We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely vacation place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely vacation place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed in Yepton Estate Cottages for the long weekend of 4 of July. It was PERFECT!

Gabbi and Douglas welcomed us with such worm greetings, a drink to make it a really soft landing, information and a tour to a great supermarket to get supply.

We had our own home in nature, small lake, lots of birds and plenty of space and privacy. Much more better than a room in hotel.

The cottage itself was very clean and refreshed and designed to the low level detail with every thing you need to feel at home: information about the island, dining area, big balcony, BBQ and more.. but most impressive of all was the fully equipment kitchen. We loved it!!

Words of wisdom: long weekend is great but a full week is better. (:

Enjoy your vac

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOHO20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
288
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Me, my husband, his brother and GF just returned from an AMAZING vacation in Antigua! It was truly a fantastic experience, made even more special by Gabriela and Douglas. They both are extremely gracious and hospitable hosts!

First the grounds: the cottages overlook a beautiful pond, and they're extremely specious and arranged for complete privacy! Each of them has a beautiful hammock.

The Amenities:
The kitchen is stocked with anything you may need- including coolers for the beach, beach chairs, and beach towels. We ended up cooking/eating in most nights, and we never lacked any utensils. There are grills in each cottage, which made grilling fish from the local fish market quite easy!

The food:
We visited during a low season for Antigua which was awesome for us, as most of the beaches were all ours -well, they belonged to us and the locals :). Gabriela took us on a trip to the local grocery store and showed us all we needed for our 7-day vacation, including local delicacies!
Douglas then spent over 2 hours with us, telling us all about the local attractions, the beaches to visit, the best snorkeling places etc. I still have the map where he highlighted everything for us.
Don't miss out on the three best restaurants on the island: Sheer Rock (uber romantic!), Papa Zouck's (sp?) best fish I've had in a while; and Daniel's for local food. They were all highlighted for us in detail by Douglas and Gabriela.

I could honestly go on and on about Yepton Estates, it is truly a fantastic place to be while in Antigua, made even more so by Gabriela and Douglas' hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blerina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royse City, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

My wife and I came to Antigua for our honeymoon. We spent the first half of our stay at the Grand Pineapple all-inclusive and the second half at Yepton Estages Cottages. While that was a good combination and added variety, we both agreed that when we return to Antigua, we’ll make Yepton Estates Cottages our home base for the entire trip. Not that there was anything at all wrong with the other place, we just enjoyed our stay at Yepton Estates that much more.

Gabriela took us to the grocery store and Doug gave us a lot of information about the island, which was very helpful and we very much appreciated. I won’t go into detail about that because it’s covered in so many other reviews. Suffice to say that Gabriela and Doug are wonderful hosts, always very willing to help, but also giving us plenty of solitude and privacy.

The stayed in a cabin that is very near the lagoon. I am an earlier riser than my wife and it was so relaxing to sit out on the front porch and drink my morning coffee and watch the wildlife around the lagoon. I’m an amateur photographer and took a lot of pictures of shore birds, ducks, pelicans, warblers, hummingbirds, mongooses and lizards. The bull finches and lizards will come right to the outdoor table and enjoy some of your breakfast with you if you’re willing to share. The local mongoose was particularly fond of banana nut bread!

The cabin itself was very comfortable, clean and spacious with all the right amenities. We didn’t spend a huge amount of time inside, but it had everything we needed, including a full kitchen and an outdoor propane grill. Also, remember that you are close to St. John’s. And therefore close to everything you could want in the way of restaurants, services, shopping and, of course, groceries and supplies. So there is really nothing lacking at Yepton Estates. Come and enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank txdlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

If you are seeking more from Antigua than an all-inclusive package resort then this is the place to stay. We have stayed in so many places around the world but never met hosts as enthusiastic and helpful as Gabriela and Douglas and nothing seems to be too much trouble for them. They will personally make sure that you get what you want out of the trip by advising and helping you with everything such as restaurants and when and where to go to get the best out of each attraction or site. When we first arrived Gabriela took as to the big supermarket in town and explained how to drive around St John's. Douglas then gave us really detailed and useful information on driving around the island. We were then provided with a mobile phone free of charge so that we can call them up if we have any questions or problems.
Douglas is extremely knowledgeable about the fascinating history of the island and in particular is the expert on Antigua's former railway system.
As a further bonus, Yepton Estate itself is a beautiful place to stay and we enjoyed just sitting on the porch watching various birds in the morning while eating breakfast and just generally relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We went here for our 25th wedding anniversary and so glad we did. We really enjoyed our stay at Yepton Estates. Gabi and Doug are the best; they have lived on the island for years and are knowledgeable concerning the island's beaches, restaurants and places of interest. Gabi took us to the supermarket on our first day in Antigua and pointed out many of St. John's key areas. That made it much easier when we got our rental car to know our way around town. Doug also spent a good hour with us going over the island map and suggesting places of interest and how to get around.

The cottages are like being at home on the island with only a short walk to a beautiful beach.

Room Tip: This is a great place if you are looking for a quiet place to call home that avoids the crowds of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Our stay last year with Gabie and Douglas at Yepton convinced us that Antigua was the island for us. We came this time to live on Antigua but we needed a place for a week that we knew would be comfortable, familiar, and where Gabie and Douglas could help us get established. As we have become accustomed to, Gabie was welcoming and accommodating with the reservations and with setting up a car rental to meet us at the airport. The one bedroom cottage served as a great launch pad and comfortable home base. Committed vegans, we love being able to shop at Epicurean and cook most meals in our own unit's kitchen. It's great to watch the cruise ships come and go from our front deck. Anyone traveling to Antigua should experience the beautiful Yepton cottages and its wonderful hosts, Gabriela and Douglas.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cnclewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

My husband and I just spent our honeymoon at Yepton Estates. It was beyond our expectations! Gabriela and Douglas are so friendly, and they made sure that we felt welcome and had everything we needed. We rented a car for the week (through Gabriela), which was essential for us - we were able to come and go as we pleased and not have much of a schedule, which was very relaxing. Gabriela made our dinner and excursion reservations without hesitation. Douglas helped us find beautiful beaches to explore, all within an hour's drive, all of which were practically deserted when we were there. It was like we had the island to ourselves! We were in cottage #1, which has the best view, if you ask me, right in front of the lake. Every morning we sat on the porch, drank our coffee, and watched the birds on the lake and in the trees. The hammock was wonderful as well! Basically, all of the reviews are spot-on. If you're tired of crowded all-inclusive resorts and want some quiet relaxation time, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Cottage #1 has the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huffmeister06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
4.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#3 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
0.0 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#2 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,187 reviews
5.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#2 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
#10 of 16 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages

Property: Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages
Address: Yepton Estates, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Speciality Lodging in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yepton Estate Cottages is an award-winning private property on a bird sanctuary that hosts the rare West Indian Whistling Duck and other birds from many continents. Yepton Beach is within a 6-minute walk. All cottages have king beds, fully equipped kitchenettes, Cable TV, DVD player with free movies, electronic safe, FREE WIFI and much more. The cottages are ideal for the all-inclusive-weary and nature lovers who like to explore the island and all her wonderful beaches and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigua`s Yepton Estate Cottages Hotel St. John`s
Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing