We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Circumnavigation of Antigua”

Tropical Adventures - Excellence Catamaran
Book In Advance
More Info
US$100.00*
and up
Sail and Snorkel in Cades Reef
More Info
US$110.00*
and up
Island Safari 4x4 Discovery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is a first class tour on a 80ft power catamaran, the name says it all! If you want to visit Antigua AND Barbuda by sea, The Excellence is the way to do it! We will pamper you all day with an open bar, and a hot local lunch at midday, and if you want to Snorkel, you can always ask!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Circumnavigation of Antigua”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was a day trip on a catamaran taking in Antigua from the sea. A choice of drinks were available all day both alcoholic and non alcoholic and food was provided when we stopped at Green Island for snorkelling, swimming and relaxing on the beach. The crew are extremely professional with a great sense of humour. A must if you want to see this beautiful island and meet some great people while doing so!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bacardidawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, Marketing Manager at Tropical Adventures - Excellence Catamaran, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hello Dawn,

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for writing us this great review. We do like to tell people the circumnavigation tour is the best way to see the island. We are glad that you enjoyed the company of the crew, as well as the drinks and lunch provided. We do hope that you tell your friends and family about our island Antigua and that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    80
    36
    16
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

For a round-the-island tour, you only get to snorkel at one location, which was unremarkable. The "reef" was full of sea grass and was murky. The rest of the trip was just cruising around the island. If you like good snorkeling, this is not the trip for you.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, Marketing Manager at Tropical Adventures - Excellence Catamaran, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hello Good Day,

We are sorry you found our tour disappointing. We advertise this tour as an opportunity to see Antigua by sea with the chance to snorkel. We are sorry if you thought this tour was all about snorkeling. You did not have to give us such a bad review just because the snorkeling was not the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Okay but a bit expensive”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I love boat trips and consider them a holiday must-do, so I was really looking forward to this trip. Unfortunately this one was a bit disappointing. The crew were really nice, attentive and friendly but the outward trip was a bit of an ordeal, +/- 2 hrs on choppy seas (where the Caribbean and Atlantic meet). Too rocky to move around the boat and almost impossible to hold onto drinks. Destination beach was beautiful though and the return journey calmer. Quite pricey for the experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, Marketing Manager at Tropical Adventures - Excellence Catamaran, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hello Simon,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that the boat ride across to Barbuda was a bit overwhelming for you. I think that day we might have had more rough waters than normal. But yes the ride over to Barbuda is 1 and a half hours long, the return trip is shorter. We do make sure and tell all tour reps to explain this to the guests before they purchase the tour. But Barbuda is very unspoilt and secluded. Once your there, you are truly in paradise. Please book directly with us when your in Antigua for the best Rates and Prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hayling island
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Chase the race”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Arrived Antigua Sat 26th friends had booked us on the excellence Sunday morning to chase some racing during Antigua sailing week we boarded at St Johns and made our way up the coastline towards Falmouth harbour for the race start. Breakfast was supplied muffins tea coffee little sandwiches cakes it was nice,arrival was well timed for the race start the yacht racing was great as we followed them up the coastline and the rum started flowing out from the bar,excellence was only half full which probably added to the easy service we stopped of mid race for a swim and bar BQ lunch fish,chicken,salad,pasta and of course rice n peas all very good, we then went out and caught up with the race for a marker and then the finish, we had an excellent day on the excellence.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank barneybing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, Marketing Manager at Tropical Adventures - Excellence Catamaran, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hello Barney,
Glad you had the opportunity to go on the chase the race special tour we created for sailing week. Thank you for your positive feedback and review, we do appreciate it. We are glad to hear that you had a fun filled day on our boat. Glad you guys had an opportunity to swim and that you enjoyed the lunch that was provided. Sailing week in Antigua is one of the longest running and most famous sailing regattas in the world. We do hope that your visit to Antigua was full of fun and great experiences. We hope you tell all your friends and family about our island and our tour. thank you , we do hope to see you again in Antigua soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a blast!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Our family (including our 20 and 23 year old young adults) had an incredible day last Thursday, May 8th on the Excellence! We boarded at Coco Beach at 8:15 a.m and returned 7 hours later! We had such a great day! I enjoyed the pickups at all the various resorts. It was fun visiting with the other passengers. The staff on the Excellence are EXCELLENT! Just loved the sense of humour of our guide. Every other staff person was professional.
It was thrilling hitting the waves on the Atlantic side! My children loved the snorkelling! I loved the delicious lunch that was offered. Then.... all that Wadadli beer that flowed non stop!!!!!
For your money, what an impressive value to cruise around the island on such a beautiful boat!
I would do this day cruise in a heart beat if I returned to Antigua.
Thank you for creating such a fun memory of Antigua!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank donnachadwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, Marketing Manager at Tropical Adventures - Excellence Catamaran, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hello Donna,
Thank you for your positive review of our Circumnavigation tour around the island. We are glad to hear that our excursion was fun for the whole family. Glad to hear our crew, drinks and service were on point. Thank you for your kind words and high recommendations we truly appreciate it. We do hope to see you on one of our tours again when your next in Antigua. Please spread the word about our beautiful little island in the sun. All the Best. Take Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tropical Adventures - Excellence Catamaran also viewed

 
Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
 

Been to Tropical Adventures - Excellence Catamaran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing