We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome at The Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at English Harbour
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed the week before Christmas and were fortunate to stay in one of the exceptionally large first floor deluxe suites, approx 650 sq ft, my mother-in-law travelled with us and the hotel were very accommodating in conveniently locating her adjacent to us in a wonderful junior suite. The colonial balconies are terrific and provide great vistas over the gardens towards the pool and sea. The suites are well equipped and beautifully furnished.
We enjoyed the intimacy of the terrace restaurant, which served fine Italian cuisine in what must be one of the islands most romantic settings overlooking the serene English Harbour. Each evening was special and further enhanced by the outstanding maitre d' Wesley and his legendary barman Neil, who both made us all feel like celebrities. We must say all the staff were extremely attentive.
The pool and beach area was never crowded, even though the hotel was at full occupancy. The sea was very safe for swimming and has it's three resident turtles.
For cultural visitors and historians, The Inn is well placed for visits to the famous Nelsons Dockyard and Shirley Heights.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank stephenoakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

December 14th, 2012 was just over one very full and quite stressful year since my wife and I got married, it was only then that we could finally take our honeymoon, and we both very much looked forward to 8 days of all inclusive sun, beach, and total relaxation. Our expectations were very high but from the minute we arrived to the day we left these were met with an even higher level of service and professionalism, relaxation was a requirement, and effort was limited to choosing what to eat among all the great choices on the menu. In a nutshell, The Inn at the English Harbour was a superb choice.

Let me provide a little more detail on our experience with this hotel.

The room type we decided to go for was a junior suite which was spacious with a king size bed, breakfast table and a lot of storage for your clothes. The bathroom was also quite spacious, with his and her sinks, cupboards, and a WC. While we were there we had the opportunity to also see the deluxe suite and beach cabana. The deluxe suite is huge, with a four poster bed and sitting area, and double terrace. The beach cabanas were smaller than the junior suite but offered a terrace right on the beach. I don’t think we needed anything as big as the deluxe as you spend most of your time on the beach, but I would definitely consider the beach cabana if I was looking for a more economical option.

The Reef Restaurant and bar is situated right on the beach and offers great views whilst you eat, there was also a cocktail evening where you could mingle with the other guests, and a Caribbean BBQ night providing an all you can eat buffet of Caribbean style cooking. Breakfast consists of a fully stocked continental buffet or à la carte for anything you may want cooked. We were also very happy with the lunch menu which offered something for all tastes. The food was always freshly cooked, and the options were quite varied, with a lot of seafood and sandwiches.

The Terrace Restaurant, located at the top of the hill near the entrance of the grounds of the hotel, provided great views over the grounds and harbour. Dinner is served from 7pm and we dined al fresco every night with a menu which changed daily, there was also an Italian themed evening one night providing a five course meal, paired with a great selection of Italian wines. The food was very tasty, and very well presented.

Tip: If you are looking to stay at the hotel for a total relaxation week, we recommend you pay a little extra for the all inclusive package. This is what we did and allowed us to not think about that afternoon cocktail brought to you on the beach whilst you soak in the sun.

The hotel grounds also include two extremely well kept grass tennis courts (take your tennis shoes); A treatment room, where we had a really amazing aroma therapy massage; and a very impressive organic garden which provides the herbs and vegetables for your meals. There are 19 acres of very well kept garden, which gives one a great sense of space and luxury.

The hotel provides a wide variety of complimentary services and amenities such as your very own boat taking you from the hotel’s private jetty to Nelson’s Dockyard (go here on Friday evening for the seafood BBQ, very local and very good). The other items we made use of were the Kayaks, paddle boards, and snorkelling equipment.

All in all the experience we had at the Inn at the English Harbour was amazing. The grounds staff, bar tenders and restaurant hosts all got to know you, your name and your story, making you feel right at home from your arrival to departure. We thank everyone there for making our honeymoon so special, and we very much look forward to going back.

Room Tip: Deluxe Suite: If you're looking for sprawling space, and a double terrace, choose this one. Jun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Barkhuizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We have just returned from a week at The Inn, over New Year and had a fantastic time staying in one of the four beach cabanas....and they really are right on the beach giving the holiday a special feel.

The rooms are very nice and comfortable with walk in shower - our shower overlooked the beach.
Air con a little noisy so we used the ceiling fan, but temperature was fine in evenings.

Christina, guest services manager was superb and very responsive to helping us, especially as my girlfriend is a veggie - she organised a fantastic NY eve menu with the chef for her for which we were grateful, as did Sheralyn who stands out as a waitress in the main restaurant for dinner - we enjoyed her company and excellent service. Staff in general are very good and the likes of Tussy and the girls in the reef restaurant are also very nice.

The shuttle boat to the English harbour is handy and Vere who operates it is a very laid back and pleasant chap. We felt that this location in its own little bay with privacy but so close to the English harbour made it the perfect address for us!

The beach scene is superb, loungers nicely spaced although we were sat right outside our cabana, which leans me towards recommending this form of accommodation for ease. Free water and fruit kebabs were a nice touch during the day too.

Couple of minor points, bit annoying that there is an ironing charge as the hotel doesn't provide an iron for you and we felt that there could have been a wider selection of veggie options for dinner, although lunch options are better for veggies.

The above would not and does not stop us from recommending the Inn as a superb choice, which is very personal and very relaxing as a resort which carried a very mixed age of clientele over the Xmas period.

The Inn seems to get booked up with lots of repeat business so act quickly if you want to find room at the Inn!

Room Tip: Beach cabanas are perfect for couples. Other suites looked lovely but are set back slightly more fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tremmers28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This was our second time spending the week after Christmas and New Years in Antigua. The second review perhaps more significant from the first as you have proper context for the property being reviewed. Returning back to the Inn at English Harbor felt like homecoming. One sign of a wonderful place to stay is whether it’s a wonderful place to work and judging by the familiar faces of the staff from two years ago, it certainly is. Being welcomed by Sherma the first time was terrific, but this time we literally ran towards her for hugs. Ditto for Westley, Neil and so many of the other staff members.

The property itself is still glorious with spectacular views of English Harbor fringed by lovely tropical flowers and painstakingly manicured grounds. The room was still lovely with comfortable beds, spacious closets and double sink bathrooms giving you plenty of elbow room. We had an enormous balcony with chairs perfect for that early morning coffee shared while watching the island waking from its slumber. The beachside restaurant offers casual dining at breakfast and lunch with interesting menus for both meals and dinner is served at the formal restaurant perched at the top of the cliff.

The food and beverage was great the first time and this time it was even better. Cocktails and skewers of fresh fruit delivered to your hammock on the beach or to loungers surrounding the swimming pool, bottles of water in ice buckets to cool you off while lazing in the sun and so much more. New Year’s Eve was also terrific. The band could not have been more fun, the menu was inventive and delicious and the hats, noisemakers and festive décor were outshined only by the firework display over the bay at midnight.

The Inn is a special place because it is intimate. You can choose to remain anonymous on a romantic getaway or get to know other guests. In our case, we had already returned with friends we had met during our previous visit. This time we left the Inn having made several other friends. Despite the fact that we live in different countries, all of us are planning on visiting each other. Moreover, we have already decided to return to Antigua together again. This is the magic of the Inn at English Harbor. It is a place where one can expect a wonderful holiday and leave having experienced something extraordinary. If you are looking for a place to really unwind, or a place where the staff go over and above to make your stay special look no further.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful. Like most islands there are mosquitos here. Be prepared!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank scooby19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

A fantastic holiday, totally relaxed and a huge thank you to the Inn team. 10 days over Xmas, we couldn't have asked for a more thoughtful and attentive hotel personnel. Simply faultless. First class food, brilliant accommodation. Thank you and we will no doubt return.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank Jonell654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just back from a fantastic holiday at this hotel. It is outstanding in every possible way. There are only 28 rooms so it never feels crowded. The food is amazing. All the staff are polite and courteous. Special thanks to Wesley who made us feel welcome every evening in the restaurant. Tussy makes a mean Old Fashioned Rum Punch in the Reef Bar. Sheena was attentive and nothing was too much trouble, even getting room service food delivered to the bar following a late night for us at Shirley Heights. Overseeing everything from a distance is Fabio, the General Manager, who we had the pleasure of meeting at the BBQ night.

We stayed in room 11, a deluxe suite. The room was huge with a gorgeous 4 poster bed. We looked out over the gardens and walked to the beach in a few minutes. It really was idyllic.

The hotel is very quiet and secluded. It's the ideal place to totally chill out and relax which is what we wanted. If you want to venture into the nearby town make sure you visit the Mad Mongoose. They have a brilliant band playing on a Tuesday night.

There is nothing negative I can say about this hotel. It was perfect in every way. We will be going back next year and I'm already counting down the days!

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb. If you feel like splashing out, go for a deluxe suite. It's well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Returned today from Antigua and The Inn and couldn't wait to leave a glowing review of this fabulous hotel! The staff are so friendly and efficient and seem genuinely delighted when you say you're having a lovely time. Wesley is a very attentive, friendly host and goes out of his way to make your stay as relaxing and fun as possible, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are very comfortable and have lovely views. Breakfast is served overlooking the sea and dinner is on the terrace overlooking the beautiful resort. You can take a little boat into English Harbour for lunch if you feel the urge to leave, which we didn't really! The position of the hotel is wonderful, the beach feels really safe, you could go for a swim in the sea and leave your stuff on the beach. We hired a car for the day but none of the other hotels we saw had the whole Inn package, can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Relax, they all seem to have wonderful views as far as I could see!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fatduckjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near English Harbour
12.4 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,900 reviews
0.4 mi away
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites
#3 of 4 in English Harbour
238 reviews
6.1 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
482 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,037 reviews
4.8 mi away
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Carlisle Bay Antigua
#3 of 7 in Saint Mary's
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at English Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at English Harbour

Address: Freeman's Bay, English Harbour, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > English Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Price Range: £373 - £714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Inn at English Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a postcard-lovely bay on the island of Antigua, this split-level resort features a hilltop building overlooking English Harbour and the picturesque waters of the Caribbean Sea. The Hotel has its own white sandy beach, with a small but lovely private dock. Clear emerald blue waters are encompassed by the magnificently lush green landscape of the surrounding hills. This semi-enclosure induces a feeling of privacy and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Inn at English Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At English Harbour Hotel English Harbour
Hotel At English Harbour
At English Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing