We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, friendly and incredibly delicious cuisine.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Villas at Sunset Lane
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 June 2011

This is a great place to stay if you're looking for a low key, quaint, experience. The owner, Jackie was the most gracious host I've ever met in my 20+ years of traveling the world. She is an incredible chef and she prepares the meals for her guests from fresh foods and fish from local farmers. To get to the beach, you have to walk about 7 minutes, but other than that, you will really enjoy your experience here.
-Teri
www.travelista.tv

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelistaTeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for The Villas at Sunset Lane
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2011

The Villas at Sunset Lane is a quite little hotel, tucked away at the end of a road. On arrival we were treated to a very warm welcome from Jacqui the owner, who promptly set about preparing a fabulous home cooked meal. She then kindly took us into town and to the beach so we could get orientated.

We stayed for only 3 nights and apart from the last night, had the place to ourselves. We had a upgraded room, large, air conditioned and spotless.

If you're looking for the typical all inclusive hotel, with a crowded pool and packed bar, then this isn't the place for you. However if you'd rather have a quiet location and a superb host who will spoil you rotten, then book now!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hoho0482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

My wife and I were looking for a quick getaway that was easy to get to from Philly and offered great beaches.  We decided on Antigua and logged onto TripAdvisor to find a place to stay.  The reviews for Sunset Lane were stellar so we tried it out - the experience was just as advertised. Upon arrival, Jacqui greeted us with rum punch and a quick snack to refresh us from our flight. She then showed us the beautiful sunset views we'd get to experience each night at dinner on the balcony off the dining room.  Dinner was fantastic and was just a preview of all the meals to come. Jacqui was always open to accommodate us at meals with whatever type of food, time, or location we were in the mood for. We rented an SUV so we could explore the island and do our own thing, and she would always pack our lunch so we could take it on the road. Jacqui was also happy to answer any questions we had about the island and would make sure we always had everything we needed. She gave us cell phones to use as we were out and about in case we ran into any problems. The property was beautiful and the room was very nice. We were looking for a very relaxing trip and that's what we found with Jacqui taking great care of us!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iirightiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We were filming in Antigua and stayed at the Villas at Sunset Lane. It was divine, definitely one of the top 10 hotels on our list and we've stayed at some of the best! Because of the size of our crew we were able to view at least four of the rooms. Each one, extra large with huge bathrooms was exquisitely appointed, with fresh flowers, jacuzzi, his and her bathroom sinks and piped, yet adjustable music. As you enter the villa you walk into a magnificent view of the ocean and the coastline, AND then you are greeted by Jacquie! Owner-Chef extraordinaire! The first thing you see is the broad smile, then the hug! Once you taste Jacquie's Caribbean fusion cooking, it's all over. Never before have I stayed in a place where you and the Chef create midnight snacks or meals to suit your personal taste. It is clear that great care was taken to design each room. The beds and pillows are extremely comfortable and the showers are huge. Jacquie goes out of her way to ensure that you are at home, away from home!

Room Tip: All the rooms that we saw were excellent!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trinitraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

It was a pleasant surprise away from busy city life.
Nestled in on a hillside away from town, this has a breathtaking view.
It is very quiet and relaxing, not to mention the scrumptious & ever so delicious food by Chef Jackie. All foods are prepared to order, and to your likings. It was like having a personal chef the entire time I stayed there.
Even though the trip was an extention of my work, I was fully relaxed and recharged 110%.
Gorgeous white sand beach was only a less than 10 minute walk!
It was definitely the most relaxing home away from home.

Room Tip: You need a car!
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JangGyver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

My husband and I just returned from Antigua two days ago and we are already missing Jackie's amazing food and service that goes above and beyond!! We were warmly welcomed and after a much needed a nap we were met with drinks at the pool followed by the 5 star meal that consisted of a carrot soup, stuffed chicken with potato and vegetables and homemade bread and a delicious bread pudding. I could go on and on about the food that was just as good at all of our meals. We were also taken on a tour of the island where we learned about the local culture. The beds were comfy and it was nice to have the a/c because we had a couple HOT days. We would definately recommend this place. You won't regret it !!!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christinelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

This is the first business trip that i don't want it to end. The view of the ocean is marvelouse. There is Heaven on Earth! It is right here at the Villas at Sunset Lane!

The hotel owner made me feel like home. She is very hospital and her cooking is yummy! The room is super clean and decoration is lovely!

I like to encourage everybody to visit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vir1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.3 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,879 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
5.7 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,305 reviews
5.7 mi away
Jumby Bay Island
Jumby Bay Island
#1 of 16 in St. John's
632 reviews
0.4 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#7 of 16 in St. John's
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Sunset Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Sunset Lane

Address: Sunset Lane | Paradise View, McKinnons, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St. John's
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#3 Business Hotel in St. John's
#6 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £280 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villas at Sunset Lane 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Sunset Lane is Antigua's #1 All-Inclusive Boutique Hotel located on the beautiful island of Antigua. Your slice of paradise awaits you with open arms along with Jackie, who can't wait to personally welcome you to the Villas at Sunset Lane tucked away on a hillside overlooking one of Antigua's most scenic beaches - Dickenson Bay. This 10 room boutique hotel is just minutes away from St. John's (Antigua's capital) and a 5 minute stroll to one of the most attractive beaches (Dickinson Bay) on the northwestern side of the island. From the time the first sunbeam shimmers on your face to the last sip of your final cocktail, you are guaranteed to have the perfect relaxing Caribbean vacation with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Villas at Sunset Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Sunset Lane Hotel St. John`s
The Villas At Sunset Lane Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing