We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Place”
Review of Siboney Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Siboney Beach Club
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have stayed at the Siboney Beach Club ten years ago and now in May 2014 again. The best of the hotel is the tropical garden and the direct access to the beach, which is great, but not outstanding. The hotel itself is very nice, but not high - end. Our room was more like a small apartment with a living room, sleeping room, built-in kitchen and a sitting area on the porch. The price was very reasonable, therefore we can recommend this hotel for a two or three night stay, if you are looking for a beach hotel close to St. John´s.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Doffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Siboney Beach Club on a stop over in Antigua. Would really loved to have spent more time there and plan to return at some time. The Beach Club is very small, but sits in a little tropical oasis. The gardens are full of exotic plants which encourage humming birds and other creatures. Also a few mosquitos, so be prepared - spray available in the rooms. But if you take this precaution, you will love the place. It is not posh, but relaxed with very clean and relaxing facilities. There is not a pool as such, but the beach is on the door step and right next to the Coconut Grove Restaurant ... a must. Kichenette facilities & lounge in all appartments and air conditioning. Nice bathroom, thoughtfully provided with bits and pieces.

Room Tip: We had a third floor room - no lifts. This provided a unique view of the gardens and up in the tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at this place for our spring break in March, 2014. This was the worst accommodation I have experienced anywhere in Caribbeans so far. This place is close to a pond, which breeds A LOT of mosquitoes. This hotel DOES NOT HAVE WINDOWS in the living space, only the bedroom had loose windows to protect from all those mosquitoes flying in. So, our living room and the kitchen/hallway had hundreds of mosquitoes as we came into the room first time. When we complained, somebody came in and brought the nets for us - to hang above the couches and above our bed. They also sprayed the ceilings with some very harsh pesticide. Our room smelled with this pesticide for most of our stay afterwards. Plus, we had all the dead mosquitoes falling to the floor, kitchen dishes etc. We could not change rooms, because this hotel only has a few rooms (12, maybe).

Since the living rooms have no windows, you hear all the noises outside. And this place is very noisy - music blasting from the restaurant downstairs.

Walking outside after dusk was no joyful experience - again, clouds of mosquitoes descending on passers by.

We are definitely not planning to come back to this resort or to Antigua.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HesseTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonyjohnson, Owner at Siboney Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

It is always a matter of some speculation as to how come one guest will find everything about our hotel, and even our island, to be unacceptable when, on the other hand we have repeat guests who have been returning joyfully for ten, twenty, even thirty, years, and the majority of our guests, on departure, compliment us on our product and thank us for the experience.
In the case of the present review, the guests came on one of the extremely rare occasions when, for a very short time, we were visited by a swarm of fruit flies, which look like mosquitoes, but have no bite, and pose no threat, but can look a little off-putting . generally our guests coped, with little inconvenience, and those asking for help received it promptly. Like our neighbours, Sandals, we did resort to some discrete fogging for a short time, and the invasion very soon ceased.
My apologies are extended to the writers of this review for such inconvenience as they suffered.
In closing, I would like to say that I always encourage every guest with a problem to discuss the matter with the hotel manager in search of a solution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is more like a bed and breakfast in my opinion versus your typical hotel. The staff was very helpful and provided us with wonderful recommendations and went above and beyond what you would find in a typical 4-5 start hotel. However, the room itself was not what you would find in a 4-5 star hotel. We, my husband and I, like new soap, shampoo, conditioner, etc. anytime we are at a hotel so I was a bit startled to find one big bottle of body wash & shampoo that the previous guests had used. Antigua also has a very large mosquito problem and it seemed like we had to request our room be sprayed multiple times a day. These may seem like minor things so if they don't bother you, I would recommend staying at the Siboney. The only reason I gave them an average rating was because I wasn't impressed with the room at all but the customer service by far sets this hotel apart from any other.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kvu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We read about Siboney Beach Club on Trip Advisor and in Fodor's. We decided it was the place for us as we look for smaller, more intimate places to stay. It was just perfect in every way. The suite was roomy, charming, and comfortable. Though air conditioning is only in the bedroom, there was a wonderful breeze through the living area. We used the small kitchen area for breakfast and snacks. Room #9 is the best, with gorgeous views of the private beach area, palm trees, secluded pool, and tropical garden.
We did rent a car and had some trouble finding Siboney since there was no sign on the road. We found the driveway and had another adventure finding the office. Once settled though, everything was just great. We absolutely loved the uncrowded, quiet, private beach! The sand was like powder and the water was turquoise and crystal clear. The Coconut Grove restaurant is right there, so rum punches are a quick walk away. Further up the beach was the Sandal's and other resorts and the other side was a deserted beach. We were able to walk both ways, searching for shells, coral, and sea glass.
Everyone at Siboney was helpful and friendly. We felt welcome and comfortable right away. Kerwin, the grounds keeper, had our chairs and mats ready each morning in a perfectly shaded spot. We went out to dinner most evenings and the office provided excellent printed directions. (So very necessary as there are few street signs) A word of caution: If you rent a car be prepared for the adventure. You drive on the left side on narrow roads with no shoulders. There are multiple speed bumps and pot holes that can 'jar your fillings'. Then add cars parked on both sides and people walking. We soon understood why the rental girl showed us the spare tire and the jack. We have rented cars everywhere and this was a first.
The owner, Tony Johnson, spoke with us a number of times. He had many stories to tell about his 50 plus years in Antiqua. His restaurant recommendations were spot on. We thoroughly enjoyed our conversations with him.
If you are looking for a reasonably priced, private beachfront place on Dickenson Bay; then Siboney Beach Club is for you.

Room Tip: #9 is the room with the best views of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suematt70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was our second stay at the Siboney Beach Club. We fell in love with Siboney on the first day of our first visit and started making plans to come back. Not only did we come back but we brought our best friends! We plan to make this a place we return to regularly. We enjoy great locations but want privacy as well. We loved being right on the most private part of the beach. However, many of the wonderful restaurants on the island are within a 20 minute taxi ride. During both of our visits we used Martin to pick us up every night and take us to our restaurant of choice and bring us home. He was very helpful, reasonable in price and pleasure to meet. The service and friendliness here are amazing. Everyone from the owner to the maintenance help were very friendly always stopping to say hello and we felt right at home. The accommodations are roomy, comfortable and clean. On our first visit we stayed in suite 1 which is totally air conditioned. However, after visiting suite 9 on the 3rd floor we decided to reserve it for our return. This suite has only air conditioning in the bedroom but the breeze through the suite kept it very comfortable. All, the suites have terraces or a patio open to or overlooking the beautiful tropical garden and pool. I loved how nice it was to sit on my 3rd floor terrace in the morning sipping my coffee with not another person insight. I was up just under the tree tops with the birds singing all around me. It felt like my own tropical backyard. We also enjoyed the ability to shop for groceries and cook up breakfasts & snacks each day. One of our favorite activities was taking turns to make up snacks and drinks to bring down to the beach around 5 pm and watch the beautiful sunset with our friends. We also enjoyed walking the beach each day and met many friendly people. I would recommend Siboney highly to most people that I know, but if you are looking for cheap all inclusive food & drinks, feeling like a sardine on the beach & loud music during your vacation Siboney is not for you.
The Marty (& Suzi) Party

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We are just back from our 3rd visit: December 2011, March 2013 and now March 2014.

If you don't want a 'could be anywhere chain hotel' and like the real Caribbean this is the place. 12 suites all with balcony; spacious; charming; wonderful, private tropical garden with fresh water pool; jolly beach and in Coconut Grove a very friendly restaurant with good food.

Tony, Lorraine and the team do a great job and we will be back again.

Recommend a car as there is much to see on the island.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.5 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,944 reviews
0.5 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
2.8 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 16 in St. John's
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,907 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sugar Ridge Resort
Sugar Ridge Resort
#2 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
1,141 reviews
6.8 mi away
Starfish Jolly Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siboney Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siboney Beach Club

Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £111 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Siboney Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, romantic, all suites hotel set in a fabulous, bird and flower filled, tropical garden, on the sheltered mile long white sand beach of Dickenson Bay. A tranquil hideaway for the discerning, independent, traveler looking for excellence in Caribbean hospitality and 'home away from home' comfort.Palms grow through the roof of the award winning Coconut Grove Restaurant where a ribbon of sand separates the dining tables from the blue Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Siboney Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siboney Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Siboney Beach Hotel
Siboney Beach Resort
Siboney Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing