We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic start to Caribbean holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at English Harbour
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Idyllic start to Caribbean holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We arrived on the 10 th of May and stayed for 7 nights. The upstairs suite room was spacious and had everything we needed. The view out to sea was perfect from the large balcony/deck.
Breakfast was taken at the Reef beach bar and was good but could have had a better selection of fruit/fresh juices.( very erratic, some days mangos on display, bananas etc some days just melon. One of the waiters brought us some mangos from his home)
Lunch was at the same place and was,again,good but menu could have changed a bit daily to vary things.
The bed was quite small compared to what we are used to in 5 star accommodation.

The above are the reasons for the 4 star not 5

None of the above were deal breakers and none of these minor gripes would stop us from revisiting this wonderful resort.

The situation is perfect (5 min taxi/ferry to English Harbour) the beach/sea are fabulous, the staff were so friendly and attentive and the Terrace restaurant was perfect for a romantic,quality,meal for those nights when you didn't want to go out.

All in all a fabulous experience, we would definitely recommend this Hotel.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank challenger317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    65
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
42
262
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just had a fantastic 8 days at The Inn. We have stayed in many resorts around the world and The Inn is right up there with the best. Stunning location and beach. Wonderfully friendly staff - special thanks to Neil, Sherilyn, Josephine, Sheena, Vere and their colleagues for making it a special stay. This place is a real jewel and we will definitely be back one day!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emyr55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

This is our first TripAdvisor review, but seeing as how TripAdvisor tipped us off to this hotel, we'd feel remiss if we didn't tell about our stay. We celebrated the second week of our honeymoon at The Inn during the first week of April, having come from a larger, 5*, name brand hotel on another nearby island. Upon arrival, we quickly realized that The Inn had everything we were hoping for--an amazing staff, phenomenal food, outstanding drinks, and genuine, warm hospitality. We stayed in a beautifully decorated upstairs room which was known as the 'Price Albert suite.' The room was enormous and had dark hardwood floors and a wrap around porch which we used each morning for our coffee. Being an adults only hotel, it felt like our own little slice of paradise; there was hardly any noise, people on the beach, or any annoyances. When I think of paradise, The Inn is what I imagine.

A special thank you to Fabio and Christian, all the upstairs restaurant staff, and everyone working on the beach. You made our honeymoon truly unforgettable, and we cannot wait to visit again (hopefully for our first anniversary)!

Brian and Lindsay
Los Angeles, Calif.

Room Tip: It's a small hotel, and you can't go wrong with any of the buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHarbour, General Manager at The Inn at English Harbour, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Brian and Lindsay,
Thank you for your kind compliments. A honeymoon is a very important vacation in everyone’s life, with great expectations and excitement. We are very happy to learn that you had a great time with us and I am sure memories of this trip will stay with you forever. Your room was a special one as it is used by the Prince and Princess of Monaco when staying with us, hopefully you felt a bit likes a royalty while sipping your tea from the large terrace.
Thank you again from all of us.

Fabio Giorgi
General Manager
The Inn at English Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mougins, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Simply stunning !
The rooms are perfect, the setting perfect and the staff amazing.
If you want to get away and relax as I did, this us the place to do it.
I will definitely be going back next time I visit Antigua !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mathewandmilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco/Orange County
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

Loved the location close to Nelson's Dockyard and Shirley Heights. Would definitely recommend to others.

Positives:
-Water taxi will take you to Nelson's Harbour for lunch
-Spacious and comfortable rooms with outside daybeds
-Plenty of sun loungers next to the pool and at beach
-A la carte breakfast menu in addition to
-Excellent views of the harbor from the Terrace restaurant
-Great bay for swimming/kayaking/relaxing
-Small hotel so very intimate feeling and private beach
-beautiful setting and well maintained grounds

Negatives:
-Staff was inconsistent. A couple real gems and a few that seemed to resent working.
-loved watching the sailboats going in and out of the harbor.

Advice:
Ask for Oris for taxi services. He was awesome.


  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGal415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

I visited this wonderful hotel, very close to Nelson's dockyard.

It was a first class experience, the rooms were lovely and immaculately
clean, the restaurant in the main building had amazing panoramic views
over the sea.

The breakfast and lunch restaurant is on the beach with
the water lapping up in front of you, the food, service and staff were
excellent.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrederickCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BATH
Level Contributor
108 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

We came back a little later (mid April) than our stay last year in March. The staff are still very good indeed and the setting can be reasonably described as superb. Our beach cabana room was just as nice as the previous visit although more convenient for the breakfast and lunch restaurant. The boatman will still ferry you quickly around into the historic dockyard or to lunch at Catherine's French Restuarant. The beach is long, clean and great for swimming or paddling. Last year the evening meals in the main dining room were a gourmet delight but something has changed because the food is still very good but not quite up to the mark we expected. What has happened to the wonderful Swiss chef we met last year? He was not at the managers drinks party this year and could his absence have something to do with the fall in standard of cuisine? The internet access needs some work too (and the team know this). Access is not great except at reception but this is a minor quibble. So maybe the kitchen staff are tired at the end of high season but this apart it remains one of our favourite hotels in the world.

Room Tip: If you like to step out onto the beach go for the beach cabana rooms but book early they are the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Typhoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near English Harbour
12.4 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
1.8 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Carlisle Bay Antigua
#3 of 7 in Saint Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
11.8 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,217 reviews
10.2 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at English Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at English Harbour

Property: The Inn at English Harbour
Address: Freeman's Bay, English Harbour, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > English Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Inn at English Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a postcard-lovely bay on the island of Antigua, this split-level resort features a hilltop building overlooking English Harbour and the picturesque waters of the Caribbean Sea. The Hotel has its own white sandy beach, with a small but lovely private dock. Clear emerald blue waters are encompassed by the magnificently lush green landscape of the surrounding hills. This semi-enclosure induces a feeling of privacy and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, West Indies, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at English Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At English Harbour Hotel English Harbour
Hotel At English Harbour
At English Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing