We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does Liat know how badly their passengers are treated here?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Bridgetown, Barbados
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Does Liat know how badly their passengers are treated here?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

After a forced layover due to tropical storm, my fellow passengers and I had to spend the night in Antigua at the "Grand" Royal....what a heinous experience! We arrived at 11:30pm to be told "just put your bags over there (in the corner of the lobby) and go to the restaurant for dinner while we get your rooms ready." Aside from being harshly herded into a specific section of the completely empty (it's near midnight!!) restaurant, it was clear from the tone and lack of attention from the waitress that we were not in anyway a priority for them. After 30 mins wait, and being told that she has "to wait to see what di chef say and what he goin' make", I decided that I was more tired than hungry, and so made my way back to the front desk to get my room key. After waiting my turn in line behind another (non-Liat) guest, I stepped to the counter once their room was squared away, only to be smiled at and then IGNORED for the next (non-Liat) guest in line once the front desk clerk realised I was with the LIAT group!!! With that, I approached the second more anxious looking clerk, who clearly noticed my frustration and lacked the savy to manage the situation. His nervous response: "if you're with Liat, just put your bags over there, and...." He didn't get to finish. I demanded my room right then, right there. He finished up with the the three other (non-L) guests he was checking in, and then saw about getting the keys ready for one other co-sufferer and myself. As he sorted the other passenger, in walked not one, not two, but three of his previously checked in guests - bags in tow. People were already in two of their 3 rooms! The third's key just didn't work!! I left them there wrangling to sort that out, and made my way to my (hopefully!) room at 12:30am. On my way, I passed a few other passengers still waiting for dinner - I advised them to sort their rooms out immediately, considering the mess at front desk. My room was clean enough - freshly sorted, in fact, as the front door was wide open, all lights on, and the AC up to all when I arrived! A hot shower in an aged but functional bathroom and getting into a firm bed made me feel vaguely human, despite coping with an empty stomach and cringing at the 3:30am wake-up for the 4am pick-up. In a blink, I was up, showered (again) and dressed and journeyed down to the lobby for pick-up, to see the rest of the group looking conspicuously similar to when I left them three hours before. Turns out I got the LAST room and the remaining 50-odd people (including several elderly ladies) had to sleep in the lobby by the time they finished dinner!!! From the outset of "dinner" I surmised that the delay was a ploy to skip giving us a room for 4 hours, and the upheaval that would have caused in their housekeeping. When we landed in Antigua at 9:30pm that fateful night, we were told where we were going to be accommodated: Liat had organised the numerous dislocated passengers long before we hit the tarmac. So between (before) 9:30pm and midnight they couldn't get the rooms sorted out? I'm guessing they WOULDN'T get the rooms sorted out! I would suggest that you stay far away from this hotel - treatment is terrible!

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LesleySWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    89
    67
    71
    114
See reviews for
47
86
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

At first glance you would think no one else was in the hotel, considering it was the off season some of the resorts actually close until the season starts again in Oct at first we were the only ones on our floor but after a few days others had arrived, the hotels does need some good TLC but all in all hotel has plenty to offer, they do have wifi but it is not free they do have an area with free computer use a small gym room a pool on the way to the beach

Our room was fine the sliding doors did not quiet slide smoothly but maintenance was there directly and we got a room change and a lagoon view instead of your mountain view, staff was on point every morning at breakfast which was the perfect start to the day they were very friendly even when we bumped into them in town a quick smile and hello.

The beach was so nice no big waves was always calm and beach staff also very nice and friendly told us which parts to we could snorkel and to be care of the lion-fish which are rather new to the island which only swim at the rock edge, on a clear day you can see Montserrat we got a few pics of that we could also see the steam coming from the volcano

We even spoke with the manager a few times who was also so nice and extended a anything we can do to help just ask gesture which was nice of him, staff also book a few tours we were interested in and was always on hand if we needed anything

We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again we did pass by a few other hotels during our stay that were open and some came over a bit commercial not sure how many people want to play bingo while on vacation in Antigua

Room Tip: Best tip we can give is book transport from the airport or hire a car makes life sooo much easier g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CocoBaileys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

The hotel is a little worn and some areas need to be either renovated or pulled down, but the staff are a bonus. So is the set-up it is spread over quite a big area with a lake on one side and Deep Bay on the other. The beach has good amenities, and the waves are very small, great for snorkeling, swimming or beach combing. It is only 10-15 mins walk from Fort Berrington, where on a clear day you can see Montserrat. There have been management issues which appear to be the cause of the lack of reinvestment, but from what we saw this is not echoed by the staff

Room Tip: Higher up the building at beach side for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobnbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012 via mobile

The resort is old, under terrible conditions, the service is awful, nobody want to help you and nobody cares about you as a guest. The rooms are in terrible conditions, and the food is really bad. Flyes all over the places. Please do yourself a favor and stay away from that choice.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
9 Thank KingAldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. John's hotels

Roseau
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We were placed there by Liat after our flight was delayed the staff were super friendly and food was tasty although it was late at night, and we left early in the morning so I did not get to see much of the hotel, but it does look quite Grand from the air.

Beds were comfy , I would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JessicaandAhmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Plainfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

After our flight home from our honeymoon was cancled 3 times, the airline suggested we stay in this hotel for the night. Our entire flight stayed there and when we all arrived, we were shocked to realize we were the ONLY guests at this hotel. It was so weird and creepy! The staff seemed overwhelmed by our arrival but were very nice and tried to be accomodating. The rooms were not the nicest and needed some updated decor. The furniture in our room was new, but the bedding looked like something I had during the 80's when I was a kid. The bathroom was pretty old, rusty and needed a major update. I will say that the room was VERY clean though. The one good thing about this hotel was the secluded beach and the AMAZING view. We had just come from a week at Sandals where we paid top dollar for a beach and view that didnt even come close to what we saw at this hotel. Our most beautiful pictures of the island came from the beaches at the Grand Royal on our last day stranded in paradise. If you are looking for luxury, this is NOT the hotel for you, but if you dont mind staying in a room that needs some serious updating and tlc then go for it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristin320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
290 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Put up here overnight by LIAT after flight SNAFU. Saw very little of the property due to late arrival & pre-dawn departure, but from what I did see it looks like the property is well past its prime, even with some recent cosmetic improvements. Rooms were pretty basic, bathroom was dated. Food at main restaurant was decent. Staff was friendly, other than the night watchman who was absolutely worthless. Also, a bit disconcerting that they insist on having a security guard escort you to your room upon checking in (particularly given some of the sketchy areas that you drive through to get here). I would be really cautiou about booking a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
4.4 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
6.4 mi away
3 Martini Beach Bar Restaurant and Apartments
4.1 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 15 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
3.4 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
3.2 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort

Property: Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort
Address: Five Islands, Deep Bay, St. John's, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Hotel St. John`s
Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing