We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool concept restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of D-Boat Antigua

D-Boat Antigua
Ranked #13 of 101 Restaurants in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Antigua's #1 daytime experience -- a guaranteed fun day on the ocean aboard D-Boat Water Entertainment Center, a retired oil tanker turned into a water park and party boat for all ages. D-Boat is permanently moored by Maiden Island, just offshore the coast of Antigua.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Cool concept restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

An old tanker turned into a trendy floating restaurant. You take a small launch (free) from outside the Crow’s Nest at Jolly Harbour and buzz along for ten minutes to an old tanker moored outside the harbour. They’ve done a brilliant job at turning this old tanker into a cool restaurant with different levels to sit, eat, chill and drink. My wife had the Caesar slad (very good) and I had an excellent Mexican burger with fries. There’s a hug inflatable slide off the boat into the water so take your swimtrunks. There’s also a giant trampoline floating alongside so you can leap off high into the water. Great fun. Lunch time is nice and quiet and we’ve heard dinner is very lively. Perhaps too lively for our liking. Word of warning: the rocking of the boat will be an issue for those who get seasick. Great restaurant, nonetheless.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rumpleproofskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    14
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Antigua
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Far too busy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Although a great setting, D-Boat didn't offer the great service or food we were expecting. Maybe it was far too busy with it's regulars.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traveller-Pig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D-Boat_Antigua, Manager at D-Boat Antigua, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hi there,

We're so saddened to hear about your experience with us. While some days are busier than others we still do our best to maintain our high standards with respect to food and service.

As a brand new business, we work hard daily to improve our standards and continuously meet and exceed our customers expectations.

Thank you for taking the time to send us a review. We will continue to make all the necessary improvements to make sure your next visit meets or exceeds your expectations.

Take care,
Dboat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We went for happy hour on the 16/5/14, the shuttle boat even picked us up at our villa in jolly harbour.we got to dboat about 5 minutes later, access is easy up some steps on the side of the boat. Once onboard the crew were really friendly and attentive, we were only staying for drinks but the place is so chilled out that we decided to stay for food.
I wish we had found this place at the start of our holiday as we had some of the tastiest food we have had all fortnight,the menu is not extensive but it is good, I had the fishballs to start and thedburger as a main,it was to die for.
There were 10 of us in our party and we all enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Lunch in fabulous setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Took shuttle boat from Jolly Harbour to this converted tanker moored outside the harbour entrance.

Had their signature burgers which were excellent - very quiet at this time of year but definitely worth the trip

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GMR15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“AWFUL waitress”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We had been looking forward to our trip to d'boat based on reviews and recommendations locally. While the food was actually really good and the piña colada was the best I've ever had our waitress was a sour and rude teeny bopper who was far more interested in talking to her friends (other staff) than doing her job. We were her only table and only one of two couples in the whole place but had to go find her twice once, to take our order and lastly to bring our bill. We sat and watched her texting on her phone, joking around with staff, and several times just sitting at the bar completely ignoring our glances for service. She might have been dealing with some personal issues since she had her iPod hooked up to the speakers and was literally blaring sad heartbroken songs on repeat. When we asked her to please turn it down so that we could have a conversation without yelling she acted very perturbed and came back a few minutes later not to check on us but to inform us she was going to turn the music back up. I got the impression that she had absolutely no incentive to do her job even halfway decent since her tip is added on the bill regardless. It must be nice to live in paradise, hang out with your friends at work, blare your sad songs, and still get paid.

Helpful?
3 Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed D-Boat Antigua also viewed

Saint George, Saint George Parish
Saint Mary's, Antigua
 
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 

Been to D-Boat Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing