We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little haven in mayhem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Bambula - CLOSED

Cafe Bambula
Price range: US$9 - US$31
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Cafe BamBula is a resto-style garden situated in the heart of St.Johns offering a wide selection of French-Mediterranean cuisine.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little haven in mayhem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

A little oasis in the heart of a bustling town especially if the cruise ships are in....a must for lunch. Ellen, the owner chats to everyone and works extremely hard at making this cafe/restaurant one of the best on the island ....service can be a bit slow if it is busy, but hey, you are in Antigua, just order another glass of wine and enjoy the atmosphere and the banter....a mixture of food, French with Caribbean influences.....all fresh and never had a bad meal there....fully recommended....and can't wait to be back there in December/January.......

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraK5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    16
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food in St. John's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We had a memorable lunch in Cafe Bambula - the food was yummy and my 8 year old son had snails for the first time!! which he really enjoyed. Everything was fresh and the owner was so friendly and welcoming, we would definitely recommend it BUT its closing down apparently? Hopefully, not for a while...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“very friendly place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

busy streets of St Johns, hot day with family trying to avoid massive holes in the pavement and crazy drivers in the busy centre and all you want to do is sit down for a while in a quiet friendly place to enjoy some lovely food. Carlton our trusted driver and a regular for Jumby Bay folk recommended Café Bambula so we decided to give it a go. Friendly hostess and lovely food - would recommend it to anyone

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tiff66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Little hideaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Carlton our taxi driver recommended this little restaurant
We would never have discovered it otherwise
Run by a couple - french chef and Irish front of house
Great combination friendly service and delicious food
Mediterranean quite small menu with specials mixed with Caribbean style but very accommodating for the children we had with us

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

A few items to choose from, but they were all good. We stopped there on our trip around the island and we would heartily recommend this laid back, pleasant spot with tasty food to anyone.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Bambula also viewed

St. John's, Saint John Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
St. John's, Saint John Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing