We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swim With A Stingray!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Adventure Antigua

Adventure Antigua
Ranked #3 of 44 Tours in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Locally owned and operated, educational, adventure boat company guiding to little islands and secluded bays off the beaten track. Tours have themes of history and ecology mixed in with the best snorkeling and sightseeing. All of the crew are passionate about the island and it's unique coastline and their goal is to make sure your day spent on one of their boats is the best you will experience while in the Caribbean.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Scott City, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Swim With A Stingray!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

While on our trip to Antigua my husband booked us an adventure to swim with the Stingray.The Extreme tour around the iland on a small boat. It was the most memorable part of our trip! The snorkeling was so enjoyable and as my husband discribes it," the stingray are like swimming with a big wet puppy"! The beach on Rendevous Bay is like walking on a sponge. We took a land tour later in the week to explore Nelson's Dockyarf and Fort James. We wished we would have spent more time at the Dockyard. There is a lot of history on this small island! One week was not enough time!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    645
    53
    22
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montréal
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We did the Xtreme circumnavigation tour. The tour was great, but I was happy to have done a tour by SUV of the island beforehand just to give me a better idea of where I was!

We where the first passengers to get on the boat and I think we took the best seats! (Right behind the captain). We had, some shade, a good view and a back to our seat! People in the front had to straddle the benches and had to move a few times for the crew to get access to the storage underneath.

The crew gave us lots of information, about our stops and beaches and hotels that we were passing by.

We visited: Hell's gate, stingray city, two beaches, Nelson's dockyard, the pillars of Hercules.

The lunch was very good: pasta salad, greens, chicken, fried plantains and banana bread. There was water and juices at our disposal on the boat and soft drinks added for the lunch.

A good tour, unfortunately the weather was not the best that day but the crew managed to adapt well and changed locations trying to find the sun!

Some people seemed not to be in their place and may have not realized that this is a speedboat tour.... The boat will rock! You may get wet! You don't have tons of room!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ciurka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Xtreme”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We took the Xtreme tour around the island. Started our day at Stingray City, then Green Island for a wonderful lunch (a little disappointed with the island itself). A boat tour of Fort James and Nelson's Dockyard followed. We finished the day with a stop at Rendezvous Bay...a truly gorgeous place. We snorkeled at all locations, and the crew tried it's best to give us a first-hand review of the places and resorts we passed (sometimes it was hard to hear them over the boat noise).
Bring loads of sunscreen on this one.... out in the sun most of the day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nr Cambridge
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Eli's Eco Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

ELI’S ORIGINAL ECO TOUR –

We didn’t want the “booze cruise” type of boat trip around the island, so opted for this tour, although it only visits parts of the island.

We had to be at the Jolly Harbour for about 0945. We picked up extra people from the beach at Sandals & then progressed on the tour. This included a mini-climb at Hells Gate, a tour on Bird Island (the only island in the Antigua group with snakes – but harmless), snorkelling & a very nice lunch on board. Very friendly staff.

All in all, it was a relaxed & informative tour. We returned to Jolly Harbour at about 1600.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeJenvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Take the Yacht Cruise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We took the yacht cruise with Adventure Antigua. It was an amazing time. We visited Cades Reef for some amazing snorkeling. We also stopped off in a cove for more snorkeling followed by lunch. After lunch we sailed north along the coast before stopping at a nice secluded beach. It was a long, wonderful day on the water. Take plenty of sunscreen, between getting in and out of the water and baking on the ship's deck, it was very necessary. This trip is for those who enjoy being on the water, the boat rocks a lot and when sailing is not level in the water. While we enjoyed this, others might want to think about taking another option. They even let anyone who wanted steer the boat while we were sailing!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank aji125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Adventure Antigua also viewed

St. John's, Saint John Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 

Been to Adventure Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing