We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful - relaxing, private, charming”
other travellers have booked this property
Late afternoon light
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Late afternoon light
Sun loungers Beautiful Desert rose flowers
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Late afternoon light
Sun loungers
Beautiful Desert rose flowers
View from loungers on deck
Jump in...
Cadillac of a BBQ
Sarah’s driftwood garden art
Noodles for pool use
Driftwood hangings on the verandah
Reading corner with Sarah’s pottery lighting
Deck loungers, reading or cocktails anyone?
Dining table, always a cool spot
Fridge, microwave and toaster oven...
Well equipped kitchen
Bathroom. All towels and beach towels supplied
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
St. John's, Saint John Parish, Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

ellieh298
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful - relaxing, private, charming”
Reviewed 25 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Firstly, Sarah is a superb host. Friendly, accessible, helpful, but discrete - not intrusive. A personal concierge, in a way. Secondly, this cottage is in a great location for accessing beaches, shops, restaurants. Easy access from the airport. Hire car gave us independence and really made everywhere within reach (we rented from Sarah's friend which worked really well). We ate in most lunches - salads, barbecue, and even sashimi with our own fresh caught wahoo. Thirdly, the cottage is charming. Has everything you need (huge bed, surprisingly powerful shower, decent kitchen, TV (we didn't use). Pretty. Lovely terrace. Fourthly, the pool which was the highlight. For a private pool it's really big. Clean. Warm. Surrounded by impeccably maintained grounds with lovely planting. Lastly, we loved getting to know the dogs and feeding/watching the birds.

This was an incredibly comfortable and relaxing holiday. We will definitely return!

As for the wider island, we had some fantastic meals with great service, the climate is ideal, the people we met were warm and welcoming, the roads a bit tatty and mosquitoes need managing, but this is an excellent holiday destination... And a wonderful holiday let from which to enjoy it in full. We loved it!

Thank you!

Date of stay: January 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2018
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was such a pleasure getting to know you both and to help you make the most of your holiday. I am so pleased that you enjoyed not only our cottage but also Antigua...(not forgetting the dogs of course!). John and I look forwards to welcoming you back here again before too long
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chadyuk
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Cozy tropical paradise”
Reviewed 19 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Cozy and private, this lovely open-air cottage is tucked away in the middle of a lush garden of a large private residence in the more affluent part of Antigua. Thank God, untouched by Irma this year, the house, pool and the garden are in an impeccable condition. A very comfortable bed, convenient kitchenette, large dining area -- and even a decent library! A short walk from the posh Le Bistro and the ocean-facing beach, which is perfect for kiting. You will need a car to explore the more cozy beaches on the other side of the island, so the residence's private parking comes quite handy.

Date of stay: December 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2017
Thank you for your lovely words, we so enjoyed having you to stay again. Wishing your family a joyous Christmas and a very Happy New Year. Hope to see you in 2018!
Best Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny M
1 review
“Magical secluded Trooical Hideaway”
Reviewed 26 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I wake up this morning having to bid farewell to Antigua and all the wonderful, warm and kind hearted people. We have stayed at Sarah's Tropical cottage tucked in an oasis of lush green palm trees and singing birds. The large swimming pool is an absolute delight, tucked in between the lush thick garden of greenery. It is romantic, private and has a verandah that overlooks the pool. We have stayed for two weeks and was here when hurricaine Maria arrived. During the storm we were safely tucked away in the secure cottage and woke the next morning to singing birds. We will definitely be returning to this beautiful gem. If you are wanting to get away from the stress of things or maybe you want to be tucked away and write a book, this is the place to be without a doubt.The family who live in the main house Sarah and John Fuller are truly wonderful warm people who welcome you with open arms. They go out of their way to make sure you have a comfortable stay. Antigua was not devastated by hurricaine Maria so get your suitcase packing and go and enjoy the beauty of Antigua. There is so much to do and see. If you a lover of sailing, fishing, surfing, diving, walking, then hurry as that is waiting for you. I was blown away by the size of the avocado and the pineapple of which I would now rate the best I have ever had. If you are a health fanatic and need to eat Gluten free or vegan there is no problem in finding that at the local main store. I have had a VERY special experience in Antigua. Thank you and goodbye. Mac and Jen.

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2017
Thank you Mac and Jen, it was an absolute pleasure having you to stay and we hope you will come back to enjoy the rest of our beaches!
Sarah & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thenaviga...
Sherborne St. John, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very private traditional yet comfortable accommodation with luxury pool.”
Reviewed 24 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Only 10 minutes from the airport, but in a quiet, private location, Driftwood Cottage is a wonderful place to chill out. The photographs accurately portray this delightful accommodation, although the pool has very recently been completely refurbished. The owners John and Sarah are extremely hospitable and helpful in providing local information. There are many excellent restaurants and bars within 15 minutes drive, as is the biggest supermarket on the island. We hope to return next year.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2017
Thank you both, we are so pleased that you enjoyed both our cottage and Antigua. We look forwards to welcoming you back next year!! Sarah and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrongir...
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very relaxing place to stay with a beautiful pool area and lots to do in the vicinity”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Driftwood Cottage was the last destination in our four week stay in the West Indies. The first three weeks were filled with sight-seeing in Antigua and St Kitts and sailing in the British Virgin Islands so we were looking forward to "chilling out" and doing nothing. This cottage was the ideal place for that. A swim early in the morning,a late breakfast, then settling down with a good book by the pool. The cottage has everything you need, including 5 lovely dogs and lots of birds who will keep you company on the verandah all day.

Apparently the bed is also a talking point. You will see why when you get there. There is a good little library which we found really useful. Sarah also supplies beach chairs and a cool box.

There was several really nice restaurants close by - Le Bistro is only a five minute walk. Cecelia's is a must. As far as beaches are concerned, we really liked Fort James Beach (in the Dickenson Bay area) which affords some shade from the trees. There is also a great beach bar called Beachlimerz which is good for a rum punch or a reasonably priced lunch or dinner.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2017
Thank you both, hope it wasn't too much of a shock going home!! We are so pleased you enjoyed our cottage and our island, Antigua, and we look forwards to welcoming you back here again before too long. Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy_Carol
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise in Antigua”
Reviewed 5 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

I can echo the comments from recent visitors - this is just the most perfect place to relax and enjoy life! We loved the open plan layout with plenty of fresh air circulating around the huge bed. No problem using the mossie nets. The newly refurbished pool is great - swimming under the stars (thats a first for me!). Perhaps too much choice on where to sit and read?? And plenty of books and games available. We loved being able to walk to the beach, or get in the car for more distant beaches - again, so much choice! Sarah was most helpful in providing advice on the whats & wherefores of the island. And I have to mention the dogs - especially Riley who liked to visit even when food was not on offer! We cannot imagine a better place to stay on the island. Hope to return soon......

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2017
Thank you both, it was a pleasure having you to stay. We hope that you will come back before too long, Riley misses you!! Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flowerblo...
Midhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed 24 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The most beautiful cottage tucked away by a newly refurbished pool in a private garden. Waking up to brightly coloured bougainvillea and humming birds, make it a truly tropical paradise. Jabberwock beach is a short walk away but a car is really required to access all the other amazing beaches on this beautiful island. The cottage has everything you require for a romantic holiday and if you just want to sit and chill with a Caribbean cocktail on the verandah then nowhere else could be better. The hosts Sarah and John are soo friendly and have a wealth of local and historical knowledge. Can't recommend Driftwood Cottage more highly and we will return sooner rather than later.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2017
Thank you both and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our cottage and our island, Antigua. We look forwards to welcoming you back before too long! Sarah and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.