We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cove Restaurant at The Blue Waters Resort
Ranked #7 of 104 Restaurants in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$70
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Uniquely situated on a cliff top, the Cove Restaurant combines Caribbean and French cuisine with flair. As guests arrive at the Cove Restaurant, they will be greeted by flaming torches and a dramatic entrance leading onto a candlelit hall. Once inside, it won't take long for guests to become mesmerised by breath-taking views of the Caribbean Sea. Dress Code Elegant evening attire and for men collared shirts are requested, Tailored shorts are accepted. . T-shirts & flip-flops are not accepted
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Cove”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Staying at Blue Waters inclusive so not much thinking required, booked whenever we could. So much better than other restaurants at the Hotel for dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 887AndrewB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    33
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucker, GA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exquisite Experience”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

The Cove has a wonderful setting on the cliffs overlooking the north shore of Antigua. It is fine dining in a very upscale setting with excellent service and a staff that truly cares about delivering a memorable experience. After being shuttled by golf cart from the lobby of the resort to the restaurant, we were seated at a table overlooking the ocean and the waves crashing on the rocks below us. Everythng we ordered was delicious, but the rack of lamb was among the best I have ever been served. I would definitely recommend The Cove for a special occasion or just a memorable night of fine dining.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoA_in_Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
114 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Needs Much Better Food”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We dined twice at The Cove. The setting is beautiful, and we had very good service. Unfortunately, the food does not match the ambience.

Both nights I began with a soup...lobster bisque and french onion. Both were watery broths. No lobster meat or cream in the one. A few limpid undercooked onions with a tiny cheese topped crouton on the other. Truly disappointing. One night my partner began with the crabcake that was 95% gummy filler. (Bread soaked in water?) Next a caesar salad with a very bland dressing that cried out for a squeeze of lemon and a bit of garlic.

For entrees, my snapper was well cooked, but served with a bed of nearly raw red and yellow peppers and rosti potatoes that had gone limp under the moist fish. My partner's lobster thermidor had a watery sauce and no seasoning. The second night mains included an acceptable stuffed chicken breast and a very fatty ribeye steak.

Nothing on the menu is complicated....all Cooking 101. There really is no excuse for such mediocre preparation in such a dazzling setting. The management should buy the chef The Joy of Cooking and make him read it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dvandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Romantic”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

You must make reservations and request a table by the water. They have spot lights on the water. Great food and great service. We ate there twice.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CindyHassfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting but rushed”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We ate here to get away from the at best average food at Sandals and were very glad we did. The menu had a good range of dishes and we were very happy with the food. We were lucky enough to get a table on the waters edge, I'd recommend this. When we called to book, the only option was 8.30pm, when we arrived the other tables were nearly finished, so the staff though friendly were very keen to whizz us through the meal, coming to the table to clear plates before we'd finished, bringing the bill before offering us dessert etc. We had a drink at the lobby bar afterwards whilst waiting for the taxi and both agreed we really wished we'd stayed here. Would certainly return if we go back to Antigua.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fulltimeholidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cove Restaurant at The Blue Waters Resort also viewed

Saint Mary's, Antigua
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
Saint George, Saint George Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 

Been to The Cove Restaurant at The Blue Waters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing