We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Venue”

Touloulou Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 104 Restaurants in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Aberlour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Venue”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Extremely warm welcome, cool knowledgeable staff, fresh innovative foods, terrific views, proffessional service. Dont miss it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    23
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Antigua
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent ”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Summed up in one word.... Fantastic. Fantastic food fantastic service! This is a must try if in Antigua. Keep it up guys!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jammy268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“I LOVE Touloulou”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hidden gem sits aloft a hill with a gorgeous view of Nelson's Dockyard. The level of service, fine dinning, and out-of-this-world Asian Fusion food is beyond words. The ambience is incredible with a breeze and some jazz whispering sweet nothings in your ear.
Mark Martinez the owner personally greets each guest with a basil infused ginger drink that will set the tone for the entire meal. We like it so much we brought all our friends there and ate there 3-4 times. Every single time it was amazing!!!
If you're going to be in Antigua you will want to make your way to Touloulou's. It's on the way to Shirley's Heights and is far better than the bbq that you have to wait in line for up there. Eat at Touloulou's and then go up to Shirley's Heights for a party and you won't regret it. Top 5 Restaurants in the Country!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great atmosphere, great people, even better food”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

If you enjoy good food, if you enjoy the company of nice people and value friendly staff, if you have a fondness for great service and are on the lookout for a really special place then I have some advice to give you: have dinner at the Touloulou. You will not regret it and if there is one place that deserves your money, it has to be this one. Don't miss out.

Value wise, it must have been one of the cheapest (and most beautiful) restaurants we've been to during our two week stay on Antigua, while the quality of the food and the service was anything but cheap: it was hands down the best food we tasted on the island. I'd go as far as to say that it was the best Asian food I've ever had (and I love Asian food). The staff made us feel like film stars. It's hard to describe how lovely this place is, without resorting to superlatives and making it sound like a payed review :)

There are so many good things to say about this place, I really don't know where to start (or end) this review. But I'll end it on a rather personal note to the two owners (Mark & Christophe) and their lovely team:

Thank you so much for making our stay as memorable, relaxing and exciting as it was, for making us feel welcome (like old friends) and for taking such good care of our every need. We'll never forget it and we truly wish you and your team all the best! You guys rock.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ynamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Memorable night amazing service ”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Mark welcomed us into the restaurant personally with a delicious welcome drink. Our table was overlooking Falmouth harbour and had a stunning vista.

Prior to ordering from a lovely menu we were brought complimentary amuse Bouche which was a very kind gesture.

Our food was well presented, tasteful and good portions. After desserts we were given each a complimentary flaming hornet which were individually lit flaming Sambuca, and two other liquors


We also had a sneak peek at the loft suite which was gorgeous for guests wishing to stay here


Lovely to see so much attention to detail, a great host and attentive caring staff. Will definitely be back. Come for a great experience, next time we will come early to catch sundown drinks

Thanks to all
The team for a truly memorable night

Helpful?
Thank markpowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Touloulou Bar and Restaurant also viewed

St. John's, Saint John Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
St. John's, Saint John Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 

Been to Touloulou Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing