We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel & great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

A quiet hotel with wonderful views and an Italian restaurant overlooking the beach. The food was delicious. Our room had excellent views of the ocean. The room was clean and contained a kitchenette with microwave and fridge. The bathroom was a bit tired but nothing that would put us off going again. The swimming pool was the longest we have come across in any hotel and ideal for swimmers. Staff were very pleasant and did as much as they could to help us. We recommend this hotel for a quiet, relaxing holiday and hope to return there soon. Given Antigua prices this was excellent value for money. The beaches were raked every morning. I don't believe in giving top marks for anything as there is always something that can be improved, but this was very close to top marks. We would recommend going on the Classic Tour with Marcus. It was excellent.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena M, Owner at Ocean Point Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Paul,
thank you for taking the time to share a wonderful review of your recent stay at Ocean Point Residence.
We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here with us and that our team of friendly staff helped to make your stay memorable.
We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Staff very accommodating. Loved being right on the beach with option for swimming pool. There was always a lovely breeze so was never uncomfortably hot. Beautiful gazebo with comfy chairs and couches overlooking water.Restaurant somewhat expensive but food and atmosphere top notch. Within walking distance of two convenience stores. Not terribly far from airport and town.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbradf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena M, Owner at Ocean Point Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guests,
thank you so much for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear how much you liked the location and the Staff here at Ocean Point Residence.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Great chilled place to stay, great value for money, made to feel very welcome. Great beach to ourselves, big pool. Hotel was nicely presented and good for those who prefer affordable boutique to chain hotels

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EbonyHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena M, Owner at Ocean Point Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed and relaxed here at Ocean Point Residence.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Arrivederci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Beautiful and charming hotel, in a quiet location with 2 private beaches. Fantastic customer service--Rosanna is very friendly and gives great recommendations. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel, but this is the only restaurant nearby (lots of heavy pastas) and is very expensive.

Our only real disappointment was the sleeping quality. The walls are thin and our upstairs neighbors were very loud. We hear them moving furniture and talking constantly. Also, the beds are terribly hard and uncomfortable, and we had a hard time getting a good nights rest.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bktravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena M, Owner at Ocean Point Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guests,
thank you for taking the time to post your review and we were very pleased to read how much you liked the location and the quietness of Ocean Point Residence.
We are of course very sorry that you did not have a good nights rest. We appreciate all of your feedback and will be looking into yor concerns.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

As others have pointed out, this hotel is a former resort turned student residence / guest house. From a guest perspective the formula works pretty good. Students are usually out during the day and don't worry there is no partying at night.

The hotel manager and staff are all very nice and helpful and the studios are equipped with a nice functional kitchenette. My room had a nice ocean view and was always kept clean. Being an older hotel it seems that the room are not completly soundproof. I did hear my neighbor's television on at some point. Other than that it was pretty quiet.

There is two small secluded beach on site as well as a huge pool. The site is definitly not crowded and therefore is perfect to relax, read and enjoy the sun. The beaches are not perfect swimming beaches but Dickenson Bay and its white sand beaches are only a 5 - 10 minutes car ride away. The hotel is located in the Northen tip of the island in a upper class neighborhood and is only 5 minutes away from the airport.

We went to the italian restaurant on site once and were pretty happy with our meal. Le Bistro (french restaurant) is less than 1km away and was also excellent.

Overall this hotel is very good value, if I was to go back to Antigua it would be on the top of my list.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olbernatchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena M, Owner at Ocean Point Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear RoliQc,
all the staff at Ocean Point Residence and Sottovento Restaurant thank you so much for the "charming" review.
We hope to see you again in the hot weather of Antigua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The staff were extremely helpful & friendly with a warm welcome. Rosanna at reception kindly helped me organise a surprise birthday meal for my boyfriend! Thank you for making it so special. I can't recommend the full body massage enough; looking over the beach, listening to the waves. The rooms were comfortable & clean with cable TV, AC & mini kitchen. Very reasonable price. The restaurant attached does excellent Italian food! The area is quite quiet but excellent for relaxing but also a good spot for exploring the island. We moved to an all-inclusive on Dickenson Bay after this but I much preferred Ocean Point & I would definately go back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Katy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena M, Owner at Ocean Point Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hello Katy, thank you so much for your review. We are happy to hear that you and your boyfriend enjoyed the tranquillity of the place.
We hope to see you again for your birthday this time. :))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

helpful staff, great restaurant! wifi not good in all areas, but always worked in the restaurant. many open spaces to relax, nice quiet atmosphere. pool is perfect for lap swimming - very long for a hotel pool.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tourist-from-Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena M, Owner at Ocean Point Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

A warm good morning from Antigua....thank you very much for your review, very much appreciated from all the staff here at Ocean Point Residence.
Hope to see you again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.6 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,885 reviews
2.4 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
8.9 mi away
Starfish Jolly Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#7 of 16 in St. John's
349 reviews
9.3 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
9.7 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Point Resort & Spa

Address: Hodges Bay Main Road, St. John's 12034, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. John's
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £98 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Point Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Point Resort & Spa ALL INCLUSIVE, Mediterranean style, ocean front, is located at Hogde's Bay, within 10 minutes drive from the capital St John's, where you will find lots of shops and duty free area. It has a large outdoor swimming pool, a massage centre right on the beach overlooking the sea and offers free Wi-Fi throughout the property and free parking. The air conditioned rooms are decorated in Mediterranean style, very bright and equipped with a cable TV flat screen 32-inch, private balcony or verandah from which you can enjoy great views and a fridge, kettle and coffee/tea facilities. Our multi-lingual staff will be happy to help you to rent car/scooter or to organize excursions. Laundry service available on site. Ocean Point Resort & Spa is only 3 km from Cedar Valley Golf Course and 7 minutes drive from the international airport V.C. Bird. Room Type: Ocean Front Room with a beautiful ocean view, is equipped with a kettle for tea and coffee, fridge, flat screen TV 32", free wi-fi and free wired internet access, air conditioning, safe, mosquito net and private bathroom with shower and hairdryer. It includes either a double bed or 2 single beds. Room Type: Ocean View room with a partial sea view is equipped with a kettle for tea and coffee, fridge, flat screen TV 32", free wi-fi and free wired internet access, air conditioning, safe, mosquito net and private bathroom with shower and hairdryer. It includes either a double bed or 2 single beds. From the property you can organize different activities and tours to discover the beautiful island of Antigua and its 365 beaches. Also worth a visit, through the rain forest, the historic place where Admiral Horatio Nelson lived with his fleet in 1784 just called Nelson's Dockyard. Within the same National Park, you cannot beat the view from the top of the hill of Shirley Heights. For shopping lovers, duty free shops and markets in the capital St John's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, TravelUp, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Point Resort & Spa Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing