We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at English Harbour
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Stunning Setting”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Set overlooking a beautiful bay The Inn At English Harbour is a lovely hotel.If you are looking for somewhere to get away and find peace and tranquility then this is it. We spent a lovely 8 nights here in May.
With only 27 rooms there is always plenty of space on the beach, around the pool and in the restaurant. The hotel is split into 2 levels. Reception, main restaurant and a bar are at the top,of the hill, with the rooms, pool and beachside restaurant down below. A shuttle transports you up and down the hill, sounds a hassle but it really wasn't as you just ring for the shuttle and it's there before you know it. Breakfast and lunch are taken down down at the beach restaurant and evening meals up top. We had many lazy lunches with a bottle of Rose watching the yachts come and go in the bay.The views at night on the terrace of the restaurant are spectacular. Our only gripe was that they didn't open the beach restaurant at night for dinner, other than one night for a barbecue. Seems a shame to be have a restaurant by the sea and not open it at night.
The staff are fantastic, Wesley, Neil, Sherilynn, Tamara,Ocean to name a few,but all are terrific.
If you want a change of scene you can always hop on the hotel water taxi to English Harbour, about 10 mins away. Lots of bars and restaurants as well as the historic dockyards. Vere who skippers it is a real gent and will point out various sites on route.
One issue that needs addressing is the pool, tiles looking very dirty and needs some urgent attention, not appealing for swimming.
Oh yes and the rooms are great, very colonial looking, very spacious with lovely big bathrooms. Michelle who is in charge of house keeping is lovely and has a great team who keep your room spotless.
Hope to be back soon.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank SurreyWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHarbour, General Manager at The Inn at English Harbour, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind sentiments and thank you for making The Inn at English Harbour your choice for vacationing while in the Caribbean.

We appreciate your comments and value your opinion, thus you will be happy to know that next season, which starts November 1st 2014 we will be having extended opening hours on some days in the week at the Reef Restaurant.

We do recognize that our guests love the casual and low key dining daily at The Reef and they would wish to enjoy this experience into the evening, hence the decision to extend the hours. So our valued guests can look forward to longer more relaxed dining at our Reef Restaurant

With regards to the Pool area, we do plan on starting major work in and around the pool area once we close at the end of August this year. Our guests and their views are very important to us and our single aim is for them to have the best possible experience when visiting the Inn.

We do hope that you will have a chance to join us again next year we are confident that you will be satisfied with all the improvements.

Kind regards

Fabio Giorgi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    72
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
44
274
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

If you are looking for a resort who understands the concept of "understated elegance", The Inn at English Harbour will not disappoint! We had a perfect vacation at this truely lovely Inn. We were so well taken care of from the very beginning. The General Manager, Fabio, takes great pride in his Inn and this is evident as soon as you step on the premises. The setting is stunning. The beach is comfortable and beautiful with great service. Breakfast is leisurely and a perfect way to start your day. Dinner in the Terrace restaurant is very special. Kudos to Wesley and Sharilynn for making us feel so cared for.

The Inn is quiet and very low key. If you crave this sort of environment, this is your place!

Martha and Bill Spiegel

Room Tip: We stayed in room 23 - upper level - junior suite. Just perfect.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Sunsisters33871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Marvelous!! The Perfect description for this place. I never stayed in such an exceptional hotel. I stayed here with my girlfriend and we fell in love with the Inn... came back twice... so far!! It's as a fantastic atmosphere with breath taking panoramas. Seeing the sunset while having a drink at their restaurant was one of the best experiences we had on the island. And the Bedrooms are gigantic, comfortable and have great views on the beach, the service was attentive and we were perfectly taken care of... I recommended this place to a lot of people and my friends that have stayed also loved it... so if you are thinking about coming here absolutely DO!!! By far the BEST Hotel on the island!!

Room Tip: i Would recommend room 23
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Stefano R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We loved this hotel, we have stayed in several Caribbean properties of varying standards and I would recommend this hotel to people who have previously stayed at Coral Reef , Barbados and enjoyed the experience.
The hotel and its staff are fantastic. The only negatives I would like to point out are;
1/ The shower area is very dark and the shower itself not very powerful, if they could change the tiling to a light stone and with glass door/wall it would be so much better.
2/ The breakfast area could be improved. Perhaps extend out and make a bar/deck area . If this was modernised I think more people would drink there and I'm sure more people would go for a Sundowner Cocktail or two!
We loved the restaurant food at night and the service was excellent, Wesley the Maitre De and Neil the Bar Manager run a great place & all the other staff were great too.
We had a junior suite which was a massive bedroom with a big balcony and as I said just the shower room disappointing.
The pool and beach are fabulous and the hotel grounds are stunningly beautiful. We did not use the spa so cannot comment. The tennis facilities looked impressive.
We would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: There are a lot of restaurants to visit and we booked taxis with the hotel. Our favourite being Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed for a week following three nights elsewhere on the island. The Inn is an excellent hotel, with just the right level of service. It has a colonial feel and it made a real difference not having children there. Our junior suite was huge, and incorporated one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in (and a four poster at that).

The breakfast selection was excellent and it made such a change to be able to order food such as eggs benedict and not have to pay extra for it as you do is so many hotels these days.

I had read earlier reviews on the restaurant so had some concerns; however, although the atmosphere on occasions was a little flat, the food was lovely. I don't understand those who complained about getting the courtesy shuttle up to the restaurant - it's no different to going out to eat at home - you take the car!! The management could look at the allocation of restaurant seating outside as, unless you arrived dead on 7pm, you stood very little chance of eating out in the open. For some reason they had primarily tables for 4 in the open air, which, for a mainly 'couples' resort, I found rather bizarre. My only disappointment is that, on the evening of our 35th wedding anniversary, we were unable to secure the prized 'gazebo table' as it was taken as part of a 'honeymoon package'.

We were on the half board option and I really don't think it is worth going all inclusive unless you plan to try and drink the hotel dry. We ate lunch there most days, had premium wine most evenings, including champagne one night, and our final bill came well short of what we would have paid if we'd gone all inclusive.

The complementary boat service to the harbour was very useful and efficient.

We wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Our suite (room 24) was lovely. If I returned, to keep the cost down, I would definitely plump for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shirley_Chapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We were SO pleased with our decision to stayat this lovely luxury boutique hotel to celebrate our honeymoon. It was exactly what we were looking for. Our colonial style suite was beautiful with dark hard wood floors, white plantation shutters, ice cold A/C, and the MOST comfortable bed and pillows -with mosquito net and all. We had the pleasure of being in Suite #31 which had a gorgeous view of the infinity pool and garden.
The reason we selected The Inn was that it was an adults only property. The beach and pool were beautiful and quiet - this was the erfect place to unplug and disconnect. (exactly what we needed after planning a wedding for over a year). I loved that there were hammocks on the beach! The staff was very friendly and accomodating - everyone went above and beyond. The complementary boat ride until 5pm daily to Nelson's dockyard was a nice touch and an easy commute. We did take a 5 min cab ride to Hamilton's... we went there twice it was so good! The grilled lobster was delicious! Christina the conceirge is very helpful and always available should you have question on where to go and what to do. The only recommendation I have for themto improve on is to add some fresh herbs/seasoning to the food as it was very bland in our opinion. (We live near Miami) so are used to cuisine with lots of flavor! We created beautiful honeymoon memories at this elegant four star hotel and cannot wait to go back in the near future!

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs in Suite #31 which had a lovely view of infinity pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jodi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckfastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Have just returned from a week staying at the Inn & have to say it was really brilliant. Staff are lovely. We stayed both in one of the suites and also a couple of nights in a beach Cabana so got to see both sides. Suites are of course much larger & better fitted out but we also enjoyed being right on the beach & would happily go back to both. Only criticism of the beach Cabana was that there was a very low flow of cold water to the sink but the shower was fine. Beds were really comfortable. We found the food very good although some people may say it was a bit lacking in choice as there were generally only 3 different main courses each night plus a further 3 that were on all the time. The beach is lovely & actually quite quiet esp when compared to some of the other beaches in Antiqua. If you are looking for a hectic night life then this isn't the place for you but if you want peace & quiet and a relaxing time then do pay it a visit. All in all a very restful & enjoyable break.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near English Harbour
12.4 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,864 reviews
6.1 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
580 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Carlisle Bay Antigua
#3 of 7 in Saint Mary's
969 reviews
11.8 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,333 reviews
10.2 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at English Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at English Harbour

Property: The Inn at English Harbour
Address: Freeman's Bay, English Harbour, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > English Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Inn at English Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a postcard-lovely bay on the island of Antigua, this split-level resort features a hilltop building overlooking English Harbour and the picturesque waters of the Caribbean Sea. The Hotel has its own white sandy beach, with a small but lovely private dock. Clear emerald blue waters are encompassed by the magnificently lush green landscape of the surrounding hills. This semi-enclosure induces a feeling of privacy and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, West Indies, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at English Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At English Harbour Hotel English Harbour
Hotel At English Harbour
At English Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing