We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great authentic Caribbean restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grace Before Meals

Grace Before Meals
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Block Island, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great authentic Caribbean restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

If you want the "real deal" this is the place for you. Friendly, funky atmosphere with true Caribbean food. The roti was great, both the chicken and pork served by a genuine smiling Antiguian. You may eat in or take out. The are open for breakfast and lunch. Too bad, it would be a great spot for dinner.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    16
    5
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
200 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“A quick, cheap and filling lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We got the stewed fish and the stewed pork; both were enormous portions, with beans and rice, mac and cheese, salad and mixed vegetables. We washed it all down with Solo Mango soda from Trinidad. It was quite filling and tasty for US$20.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thompso2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little gem of a place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I had read reviews about Grace before Meals and was looking forward to experiencing the traditional Caribbean cuisine. I wasn't disappointed with the baked chicken with rice, the pasta salad was divine. Service was fantastic and excellent value for money, I am really pleased that I took the time to visit and will definitely return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cheap local eats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Nice nutritious food at very affordable prices. A favorite with locals and yachties alike, especially for lunch.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dkrmd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Nebraska
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

My wife and I had lunch here and found the service and food exemplary for this island. As others have said before, wonderful local cuisine. The place is not fancy, but they make up for it with excellent service, great prices and tasty home cooking.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grace Before Meals also viewed

English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 
Falmouth, Saint Paul Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 

Been to Grace Before Meals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing