We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Piece of heaven on earth!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Villas at Sunset Lane
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Orleans
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Piece of heaven on earth!”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My husband and I spent a week in September with Jackie at the Villas. We have been to B&Bs etc before but have never had an experience as gracious as this. Coming home to the Villas after a days excursion was like visiting a favorite Auntie who just happens to be a gourmet chief. We were greeted like family from the time we stepped onto the beautiful grounds of the Villas. My husband likes to cook and even joined the kitchen staff to teach them how to make his favorite Cajun Gumbo. I have dietary restrictions and Jackie and her staff were very accommodating to my needs. Any day trips you care to take, talk to Jackie she can arrange it all. Ryan is her right hand man and we really learned a lot about the island and local customs just from talking to him.
The beach views from the dining area are amazing. We especially enjoyed watching the humming birds and other colorful birds in the lush gardens surrounding the property. If you are a bird lover bring your binoculars. We even enjoyed the walk to the beach as it gave us time to stop and examine tropical foliage, lizards and birds we had never seen before.
I had one of the best massages ever in the spa, with the open air and birds chirping in the trees who needs music.
One day we took a taxi tour with Barry. It was a very enjoyable and informative day indeed. We are farmers and at our request he did some research and brought us to a Talapia fish farm along with all of the usual spots of interest.
Just go to the Villas you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zzdance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
107
3
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Well , what a lovely place to stay . We recently spent our honeymoon with Jackie , Ryan and the team .
Firstly the people , Jackie leads a team who can't do enough for you and you are made to feel special from the moment you arrive
The rooms are lovely and we had room 3 on the first terrace overlooking the pool , after a week we had an air con problem and rather than wait for an engineer Jackie moved us immediately into the premier honey moon suite . She really knows how to spoil you , champagne on arrival and on my wife's birthday all complimentary .
Ryan is a star and will do any ting ya want !!
Antigua highlights for us apart from staying at the Villas were , Shirley Heights on Sundays , round the island boat trip ( beware the rum punch) and a day trip to Barbuda
However the very special star was Antigua , Sun , Rum and the people are so friendly . Do hire a car and get around I'm sure you will meet everybody on the island
Can't wait to return

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank GolferLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

From the first moment we were picked up at the airport we knew we had made the right decision in choosing to spend our honeymoon at The Villas at Sunset Lane. Ryan was the first person we had the privilege of meeting, he was extremely polite and made us feel comfortable immediately. As soon as we arrived at the beautiful boutique hotel, Jackie was ready to greet us and settle us into our suite- a light lunch was quickly provided which was so delicious! We had only been there for a short few hours and already we felt at home. Jackie, Ryan and the whole team stopped at nothing to make our stay special. On our 2nd or 3rd day there we were given a complimentary boat tour... that took us around the whole island of Antigua, stopping at a beach for snorkeling and lunch. We were so grateful for that gift! Another surprise was when we came back to our room after a day at the beach (5-10 minute walk to get there) to find rose petals all over and our hot tub filled to the top with bubbles and complimentary champagne! It was so thoughtful.

The islands beauty stands on it's own but Jackie and the whole team made it so much more remarkable. The food, the accommodations, the view and the staff was beyond our expectations. If you're looking to stay at an intimate, relaxing and beautiful place look no further, you will not regret staying at The Villas on Sunset Lane!

David & Cristy

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The Villas at Sunset Lane was a wonderful retreat and provided us with comfort and relaxation in a lovely tropical setting. Jackie, the proprietor, was the ultimate hostess, and her team, especially Ryan, helped make our trip to Antigua an unforgettable one. Ryan was our personal guide for an island tour one day and a trip to a remote beach on another! The meals were as varied as they were delicious; the food was definitely a highlight of our stay. All in all Jackie and her team were welcoming without being intrusive. Without a doubt, we highly recommend the Villas for anyone in need of a relaxing, laid back vacation in Antigua.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Two_NYC_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Jackie were phenomenal and the experience was unforgettable. The accommodations were immaculate. Jackie made every moment an enjoyable experience and left no detail to chance. From the moment you walk through the door, to the moment you have to regrettably say good bye, you won't be disappointed by the atmosphere that Jackie creates for her guests. The highlight is he food, that Jackie is so passionate about. You dream it, she can make it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PappaSUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed with Jackie in Feb this year prior to sailing for a couple of weeks. We wanted a touch of comfort before going and were not disappointed in any way. The hotel was perfect for us from the very comfortable rooms to the delicious cuisine. Most of all though was the discreet but attentive service from Jackie and her fabulous staff. Nothing was too much trouble, for instance we came back from the beach early one afternoon and before we knew it a buffet lunch and drinks appeared. I normally avoid recommending hotels/restaurants to friends but in this case I would not hesitate. Ken & Pat Bishop

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 16KenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This isn't the type of place we would normally stay (we were on business) however we're glad to have stayed with Jackie and her team. They took great care of us, even getting up at 4am to ensure we caught our LIAT flight on time. Fantastic food in an intimate setting, well appointed, clean rooms and fantastic views. You really can't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CTCTCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.3 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
3.8 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
7.1 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Sunset Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Sunset Lane

Property: The Villas at Sunset Lane
Address: Sunset Lane | McKinnons, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St. John's
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#3 Business Hotel in St. John's
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villas at Sunset Lane 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Sunset Lane is Antigua's #1 All-Inclusive Boutique Hotel located on the beautiful island of Antigua. Your slice of paradise awaits you with open arms along with Jackie, who can't wait to personally welcome you to the Villas at Sunset Lane tucked away on a hillside overlooking one of Antigua's most scenic beaches - Dickenson Bay. This 10 Room Boutique Hotel is just minutes away from St. John's (Antigua's Capital) and a 5 minute stroll to one of the most attractive beaches (Dickinson Bay) on the northwestern side of the island. From the time the first sunbeam shimmers on your face to the last sip of your final cocktail, you are guaranteed to have the perfect relaxing Caribbean vacation with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Villas at Sunset Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Sunset Lane Hotel St. John`s
The Villas At Sunset Lane Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing