We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable experience in Paradise.”
Review of Siboney Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Siboney Beach Club
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
London UK
2 reviews
“A memorable experience in Paradise.”
Reviewed 29 December 2009

My wife and I have just returned from a most delightful vacation at Siboney. We wanted a quiet - romantic - personal beach holiday to celebrate our anniversary and we got it all with bonuses. Tony Johnson, owner/manager and his entire staff went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one,nothing was too much trouble for them. The beach is out of this world, we have been to Kailua, Bondi, Malibu and Durban to name a few. The setting is idyllic. Plenty of beach activity if you want it, sailing, diving, snorkelling and of course long uninterupted walks. There is no adequate public transport so if you want to explore the rest of the island you will need to rent a car or make a deal with the numerous taxi drivers. A truly stress free and relaxing location - we will return!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HLCLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    100
    27
    13
    5
See reviews for
48
176
31
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We found Siboney Beach Club through Trip Advisor - and we found a gem! Lovely, friendly staff, perfect location at the extreme end of Dickenson Bay, away from the crowds yet near enough to go places if we wanted.
Our mini apartment ( bedroom, lounge and balcony) looked out onto the wonderful lush gardens. The kitchenette was small and a bit shabby but was sufficient for all our needs - breakfast, the occasional snack lunch etc.
The small restaurant was virtually on the beach - high tide and your feet might get wet! Food was good and plentiful - though, like most of Antigua, fairly expensive.
We loved the technicolour gardens; walking just a few feet to either swimming pool or sea; the marvellous staff who immediately called us by first names and chatted as if we had known them for years.
There was nothing to dislike, except perhaps, the mosquitoes, who were kept at bay with sprays supplied in the rooms.
I dreaded leaving, although my holiday was to continue on other islands. Nothing matched up to my time at Siboney
.Without a doubt, we'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebelfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, MS
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2009

We just returned from a wonderful one week stay at Siboney, having made fast friends with owner Tony and his very warm and accommodating staff. Even though Tony has lived on the island since the 1950's (originally from Australia) and built this little hotel almost 30 years ago, at age 85 he is still very interested in his guests, inquiring about our home state, our occupations, and what turned us on/clued us in on his hotel. It did not matter whether we were interacting with the office staff, day or night, or the grounds and maintenance crew, we found each to be very friendly and very eager to help, answer questions, make recommendations about places to go, things to do, or restaurants, and generally made us feel truly like family. One revelation from a previous review by a European couple that they had been coming to Siboney for twenty years was a BIG clue for us that this place had a special feeling/vibe, and, truly, it does. Rooms 5 and 9 are at the beach end of the building and provide some ocean views, along with a view of Tony's well tended and lush gardens surrounding the pool, which seem to be seldom used since the beautiful beach and
gorgeouos turquoise/aquamarine waters are literally just steps away. The bedroom has A/C, but the kitchen and living areas are cooled by the ocean breeze, which means one gets up close and personal with the mosquito community. We had found a wonderful safe and natural insect repellent on Roatan some years ago where the sand fleas are horrific and found Cactus Juice to work well for mosquitos here. If you do not like the toxic chemicals found in other repellents, look for this one before you come.
The restaurant next door (Coconut Grove) is presently not as good as the guide books had indicated. Although most of the meals, as well as the service were quite good, they tend to "run out" of staples, like fruit. How do you run out of fruit when the fruit lady 100 meters down the beach has the entire back of her car jammed with fresh fruit for anyone to purchase!? There are other restaurants worth driving to for a change of pace: Le Bistro (15-20 minutes away) is one of the best we have found anywhere in the Caribbean, rivaling those in Grand Case St Martin and in St Barts, Papa Zouk's in St John's is a hole in the wall rum joint owned by a lovely lady, now retired from the "professional business world" and having a ball running a small eatery and making diners feel right at home serving very fresh locally caught fish, and La Bussola is a delightful authentic Italian restaurant with wonderful service, food, and wine just down the beach from Siboney.
We went to Shirley Heights for the Sunday afternoon Bar-B-Que and live bands, thinking it would be primarily local color, but, alas it was tourist color. Stunning sunset and views of the island along with the largest steel pan band with far and away the largest repetoir of music we have ever heard from such a band offset the mediocre food.
One day we rented a car and drove around the island and were most impressed with the island's innate beauty. Antiqua is one of the cleanest (no litter) islands with lots and lots of very beautiful beaches
and for the most part, very good roads as well that we have experienced throughout the tropics! We stopped at Coco Bay for the amazing view of Jolly Harbour - one of the prettiest water views anywhere on the planet!
I spent the better part of a day sailing with Capt Nash, who keeps his 26 foot boat named Zorro at Dickenson bay. As we sailed around the northern shore and past Jumby Bay, where the "rich and famous" have mega homes, he provided not only a good history lesson of the island but also brought me up to date with "what's happening now." We stopped at a small, unhabited island surrounded by coral reef and let me snorkle to my hearts content.
All in all, we found Antigua to be filled with not only lushness of flora, but also very, very friendy people, and although we like to keep on exploring new islands and places and rarely go back to the same one, we definitely will return to this "paradise on Earth!"
Many thanks to Tony for helping mold this island into the beautiful spot in the sun that it is!
Robert and Brenda White
Columbus, MS USA

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whitecloud108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2009

We chose Siboney for our overnight stay based on all the good reviews on Tripadvisor - and we were not disappointed. Not knowing too much about the traffic situation on the island we wanted something fairly near to the airport since we had an early flight out.

1. GETTING THERE:
We took a taxi from the cruise ship. There was a whole line of taxi drivers on the pier - and we took the first one who approached us. We had to walk quite a bit to get to where he had parked his taxi - so we have learned that next time we need to ask in advance. The trip to the hotel was quick and with tips we paid US$ 15.

2: CHECKING IN/OUT:
We got there really early in the morning - and checkin went very smoothly. We only had to wait about 10 minutes for a room so we used the time to take a drink in the nearby restaurant. Due to the very early departure the next day we checked out the evening before - which was just as smooth as the check in.

3: LOCATION:
Absolutely perfect. The hotel is in a very quiet corner of the beach. You can relax all to yourself - or walk a long the beach for more action. The garden is exactly as you would expect a tropical garden with chirping birds all around.

4: ROOM:
We were expecting a single room - but it was actually a small appartment on the top floor (we had help carrying up our suitcases.) The room was a lot larger than expected. We had an average size bedroom and a nice sitting room area with a small kitchen in the corridor between the two. We were presently surprised to find high speed internet.

We had a small problem with flooding of the toilet, something that can happen in any hotel, - and the owner himself came along and fixed it for us.

When sitting on the balcony outside our room - it felt as if you were sitting in the jungle. There were birds everywhere (but did not come to close). One could just sit and watch for hours.

What I liked best was that there was proper soap, conditioner and shampoo in the room and not these tiny little bottles you get most places.

My only complaint was that the A/C was a little noisy.

5: FACILITIES:
With the beach and the balcony and only a 1-night stay we didn't have time to explore.
We ate at the nearest restaurant and really enjoyed the lobster and the coconut shrimps.

6: CLEANLINESS:
The room was nice and clean.

7: SERVICE:
Everyone was really nice and helpful.

Will we be back ? - If it's up to me !

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SORCEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We loved this place. Our first floor suite had a kitchenette with everything you need to make breakfast (in our case) every morning, though we had to drive a ways down the road to a market for supplies. Beware the ants, don't leave any food laying out. The bathroom and bedrooms had nice furnishings and the bed was big enough for three people. There is a lovely lush garden with a small pool and a few nooks to hide in (including the one attached to our suite). A tiny lizard visited us-it was the length of my pinky-and stayed for a few days before we set it outside again. Larger ones prowl the garden, along with bats at night. My husband and I dined at the restaurant Coconut Grove and the food was fantastic. There are a few good eateries around, just ask the staff for ideas. We went during the offseason and the other dozen or so guests were European. We have recommended this hotel to friends and hope to get back there again this year.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcadwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

We stumbled accross Siboney while researching for a hotel in the Caribbean at which to get married and spend our honeymoon. It looked wonderful and their prices were very reasonable. Even at that, we underestimated Siboney. We cannot imagine a more perfect hotel at a more perfect location. Service was personal and attentive. The staff was alway willing to help and accommodate special requests. The location was on the beach, close to attractions, and comfortabley popular without being overly populated. If you go to the Caribbean, go here. We're definately going back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargaritaDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, MA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We found Siboney Beach Club on TripAdvisor and booked it for our July 4-10 stay. We absolutely loved the place. It's nestled into a grove of palm trees right on the beach. Our room had a great view of the beach. Rooms 5 & 9 are the best views of the ocean with Room 5 on the 2nd floor and 9 on the 3rd floor. Access is via stairs only. The living room has shuttered doors that open onto an open-air veranda that looks over a well maintained garden and a view of the ocean to the right.

Rooms were clean, comfortable and reminded me of something out of a Humphrey Bogart movie. Air conditioning was in the bedroom only, but the sea breeze was more than sufficient for the living room. A small kitchen and refrigerator were great for breakfast and an occasional lunch or snack.

The entire staff was outstanding. I don't rave about staff generally, but this crew was truly remarkable. Everyone, and I do mean everyone, was friendly and helpful. The staff will help arrange taxi's, rental cars, trips, etc. You need it? - Just ask.

Dickenson Bay is a great beach and the walk down the beach will take you past Sandals, Halcyon and a few other places. The beaches are white, sandy and very nice. Dickenson Bech is great for walking, suntanning, people watching, etc. It is not a great diving or snorkeling destination. Long Bay was great for snorkeling and the better places require a boat to get there.

Dining options withing walking distance include Coconut Grove (good food, but expensive), The Beach (pizza, sushi and other eclectic food), Tony's (snack bar), Sneaky Pete's (snack bar) and the Halcyon restaurant on the pier. There is also a small grocery store next door to Siboney for beer, wine ,etc and a local lady sells fresh fruit.

I don't know when I'll return to Antigua (there are so many other destinations to hit), but if or when I do, I will assuredly stay at Siboney again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank benchoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.5 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,864 reviews
0.5 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
2.8 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 15 in St. John's
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,015 reviews
6.8 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
11.3 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siboney Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siboney Beach Club

Property: Siboney Beach Club
Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St. John's
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Siboney Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, romantic, all suites hotel set in a fabulous, bird and flower filled, tropical garden, on the sheltered mile long white sand beach of Dickenson Bay. A tranquil hideaway for the discerning, independent, traveler looking for excellence in Caribbean hospitality and 'home away from home' comfort.Palms grow through the roof of the award winning Coconut Grove Restaurant where a ribbon of sand separates the dining tables from the blue Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Siboney Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siboney Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Siboney Beach Hotel
Siboney Beach Resort
Siboney Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing