We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice excusion out of town across hills to beach view”

Tropical Adventures - Island Safari
Book In Advance
More Info
US$110.00*
and up
Island Safari 4x4 Discovery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Island Safari tours forms part of the many Tropical Adventure tours in Antigua and Barbuda. These 4x4 Land Rovers, are fully equipped, with the necessities for making an exciting journey around the tropical scenery of Antigua. With thirst quenching drinks aboard, and a lunch that comes to you, your hydration in the sun will never give up. These trucks will make you discover areas like Pot Works Dam, Body Pond, Devil's Bridge, Betty's Hope, and much much more! Come and enjoy the real adventure with us, and get a proper land tour filled with knowledgeable information on the culture of Antigua, and top it off with a swim at some of Antigua's most secluded beaches!
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Our cruise excursion used this company for a 4x4 jaunt to a remote beach. The driver was very pleasant and knowledgeable. We scaled some steep terrain along the way. The stop overlooking a resort beach was a nice vista. A fruit punch was provided. Although a relatively short outing, it was nonetheless pleasant.

Having walked around the town extensively on previous stops, this was a good way to get out and about a little. The company seemed solid and I would consider them on a longer stay.

Thank AthensBulldawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, Marketing Manager at Tropical Adventures - Island Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Hello Good Day,

Thanks for writing us this review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us. glad to hear that your tour guide was very knowledgeable. I think you were on one of our half day tours which is why you felt that it was a little short. We are a very reputable company and would love for you to try out one of our other tours when you come back to Antigua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"gold tour"
in 14 reviews
"donkey sanctuary"
in 17 reviews
"off road"
in 18 reviews
"land rover"
in 11 reviews
"betty's hope"
in 41 reviews
"turners beach"
in 15 reviews
"suv tour"
in 6 reviews
"shirley heights"
in 22 reviews
"nelson's dockyard"
in 23 reviews
"rum punch"
in 33 reviews
"jimi hendrix"
in 3 reviews
"devil's bridge"
in 17 reviews
"open jeep"
in 4 reviews
"big john"
in 6 reviews
"english harbour"
in 13 reviews
"viv richards"
in 8 reviews
"stingray city"
in 15 reviews
Filter

177 - 181 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

We booked the Eco-Kayaking tour through Princess. It included kayaking, snorkelling at bird island, a little rum punch & banana bread and a hike up the island to a great lookout for some fabulous views of the Island.
AJ and Ernest were our guides and were top notch! Was a great experience, had a lot of fun.
Was one of the two best excursions on our cruise - so hats off to you for unique and memorable experience

Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, Marketing Manager at Tropical Adventures - Island Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Hello Mark,
Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate your feedback. We are so glad to hear that is was one of the top two best excursions you did on your Caribbean journeys. we are also happy to hear that you fully enjoyed your experience and the commentary by our tour guides Aj and Ernest. We hope to see you again. Please tell your friends and family about our tour and our island. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We booked two tours with island safari tours through out transat tours rep Marie at our hotel. One tour was the discovery tour which takes you all over the island including Nelson's dockyard, Shirley heights, and devil's bridge. Lunch was included at a historical sugar plantation site. Tours are via land rover trucks that are open but have a roof. Our tour guide, John, was very informative and a lot of fun. Keep in mind these are open land rovers so I recommend wrap around sun glasses if you have them. It gets very windy back there on the main roads, and quite bumpy on the back roads so be prepared for that. There are seat belts so you won't fly out on the bigger bumps! This tour was worth the price if for nothing more than the views from Shirley heights! Nelson's dockyard historical area was interesting and we would have liked a bit more time to explore it.
The other tour was shorter and included stingray city which I have reviewed elsewhere. We saw a few different parts of Antigua than the discovery tour but it also includes devil's bridge. The reason we booked this tour was that if we booked stingray city separately it does not include transportation so we would have had to pay a taxi to get there. This way was more fun and we learned a bit more about the island with our tour guide Foster.
Both tours were fun and informative and included drinks (limited to juice, rum punch, or water)

1  Thank pottert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, Marketing Manager at Tropical Adventures - Island Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Hello Potter,
Thank you for taking the time out to write us this GREAT Review, we really appreciate your feedback. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the commentary by our well trained guides Foster and John. We are glad that you enjoyed Nelsons Dockyard and sorry that you didn't have enough time to explore more. Did you know that Nelson’s Dockyard is part of the Tentative List in order to qualify for inclusion in the World Heritage List? We are very proud of the history and the restoration of Nelson's Dockyard and are hoping that is does make this prestigious list. We hope that you have enjoyed our beautiful island and tell all your friends and family about us. See you soon. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We recently went on the 4 x 4 discovery jeep trip with the very knowledgable John. As we were the only two people on the trip were were able to take out time seeing the great places of Betty's Hope Plantation, Pots Works Dam ( can't we send Antigua some of our water this was dry very sad) . Treated to a fabulous lunch of salad rice, and Mama's Creole chicken, believe me I have never had chicken do delicious in my life,the taste buds were spoilt and all day were were given drinks of water, juice or Rum punch.
John thank-you for a great time and for sharing with us your pride in your fantasic island.

1  Thank jimb0b86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, Marketing Manager at Tropical Adventures - Island Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Hello Jim,

Thank you for taking the time to write us this review, we appreciate your feedback. Glad to hear that you fully enjoyed your excursion on the island safari jeep tour with your knowledgeable guide JOHN. Lucky you that you had the whole jeep to yourselves. Glad to hear that JOHN was very proud and passionate about our country. We are also very happy to hear that you never ate CHICKEN so GOOD while you were on our tour. Thanks for visiting us. Please come again soon. Spread the word about our beautiful island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My family and I booked the tour onboard the Mystic Catamaran with the champagne and lobster lunch, and it was a good experience. The crew was friendly, the food was good and the beaches which we visited, Deep Bay and Turners Beach, are awesome, all the shore that we saw from the boat was very nice.

3  Thank Rocco2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, Marketing Manager at Tropical Adventures - Island Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Hello Good Day,
Thank You for your positive review and contribution of our Lobster Lunch Tour. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your cruise and that the staff was very Helpful. Yes, Turners Beach is one of the Nicest beaches on the island I personally think. The Lobster Lunch is one of our Newest additions to the Mystic and it has been going very well so far. So Happy you Liked it and hope one day you will make it back to our Beautiful Island again all The Best....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tropical Adventures - Island Safari also viewed

St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
St. John's, Saint John Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 

Been to Tropical Adventures - Island Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing