We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so good any more . . .”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pepperz N' Lime - CLOSED

Pepperz N' Lime
Price range: US$7 - US$35
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Opened in June 2011- Beach bar and Restaurant serving Mexican and Caribbean dishes. Best cocktails in Antigua, drink specials daily, bar surprises,live music and beach party on Sundays,DJ music/live bands on weekends. Lively, casual atmosphere, great for families. FREE WI-FI.Chill out in our bar-swings, limer's Lounge,beach chairs or hammocks and spend a great day/evening at the beach
Barbados
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not so good any more . . .”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Hadn't been to Pepperz for around 6 months. During that time they seem to have decided to focus more on the bar aspect than the restaurant. Such a shame as the food used to be delicious. Tonight they had run out of seafood, so no seafood fajitas available, and the food we did order was fine but nothing special. It took close to an hour for our food to arrive too, which is a long wait. There was also a DJ who was playing the music far too loud (sounding old now!) for a restaurant environment, therefore no chance to hold a conversation. It is a lively place, right on the beach, so a great spot for drinking. Unfortunately, it is no longer a great place to eat, which is a real shame.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepperznlime, Owner at Pepperz N' Lime, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Jo W.,
I am sorry you feel we are no longer a restaurant, but a bar. I assume you were visiting Pepperz on Sunday. Please understand that we are still full in slow season and Pepperz is not fully open yet. This means we do not overstock. We have only fresh ingredients and we therefore have to decide very careful how much we stock, especially with seafood. This Sunday we were overwhelmed (positive) with the amount of guests we had through the day and we sold out of seafood. However, it brought its problems, as this was not expected and were also under staffed. Sincere apologies for the delay.
With regards to the music, we have had the "Beach Parties" since we opened, always on a Sunday afternoon and everybody knows it is a family day and slightly chaotic, as children are all over the beach and place, the DJ is playing on the beach and yes it is noisy compared to all other days. Our local guests have chosen the Sunday to end the weekend this way and have this as their little "Shirley Heights", as we also provide live bands during the season on Sundays. So if you wish a more quiet day, any other day but Sunday would be more suitable for you. We hope to see you again and hope I could address some of your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    40
    14
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston Lancashire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent lobster”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We visited Peppers and Lime in November 2012. We had a lovely meal of lobster. The manager and staff were

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grenada_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood and Frozen Margaritas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I went to Pepperz N' Lime a few weeks ago for lunch after it had been highly recommended by a friend. We made the journey from the other side of the island and it was 100% worth it. The wow-factor about this place is the view; totally exquisite! We ate a range of things including burritos, succulent fish burgers, and my personal favourite, ceviche. I've eaten at a range of places on Antigua - but this was a real treat. Our experience was topped off by sitting on the swings at the bar and sipping on Frozen Margartias. I'm told that Pepperz N' Lime is a great place to go for dinner because the atmosphere is great - I hope to be able to confirm this myself one day!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food & price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

The view from the restaurant is great because it sits overlooking the beach. Had Lunch here twice during my stay in Antigua. The service was timely and the food was great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlzP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place to go to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is a really nice place to go and eat for lunch or dinner. Both the service and the food is excellent.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracie2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pepperz N' Lime also viewed

St. John's, Saint John Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
St. John's, Saint John Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
St. John's, Saint John Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing