We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History with a great view and a local feel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Copper and Lumber Store Historic Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Maybe it is not the Best hotel on Antigua for amenities etc, but the sense of history and lovely dark woods and that view across the yachts and harbor ... it is priceless.

I highly recommend a 2 night stay here for any adventurer. The days of pirates andNelson and all that are still hiding in the woodwork here and springs out whenever you do mundane things like brush your teeth while staring at a tea clipper that came into town last night.

Nice and easy place that is set inside a national park to get away from the hustlers and noisy expat bars.

Take a walk up the hill and get such a wonderful view.

Johnny Depp would love it.

Room Tip: Ask for direct harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KanuckCalledWanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

We went on a Friday night to the Seafood Bake at the Copper & Lumber Store Restaurant. They aren't ready to serve until about 7 even though the poster says 6. The food was delicious. Coconut shrimp was the best we've had and everything else was wonderful too! A great view and a perfect sxetting for a friday night seafood bake.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank il0veeur0pe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Copper and Lumber Company provides excellent accommodations in the historic Nelson Dockyard.

We stayed in the Africa Suite, a two story room with a living room overlooking the dock area and a bedroom with King bed. The furnishings were traditional and lovely and we would point out the beautiful dark wood work throughout.

Note that in this unit, the bath is downstairs from the bedroom and the air conditioning is only in the bedroom.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The dockyards area is well worth a visit and so is Falmouth Bay a short walk away. We stayed during the annual sailing races and having a close up view of some of the most beautiful sailing yachts in the world was a special pleasure.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winetraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Copper and Lumber Restaurant, a great find in Nelsons Historic Dockyard where all the a buzz of energy bringing new life to the old buildings.

We were lucky to be the first to try the new new outdoor eating terrace which soon became fully occupied. We had great service and excellent food so all in all a great al fresco experience but if preferred you can eat inside.

On Friday nights they hold a fish night where you can choose a selection of interesting dishes to go with the seafood main of your choice all at a very good price. Drinks are also excellent value, music and good company give a party atmosphere to the dock. A great way to spend a Friday Evening.

Room Tip: Sorry we didn't stay at the hotel but would advise to book a room overlooking the Marina Dock fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Allgoodthyngs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

we stayed in a room early last summer. eloise and her gang on the hotel side are just wonderful. our room had fantastic a/c (you need in june!), a television that had some good cable stations (a rarity in antigua), and the room was clean and well presented every day.
we stayed in a suite, which means we had a little living area downstairs & a kitchenette, which was useful!
the only thing we were left wanting for was water. i know water is expensive in antigua, but it would have been great if there had been a couple of bottles of water in our room every night, as the kitchen was usually closed (late in the season). there was a good selection of tea, but water was something we had to either ask (and pay) for, or we had to buy it ourselves & stock our fridge...thus the kitchenette was "useful!"
the history of the building is palpable. unfortunately, the kitchen isn't fabulous, but they do a good job. however, the FRIDAY NIGHT SEAFOOD is a MUST...the conch water particularly. they don't have copper & lumber as a restaurant to review, but hopefully if you're reading this, you will put the seafood night on your list!!!
we have been to antigua for over 20 years, and this is one of our most favourite places to stay. but be warned, in the season, it might be loud. the dockyard is getting to be a more popular venue these days, and there are lots of events scheduled. look up what's happening before you go, but if you want to be right in the thick of things, this is the place! and by april, may & june, it's pretty sleepy and very peaceful.

Room Tip: choose a suite whenever possible! and if it's late in the season, ask for a discount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hedgepig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

A lovely old dockyard building that has been restored and converted to form hotel accommodation. A lot of character and period features have been retained, adding to the charm of a vacation in this historic dockyard.
The hotel is now a little dated but still the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Downsides are there is no real restaurant for lunch or dinner, and breakfast can be a bit variable, also the staff are not really hospitality savvy, they try hard but the service is a little ad hoc.
We were there for three weeks with yatch charter week in the middle and there were a lot of functions in the hotel, that was ok but the staff would clatter about clearing up after evening functions without regard for residents trying to sleep and then wake us very early moving furniture around again as they set up for the day.
For all that it was a great break in a lovely setting, don’t let ,me put you off, if you like relaxing in an historic setting then this could be for you.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albanach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I have vacationed several times at this location over the past 15 years. It was very rustic yet enjoyable during my first few stays. However, they have made major renovations since then and the rooms are very comfortable and period appropriate. Once you've had your fill of "all inclusive and family resorts" and want to slow down, relax and take in a piece of history, then this place is for you. The staff is very friendly and if you want to get a hike in, you can always walk to Shirley Heights with one of the staff and take in the famous sunset view.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiteTime121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near English Harbour
0.1 mi away
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites
#3 of 4 in English Harbour
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Antigua Yacht Club Marina Resort
6.2 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,900 reviews
11.7 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#6 of 16 in St. John's
353 reviews
11.9 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Copper and Lumber Store Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Copper and Lumber Store Historic Inn

Address: Nelson's Dockyard | Nelson's Dockyard, English Harbour, English Harbour 11111, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > English Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Price Range: £113 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Copper and Lumber Store Historic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Copper and Lumber Store Historic Inn is a beautiful intimate Antiguan Hotel where the laid back charm and rich culture of the Caribbean blends with the colonial history of Antigua to create a luxurious romantic hotel in a unique setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Copper and Lumber Store Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing