We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Siboney Beach Club(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$221
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trade Winds Hotel(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Antigua Village(St. John's)
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Point Resort & Spa(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$436
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$284
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Galley Bay Cottages(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$531
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jumby Bay Island(St. John's)
US$1,396
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveller rating
52
90
68
72
114
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
90
68
72
114
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 396 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My wife and I visted this resort. The rooms are very plain but they were clean. Make sure you get rooms facing the ocean as we got one looking into the side of a steep hill. The food in the restaurant over the water was excellent but the rest was average. This is a small resort with not many amenities. However, the beach is gorgeous. You are in your own cove with a sunken ship you can snorkle around. The sand is fine and white and there is a bar and food hut right there. It is close to the port of St John's if you want to check it out. It is a nice little spot for people that want to relax and do nothing but is nothing special.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wmoynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

This is the 1st time in my life I write a review to give advice to other travelers about this Hotel. I have so many terrible stories about this hotel, don't know where to start. A quick summary starting from the worst.....1) Bathroom in my bedroom completely unclean. Hair all over the place. I complained and came back and was the same. 2) The ruddest staff I've seen ever, unfriendly, unhelpful, 3) we were eating the same thing every day, no variety in their menu and food average, 4) the first night they sent me to check in, in a room that was occupied.....several people had the same problem. 5) one night I left my room key at the lobby and they gave it to someone else, 6) food in the hotel extremely expensive, buffet at night was over 40 dollars!!!!!!!!

Many more horror stories, I wonder how they keep getting bussiness..........

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

After a forced layover due to tropical storm, my fellow passengers and I had to spend the night in Antigua at the "Grand" Royal....what a heinous experience! We arrived at 11:30pm to be told "just put your bags over there (in the corner of the lobby) and go to the restaurant for dinner while we get your rooms ready." Aside from being harshly herded into a specific section of the completely empty (it's near midnight!!) restaurant, it was clear from the tone and lack of attention from the waitress that we were not in anyway a priority for them. After 30 mins wait, and being told that she has "to wait to see what di chef say and what he goin' make", I decided that I was more tired than hungry, and so made my way back to the front desk to get my room key. After waiting my turn in line behind another (non-Liat) guest, I stepped to the counter once their room was squared away, only to be smiled at and then IGNORED for the next (non-Liat) guest in line once the front desk clerk realised I was with the LIAT group!!! With that, I approached the second more anxious looking clerk, who clearly noticed my frustration and lacked the savy to manage the situation. His nervous response: "if you're with Liat, just put your bags over there, and...." He didn't get to finish. I demanded my room right then, right there. He finished up with the the three other (non-L) guests he was checking in, and then saw about getting the keys ready for one other co-sufferer and myself. As he sorted the other passenger, in walked not one, not two, but three of his previously checked in guests - bags in tow. People were already in two of their 3 rooms! The third's key just didn't work!! I left them there wrangling to sort that out, and made my way to my (hopefully!) room at 12:30am. On my way, I passed a few other passengers still waiting for dinner - I advised them to sort their rooms out immediately, considering the mess at front desk. My room was clean enough - freshly sorted, in fact, as the front door was wide open, all lights on, and the AC up to all when I arrived! A hot shower in an aged but functional bathroom and getting into a firm bed made me feel vaguely human, despite coping with an empty stomach and cringing at the 3:30am wake-up for the 4am pick-up. In a blink, I was up, showered (again) and dressed and journeyed down to the lobby for pick-up, to see the rest of the group looking conspicuously similar to when I left them three hours before. Turns out I got the LAST room and the remaining 50-odd people (including several elderly ladies) had to sleep in the lobby by the time they finished dinner!!! From the outset of "dinner" I surmised that the delay was a ploy to skip giving us a room for 4 hours, and the upheaval that would have caused in their housekeeping. When we landed in Antigua at 9:30pm that fateful night, we were told where we were going to be accommodated: Liat had organised the numerous dislocated passengers long before we hit the tarmac. So between (before) 9:30pm and midnight they couldn't get the rooms sorted out? I'm guessing they WOULDN'T get the rooms sorted out! I would suggest that you stay far away from this hotel - treatment is terrible!

Room Tip: Don't!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LesleySWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

At first glance you would think no one else was in the hotel, considering it was the off season some of the resorts actually close until the season starts again in Oct at first we were the only ones on our floor but after a few days others had arrived, the hotels does need some good TLC but all in all hotel has plenty to offer, they do have wifi but it is not free they do have an area with free computer use a small gym room a pool on the way to the beach

Our room was fine the sliding doors did not quiet slide smoothly but maintenance was there directly and we got a room change and a lagoon view instead of your mountain view, staff was on point every morning at breakfast which was the perfect start to the day they were very friendly even when we bumped into them in town a quick smile and hello.

The beach was so nice no big waves was always calm and beach staff also very nice and friendly told us which parts to we could snorkel and to be care of the lion-fish which are rather new to the island which only swim at the rock edge, on a clear day you can see Montserrat we got a few pics of that we could also see the steam coming from the volcano

We even spoke with the manager a few times who was also so nice and extended a anything we can do to help just ask gesture which was nice of him, staff also book a few tours we were interested in and was always on hand if we needed anything

We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again we did pass by a few other hotels during our stay that were open and some came over a bit commercial not sure how many people want to play bingo while on vacation in Antigua

Room Tip: Best tip we can give is book transport from the airport or hire a car makes life sooo much easier getting to this hotel. try to get a room with no one next door as walls can be a bit thin.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CocoBaileys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The hotel is a little worn and some areas need to be either renovated or pulled down, but the staff are a bonus. So is the set-up it is spread over quite a big area with a lake on one side and Deep Bay on the other. The beach has good amenities, and the waves are very small, great for snorkeling, swimming or beach combing. It is only 10-15 mins walk from Fort Berrington, where on a clear day you can see Montserrat. There have been management issues which appear to be the cause of the lack of reinvestment, but from what we saw this is not echoed by the staff

Room Tip: Higher up the building at beach side for views
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobnbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews