We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay on Dickenson's Bay”
Review of Siboney Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Siboney Beach Club
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
New England
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very nice stay on Dickenson's Bay”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed at the Siboney for 4 nights. Nice location right on the beach. Certainly a nice alternative to the Sandal's type of experience. Very clean rooms and a caring helpful staff. Lovely gardens which made sitting out on the porch while having breakfast just a great way to start the day. The rooms have slated doors overlooking the gardens, so we did have some mosquitos...but not overly problematic. Fantastic beach and water.

Room Tip: While the Ocean view suites are lovely, they are also facing the restaurant and central area of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjcooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    98
    25
    12
    5
See reviews for
47
174
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband and I just returned from Siboney Beach club and had a wonderful experience. Every single person on the staff- the owner, the women at the front desk, the groundskeepers, and the cleaning crew were some of the sweetest people we have ever met. Everyone made sure we were enjoying our stay and gave us helpful advice on things to do around the island. We got around the island with Barry Oliver's taxi service and highly recommend calling him for any trips you take. He is so friendly and knowledgeable (phone- 268-724-9119) and always on time!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

we had 4 hours to spend between connecting flights and were recommended the Siboney Beach Club for supper; the food and service was very good, and an ideal stop off, with the views onto the beach and the sunset, a far better place to be than Antigua Airport which is awful!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
289 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed at Siboney Beach Club for a couple of nights after a week-long stay at the other end of the island at St. James Club. The rooms are small one-bedroom apartments. Very cozy with all the room amenities needed for a pleasant vacation. The hotel is located next door to the huge, overblown Scandals, sorry - Sandals, Resort, which made Siboney seem just that much more of a welcome oasis among the craziness of Dickinson's Bay. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. The gardens were kind of overgrown which would probably make the ground floor units sort of dark and possibly buggy. Never saw anyone use the pool. The on-site restaurant (though not affiliated with the hotel?), was quite good - for any meal.

For something to do, ask for Captain Nash. He owns the 27 ft. sailboat moored off the Sandals Resort and will take you sailing for a fair price. He's quite a character, and an excellent skipper. You can head just north out into the Atlantic for a more adventurous and thrilling sail, or head down the coast for a much calmer day in the turquoise Caribbean.

Room Tip: I think we stayed in Room #7, which was top (3rd) floor on the western end, facing the ocean. Clear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TucsonCurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My husband and I booked our vacation with Siboney after reading countless great reviews on Trip Advisor and seeing the pictures on Siboney’s website. We planned to eat breakfast and lunch in our room and would go to a local grocery store (that I also researched online) to buy what we needed for the week. We have done this in the past, and it always worked out great. Unfortunately, Siboney did not live up to our expectations so we did not stay there for our entire time on Antigua. We booked Siboney for 6 nights, but ended up only staying for 1 night because we were that uncomfortable with the room and the surroundings. We stayed in room 4, a one bedroom suite on the ground floor. Here are some of the issues we had:

1. Cleanliness: This would be our number one reason for leaving Siboney after one night. Walking into the room, it felt old/outdated and not clean. Once we had a chance to get settled, we began to discover many things that were not clean. I never had a clean bath towel. I even asked for 2 extra towels and neither of those were clean. They both had stains, some dead bugs, and other things that I couldn’t identify. The towels seemed as if they have been used for far too long because they are worn down and very thin. One towel almost had a hole in it from being so worn down. The sheets also had stains. We had to get a new top sheet the first night. We still had a pillow that had some sort of stain on it which I took a picture of it posted on here. This is just one small example of the various stains that we found. I realize when staying in a hotel that some things could be stained, but in this room, EVERYTHING I looked at had a stain. I know that other people have used the towels and slept in the bed, but I don’t want to think about that when I am there.

In addition to the linens, the rest of the room just looked like it needed to be scrubbed down and/or updated with some new paint.

2. Sound/Privacy: The walls are very thin. We could hear people outside, in the room next to us, and above us. The bedroom was lacking privacy as it had sheer curtains over the window. The window was not very big, but if anyone walked by our room and wanted to look in there, they could have. When I was changing clothes, I was uncomfortable because anyone could have looked in our window and seen me. The living room had curtains that block out light, yet the bedroom did not… This didn’t make any sense to me.
3. Shower: This isn’t a huge deal, but the shower has no shelving. It has a small soap tray and that’s it. We had nowhere to set our toiletry items while in the shower other than the floor, which can be a pain after a while. Also, the shower curtain doesn’t really block water from getting on the floor outside of the shower so the bathroom floor was very wet and slick when you got out.
4. Was not as described online: If you look at pictures on Siboney’s website, then look at the pictures that I have posted on here, you will see a huge difference. I am not sure where the pictures on their website were taken, but our room was nowhere close to looking like the ones online. The tile was different and the whole room felt old in our room. Online, the rooms look really nice and seemed to be updated.
5. Beach: There is not a big beach in front of the hotel. It is a small cove that is surrounded by rocks. The one day that we were there in the morning, there were about 15 kids playing soccer which took up Siboney’s entire stretch of beach. The beaches are public so we could have walked down to another area, but our whole idea when going to the beach is to be able to walk out of our hotel and on to the beach. We don’t want to wander around searching for somewhere else. We were unsure about the beach chairs. There were lots of stacks of beach chairs that were chained up so I don’t know if they were to be used by guests or what the deal was with those. We weren’t there long enough to find out.
6. A/C and open air: We knew going to Siboney that the bedroom was the only room with A/C, but we weren’t expecting anything quite like this. The bedroom was fine as far as temperature, but outside of the room, it was hot (even with the fans going) and there were bugs. I didn’t want to leave stuff out, other than in the bedroom because I didn’t want bugs on all of my stuff. Outside of the bedroom, it is open air in a sense because the windows just have screens on them, but it doesn’t bring in enough air to cool down the other areas. There was a small fan in the bathroom and a stand up fan in the living area, plus a ceiling fan, but that didn’t cool the area enough.
7. Restaurant that is next door: In planning for this trip, we expected to eat at Coconut Grove (the restaurant next door) on multiple evenings because it had good reviews and was the only restaurant close by that we wouldn’t have to hire a taxi to get to. We ate at Coconut Grove for dinner the first night and breakfast the next morning. Both meals were okay, but it wasn’t anything spectacular. We were not looking forward to eating there for dinner again.

Although we were unhappy at this hotel, there were three positives that we found.
1. The staff was very nice. Tony (the owner) talked to us a lot the first night as we watched the sunset, and he was a very interesting man. Also, the other people who worked in the front office were friendly.
2. Free Wi Fi: Luckily, we had this because it allowed us to look up other hotels in the area on the first night when we were already thinking about leaving.
3. Cancellation Policy: Even though we cancelled our stay while we were there, we did receive all of our money back for the nights we did not stay there.

Overall, Siboney was way below our expectations, and we would not return there again or recommend it to anyone. It needs a good deep cleaning, some new paint, new linens, and just a bit of updating. When my husband and I were talking on our first night, we actually thought about just going back home because we knew we were not going to enjoy being at Siboney. We spent our second day on the island driving around in a taxi looking for a new hotel that would be comfortable for the next 5 nights. This was unfortunate because we wasted part of a day and wasted money on the taxi. We ended up walking down the beach to Sandals and got a room there. The cost was quite a bit higher, but it was all inclusive, and the rooms/accommodations were MUCH better than Siboney’s. It was totally worth it to switch hotels so that we could enjoy our vacation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank allisonc86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

On an Island that seems to suffer a bit from "arrested development and high vacancy rates" we found the Siboney Beach Club to be well maintained and well managed. Staff is helpful and polite, the adjacent bar and restaurant, Coconut Grove, is lovely, especially for breakfast and dinner/evening bar. The local breakfast, when it is available, is good, otherwise standard fare well prepared and nicely served. The local fruits were disappointing considering that Antigua has abundant sweet black pineapple and local bananas, tamarind, mango, etc. Dinner is the same with a few good dishes on nice table linens for an outside site. You can order meals to go if you plan to picnic or take an outing, however many of the popular beaches have small food stands or bars. It is important to know that Dickenson Bay beach is also populated by a large Sandal's couples resort and the Halcyon Cove resort, as well as some smaller hotels and condo developments. The beach is open in front of all properties so access is not a problem and the crowd makes the area an easy location for excursions and watersport rentals, but if you want quiet and solitude this may not be your cup of tea. That said, the Siboney has a private quiet garden surrounding a nice pool which offers a shady escape from the beach. The 1/4 mile of beach going away from the other resorts is undeveloped and lovely. Swimming is great but no local snorkeling. There are a couple of restaurants within walking distance for the intrepid (Blu Pineapple is a short ride up the hill and tasty, but in need of more customers), and a new casino recently opened to cater to the big resort crowd. We used taxis to get where we needed to go and it was quite convenient though it could be pricey if you came for a week. The roads are not well marked nor particularly well designed around the main village of St. Johns, so the best part of the taxi fare is the knowledge of how to get where you are going...We found Siboney to be a great base as we ventured out sailing with Antigua Adventures one day and took advantage of the weekly Sunday sunset party at Shirley Heights (overlooking historic English Harbour) on another. You can hire a driver for the day at a very reasonable price in Antigua and you will not regret the decision.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise, but ground floor is convenient to the garden/pool. Only 2 rooms real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interlaken, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013

All you need to do is walk through a lovely garden arbor and see paradise! Quickly feel all the stress drain from your body as you see a green turquoise sea vista framed in lush foliage. Yes, we loved staying at Seboney for 11 days in mid November. Tony has created an intimate, terraced, Antiguan feel boutique hotel framed within a lush tropical oasis.Perfect for us! We enjoyed a second floor, ocean view suite. Comfy bed, tropical decor and a useful kitchenette.
We met several other guests, who have been happily returning to the Seboney year after year saying it is the best place to stay on the island. Tony, the visionary, builder, owner and manager is on site and has assembled a helpful, friendly and accommodating staff. He calls his spot on Dickenson Bay, magical and it felt that way to us.
How often do you hear your daily maid service ladies, laughing and light hearted while tidying up your room for the day....guess you have't met Georgette, Nina and Caroline. a terrific group of
ladies. There is a delicious restaurant on site, as well as Putters within walking distance. A terrific fish and chips wagon shows up nearby on Wed and Friday eves. Martin, the cab driver is on site, and will take you wherever you would like to go - like the huge Saturday market in St.
John's or one of the other 300 plus beaches or out for a good meal like fish and local rim punch at Papa Zucs .We spent one day sailing,just us, onThe Zorro, with Capt. Nash. What a wonderful day with a Personable, capable,knowledgeable captain. We enjoyed, this special place, the Seboney Beach Resort and will definitely return to this magical spot on Antigua.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ggirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.5 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,829 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 15 in St. John's
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
6.8 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
6.0 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siboney Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siboney Beach Club

Property: Siboney Beach Club
Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St. John's
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Siboney Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, romantic, all suites hotel set in a fabulous, bird and flower filled, tropical garden, on the sheltered mile long white sand beach of Dickenson Bay. A tranquil hideaway for the discerning, independent, traveler looking for excellence in Caribbean hospitality and 'home away from home' comfort.Palms grow through the roof of the award winning Coconut Grove Restaurant where a ribbon of sand separates the dining tables from the blue Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Siboney Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siboney Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Siboney Beach Hotel
Siboney Beach Resort
Siboney Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing