We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful oasis on a hot and humid day”

Fred's Belgian Waffles and Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A wonderful oasis on a hot and humid day”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I was the leader of 10 who had traveled from Virginia Beach, VA, USA, to Antigua to assist in the rebuilding of the All Saints Nazarene (that had burned down a few years ago). After a day of work, we made our way into St. John's for some shopping. We parked down by the pier where the cruise ships come in and there we found this wonderful little oasis.
It has now changed its name to Fred's. The server was extremely polite and allowed us to have tastes of as many of the flavors as we wanted. Everything tasted wonderful and it was difficult to choose. A nice surprise was that our US currency was greeted with US change, not EC.
Before we left the island, we made a return trip to St. John with the express purpose of getting more ice cream...and we did. It was just as good. My wife and I plan to be back in February for one day and I can guarantee that Fred's will be on our short list of places to visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RevDillon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    47
    15
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“:)”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Had the passion fruit sorbet (they have lactose free options - yay!) which was a great way to end a night out. The passion fruit is tangy and not too sweet which is exactly how a passion fruit should taste.

Helpful?
Thank ahyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unique ice cream flavors and made fresh waffle cones!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This place has the best ice cream on the island. White chocolate ice cream with a fresh made waffle cone... 'nuff said! The ice cream is very creamy and they rotate flavors out. It's located in town but there is a dock close by and you can check out the sunset and the cruise ships in the port while you enjoy some delicious ice cream.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful gelato!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is a wonderful spot to hang out by the water. Gelato is delicious. It is a bit difficult to find. The name change to "Fred's" should be reflected in a new sign on the street that leads to the shop.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shermatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great! Best ice cream we've had in a while!! ”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

This place was great! Although it can be tough to find if you don't realize it's now called Fred's Belgian Waffle & Ice Cream Shop. I got creme brule and my husband got a flavor like cookies & cream. Both were amazing and the waffle cones were very good. Definitely coming back if we make it back to St Johns.

Helpful?
Thank APreciousDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fred's Belgian Waffles and Ice Cream also viewed

St. John's, Saint John Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
St. John's, Saint John Parish
Saint Mary's, Antigua
 

Been to Fred's Belgian Waffles and Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing