We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SECOND VISIT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Our stay last year with Gabie and Douglas at Yepton convinced us that Antigua was the island for us. We came this time to live on Antigua but we needed a place for a week that we knew would be comfortable, familiar, and where Gabie and Douglas could help us get established. As we have become accustomed to, Gabie was welcoming and accommodating with the reservations and with setting up a car rental to meet us at the airport. The one bedroom cottage served as a great launch pad and comfortable home base. Committed vegans, we love being able to shop at Epicurean and cook most meals in our own unit's kitchen. It's great to watch the cruise ships come and go from our front deck. Anyone traveling to Antigua should experience the beautiful Yepton cottages and its wonderful hosts, Gabriela and Douglas.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cnclewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

My husband and I just spent our honeymoon at Yepton Estates. It was beyond our expectations! Gabriela and Douglas are so friendly, and they made sure that we felt welcome and had everything we needed. We rented a car for the week (through Gabriela), which was essential for us - we were able to come and go as we pleased and not have much of a schedule, which was very relaxing. Gabriela made our dinner and excursion reservations without hesitation. Douglas helped us find beautiful beaches to explore, all within an hour's drive, all of which were practically deserted when we were there. It was like we had the island to ourselves! We were in cottage #1, which has the best view, if you ask me, right in front of the lake. Every morning we sat on the porch, drank our coffee, and watched the birds on the lake and in the trees. The hammock was wonderful as well! Basically, all of the reviews are spot-on. If you're tired of crowded all-inclusive resorts and want some quiet relaxation time, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Cottage #1 has the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huffmeister06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at Yepton Cottages for our Honeymoon back in November. Gabriela and Douglas were so friendly and welcoming and gave us loads of great tips about the local area. The shopping trip to the local supermarket with Gabriela when we arrived meant that we got our bearings pretty quickly and from the second morning onwards we hired a car and felt confident driving around the island finding all the amazing beaches (Half-Moon Bay is incredible).
If you are a light sleeper I recommend taking ear plugs for the first night as the frogs are so loud, but you quickly get used to it and I actually missed the sound when I got home!
Yepton was the perfect base to explore Antigua and if you want to get away from the all-inclusive, more touristy hotels then this is perfect for you. The cottage we had was right on the water and we were up really early every morning to watch the sunrise, listen to the birds (the hummingbirds were beautiful) and to go for a morning swim in the sea on the beach next door.
We thoroughly recommend Yepton Cottages for a relaxing, peaceful holiday and thanks so much to Gabriela and Douglas for being so welcoming and helpful and for making our stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My wife and I have just returned home from 11 nights at Yepton. We can wholeheartedly endorse all the complimentary remarks made by previous reviewers about our hosts Gabriela and Douglas, a warm hearted and generous couple who are the essential component of this home away from home. After several all-inclusive experiences in the Caribbean, Thailand and the Indian Ocean we wanted to do something different, and having a well-equipped cottage as our base was the perfect solution. Ours was number 1, right by a beautiful salt water lake immediately beyond which we could hear the Caribbean Sea. Cottages have free wifi, great aircon and fans, a well equipped kitchen and comfortable living area with tv and hifi. And then the porch! There can be very few things better than waking up to the sunrise and sipping a cup of coffee watching pelicans dive bombing the water directly in front of us for their breakfast. Or the surreal vision of mega cruise liners silently passing above the line of the trees as they head in and out of St John's. Or just lying in our hammock reading. The lake is home to a wide range of bird life and is a peaceful oasis away from the tourist resorts. So here are a few suggestions that you may or may not find useful: 1. Take a taxi from the airport directly to Yepton (fixed fare US$20. Takes no more than 30 minutes or so). 2. Listen to Douglas's suggestions for activities; he has an encyclopaedic knowledge of Antigua supported by a huge affection for the island. 3. Go to the supermarket (Epicurean, main branch, the smaller branch has much less choice) with Gabriela on your first day and then buy fresh produce and fish in the market; Epicurean is a large hangar of a place, combining US with English staples, as well as local products of course. For Brits they even sell Waitrose Essentials! Prices are perhaps slightly above UK prices but not too hefty, bearing in mind so much is imported. 3. Use the local taxi services of "Captain" Spencer, Yepton's recommended taxi driver, who will adapt to your schedule, and who offers his own encyclopaedic take on the island. Polish up on your history of Nelson and local fauna and flora though, as he is bound to ask you some general knowledge questions....By way of general guidance, a round trip to town will cost US$40, $60 to $80 further afield, say to Sheer Rocks, and $100 to the furthest points such as English Harbour and Nelson's Dockyard. Some Yepton residents hire a car instead, which is a perfectly viable alternative of course. We preferred not to as we opted to spend some of our days on the local beach just 5 minutes stroll away. 4. Use the professional looking gas BBQ on your porch; we (or rather my wife...) made some terrific grilled fish and meat dinners. 5. There are some wonderful local restaurants to try for lunches and dinners, and at different budgets. At the upper end we celebrated our wedding anniversary at Sheer Rocks, surely one of the most romantic spots on the island, and a glorious lunch at Catherine's Cafe Plage, offering an upmarket French take on Caribbean cuisine to the super-yacht fraternity and their entourage (and my wife and I), run by a charming French couple. At the more modest end but with an emphasis on locally sourced, imaginative food try Papa Zouk and Table d'Hote. Gabriela is happy to make your bookings for you, as well as to give you recommendations. Staying at Yepton gives you as much privacy as you want, a perfect base from which to explore the island (I went on a one-day snorkelling trip with a local company), run by kind, knowledgable hosts for whom nothing is too much trouble. And that can't be said for the all-inclusive holidays we've been on, so perhaps the Yepton experience will signal the start of a different approach for us.

Room Tip: We loved our large one-bed cottage 1, right by the lake. Spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tgpgunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from Antigua, after staying at Yepton Estates for two weeks. We loved it !!

We are not into the resort way of travelling, so if you don't mind preparing your own meals and some serious peace and quiet this place is for you.

There were lots of wonderful features to Yepton Estates, my fave of course Gabby and Douglas. They have wonderful personalities and are so fun to be around. The grounds and cottages are very well maintained. The cottage was equipped with everything we needed and the king size bed was super comfy!!

All in all it was a wonderful trip and we have only been home three days and want to go back !!!

xo

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris13y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

if its "all inclusive" normal type of place you want this wont be for you , this is something quite different and so so much better , Gabbi and Douglas are fantastic, there is nothing that is too much trouble for them ,a lift to the supermarket on arrival ,a restaurant booking even the best time to be there for a stunning sunset , a taxi that is so reliable and above all a setting that is devine , i sat for an hour just watching the pelicans going about their buisness on the lake ,i would like to echo all that has been said on here .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin197580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

From the moment we met Gaby and Doug, we felt at home. Their hospitality was outstanding. We have travelled and stayed in some of the best places but nothing can measure up to the overall experience we had at Yepton Estate Cottages. The cottages are immaculate and tastefully decorated with a real cottage-like feel. If you like cooking, every utensil or appliance is at your finger tips. Us being Canadian, loved having the barbecue. The spacious verandah is where we spent most our time when we weren't out and about the island. Most importantly Gaby and Doug are a fantastic team who run an outstanding business. Their dedication to ensuring their guests are well looked after is above and beyond. They have the ability to make you feel like you are their favourite. We realize this is how they treat all of their guests. We hope to return next year, after all how will we find a place any better. If you like be treated well, get outstanding service, enjoy peace and quiet, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom cottages closest to the water would be best Studio cottage was compact and also good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
4.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,944 reviews
10.4 mi away
Antigua Yacht Club Marina Resort
2.7 mi away
Buccaneer Beach Club
Buccaneer Beach Club
#1 of 22 in St. John's
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 16 in St. John's
450 reviews
2.8 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#5 of 16 in St. John's
385 reviews
3.2 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages

Address: Yepton Estates | Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Speciality Lodging in St. John's
Price Range: £140 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yepton Estate Cottages is an award-winning private property on a bird sanctuary that hosts the rare West Indian Whistling Duck and other birds from many continents. Yepton Beach is within a 6-minute walk. All cottages have king beds, fully equipped kitchenettes, Cable TV, DVD player with free movies, electronic safe, FREE WIFI and much more. The cottages are ideal for the all-inclusive-weary and nature lovers who like to explore the island and all her wonderful beaches and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigua`s Yepton Estate Cottages Hotel St. John`s
Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing