I as we spent very little time in our room. Housekeeping came in each day to change linens and tidy up. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and very well maintained. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful to recommend restaurants or to arrange taxi service. The restaurant attached to the Siboney, the Coconut Grove, had mixed reviews on this site. My husband and I thought the food was excellent and the staff went out of their way to accomodate us. We quickly learned that Jermaine and Johnny both poured a mean rum punch and we knew we would be spending many evenings sipping on this marvelous concoction!! We would definately stay at the Siboney on our next visit to beautiful Antigua.

  • Liked — Private beach and tropical gardens
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OhioRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2008

The hotel is great for everyone who prefers small scale charm. The courtyard is attractively landscaped and the very nice pool was under-utilized which was fine with us as we took one or two dips per day! There are not many activities or rentals right at the hotel but you can wander down to the vendors in front of Sandals or organize a tour at the front desk. The staff is friendly and was helpful.

I think I can sum up the difference between Siboney and Sandals next door with one observation. I woke up at 7 AM and decided to take a walk while the family slept. I wandered past the Sandals pool which was surrounded by many beach chairs. Nearly every chair was reserved with a book or in some other fashion even though was essentially no one in the pool area at that hour. Waking up at 6 AM to grab a spot by the pool or leaving things overnight to retain your hard won chair just doesn’t seem like vacation to me. By contrast Siboney had a few chairs on their beach, under the palms, and on the outcropping in front of the hotel and they were nearly always available and if they were “in use” it was because someone was sitting in the chair not because their book was tanning while the book’s owner was in the restaurant or still asleep in their room.

In our 3 island holiday (including the St Johns and St Lucia), we encountered the most mosquitoes in Antigua. They didn’t spoil the trip but they were prevalent enough to warrant counter measures. We liked to have the door to the patio open at times during the day so we accumulated some visitors. When we closed up at night we hunted mosquitoes for a few minutes and we put up the hotel mosquitoes nets over the couch beds in the living room where the boys slept. We kept the main bedroom door closed during the day so didn’t have a problem there. We were in the ground floor which may have made mosquitoes more of an issue for us. There is a stagnant lagoon across the street from the hotel which perhaps makes mosquitoes more of a local problem for this hotel. Again, not a real problem but do bring some repellent.

After St. Johns, Antigua seemed expensive. The on premises restaurant, Coconuts, is rather expensive. We did pay as much on St Lucia but had far better meals at the same price. Our meal at Coconuts was a bit of a disappointment which was a little troublesome as there are not many other options within walking distance. The one other restaurant close by “The Beach” which was reasonable and better priced. We also ate from and recommend the Friday night Fish & Chips truck (which has more than fish and chips) that parks very near the hotel.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Cole_Valley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.5 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 15 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
3.6 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,253 reviews
6.0 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siboney Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siboney Beach Club

Property: Siboney Beach Club
Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St. John's
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#6 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Siboney Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, romantic, all suites hotel set in a fabulous, bird and flower filled, tropical garden, on the sheltered mile long white sand beach of Dickenson Bay. A tranquil hideaway for the discerning, independent, traveler looking for excellence in Caribbean hospitality and 'home away from home' comfort.Palms grow through the roof of the award winning Coconut Grove Restaurant where a ribbon of sand separates the dining tables from the blue Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, West Indies, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Siboney Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siboney Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Siboney Beach Hotel
Siboney Beach Resort
Siboney Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing