We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 excellent stays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Copper and Lumber Store Historic Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“2 excellent stays”
Reviewed 19 January 2011

8 years ago we had an unforgettable wedding ceremony, here at the Copper and Lumber store. The staff went out of their way to ensure that the day went without a hitch. We were made to feel really special, not just on the day of the wedding, but also in the days following when we stayed as guests in the hotel.

We decided to return to Antigua this year spending 1 week in Jolly Harbour then 1 week in the Copper and Lumber. Again the staff were very welcoming and friendly. We stayed in the Africa suite which includes a lovely bedroom, living room, shower room with a very good sized shower and kitchenette. The kitchen has a fridge freezer, sink, and all the crockery and utensils you would need. The décor of the room is very tasteful in colonial style and the bed is very comfortable. The room also has great views of the harbour.

The hotel is very quiet and private, both times we have stayed we have NOT encountered any problems with noise from other rooms, other guests slamming doors or stomping down hallways like you can often get. It almost feels as if you have the whole place to yourself!

The Copper and Lumber has a restaurant / pub attached which serves breakfast and meals until 7pm. The food is good. Although it is not currently open for dinner, this is not a problem. There are lots of great restaurants within walking distance including Hamilton's (highly recommended) and Admirals Inn which are both within Nelson's Dockyard, as well as several others just outside the gates. Within Nelson's Dockyard there is also a great spa / salon, several gift shops and a good priced convenience store selling essentials such as drinks, milk, snacks, ice cream etc. There is also a post office and bank.

We feel that for a luxury hotel (which is what we would consider the Copper Lumber to be) it is excellent value for money. Comparing the price to that of some other hotels on the island that are at least double the price, if not more expensive we are glad that we chose this hotel.

If you're looking for a nice relaxing break, something a bit different to the all inclusive beachy, pool scene type hotel then this is it!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nads1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    36
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
63
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
478 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

We were sailing for a few weeks on a charter boat (visiting St Martin, Antigua, Nevis and St Kitts) and decided we would like one night in a hotel to clean up and get a proper nights sleep. The hotel is located in the historic Nelson's Dockyard area were we had moored our boat. It looked striking from the outside. The friendly receptionist informed us that they had a "Yachtsman's Special" where we could have a suite for only 150 Euro.

The suite was superb: large, tastefully furnished and very comfortable. There was a living room, sleeping room and a small kitchenette area. The entire hotel has been brilliantly restored and I could not fault anything. I wouldn't stay there for a long holiday as it doesn't have a pool and is a long way from the beach. But for a short stay it is perfect.

The hotel does not have a restaurant open in the evening, but you are in the middle of Nelson's dockyard so there are several good options nearby.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

I stayed in the Copper and Lumber Store Hotel with my husband during the week between Christmas eve and New Year's Eve. One thing that struck me as very odd right off the bat is that this week is included as a peak priced week, therefore is more expensive to stay there....but strangely enough, for most of the week I'd bet we were the only hotel guests staying there.

I agree with most everything that previous reviewers said about the hotel and the dockyard area. The historic buildings are really interesting to stay in and walk amongst, and it is quite a unique experience. It is true that there are not many amenities, but that was okay with us. After all, the hotel room is mostly for sleeping, and you don't usually spend too much time there. It was very cool to see all of the sailboats and yachts in the harbor and the general atmosphere there was really awesome.

There were some definitely downsides. The room we were first given (the contemporary suite "Hardy") has two levels. Upon entering the suite, a strong musty smell met our noses, and actually penetrated our clothes to the point that I smelled it on them when I unpacked a week later at home. The first level of the suite is a small kitchen, bathroom with shower, and a living room. The second level is a bedroom. The first issue we experienced was that upon trying to adjust the aim of the shower head, the entire shower head broke off leaving only a pipe shooting out water for a shower. There was also a counter and sink in the bedroom upstairs. The faucet in the sink leaked constantly and on our second day there, it actually spilled over the counter onto the floor, and then began to leak through the ceiling of the living room and onto our luggage that was below. After that, we asked to be moved to another room.

The second room was a slight improvement ("Ajax"), with no sink in the bedroom. The furniture in the living room was also more usable (a couch and table/chairs versus a chair and a table in the first room). Given the fact that this room cost around $260 a night (once you add in the 10.5% tax and the 10% service charge per night), I would have expected a more updated bathroom and kitchen area. I am attaching pics of both. The shower itself was tiny, there was barely enough room in there to take a shower. And it was dingy. The shower floor pan area was chipped and looked gross. The kitchen cabinets were warped. Just overall, the place needs some TLC, and a price adjustment on the room rates.

Oh - the hotel web page states that there is complementary wifi in the hotel. It doesn't exist, so if you need internet, plan to walk to a local restaurant/bar that offers free wifi. I tried working with the hotel staff on 2 occasions, but we couldn't get it working - and they alluded to the fact that the system needed to be upgraded badly.

The front desk staff were AWESOME! Very helpful, friendly and overall really great.

The continental breakfast that is supposed to be included with the rate was a bit odd. The first morning, we went down late (around 10:30) and sat down for breakfast in the bar area of the restaurant with menus....nothing was explained to us, so since nothing was set out for breakfast as you typically see in hotels that include breakfast, we ordered assuming we'd just missed it and we'd catch it the next day. The next day we were down for breakfast at 8am. There was nothing set up and we were given the same menus at a table in the restaurant. When we asked about it, we were told that a $14 continental breakfast that was on the menu was the included one for the room. We both ordered it. We were given a tiny yogurt (maybe 6 oz), a plate of fruit that included 3 pieces of melon and some toasted white bread. Honestly, had it not been free, I would have never paid $14 for that! (US$). Needless to say, that was the last time we ate there. The staff there was great, but the prices and breakfast was a little ridiculous.

One last note about parking. Upon entering the Dockyard area, you drive through a parking lot and then through a gate with a security guard. We rented a car, and after we checked in we were told we could park right outside the hotel near the Galley Bar. There were only about 7 or 8 parking spaces there. If that was full, we had to park a few minutes away near the entrance the Nelson's Dockyard. That wasn't an issue at all, just thought I'd mention it. One thing the hotel/dockyard could do that might help with this gate entrance is some sort of rear view mirror hang tag so the guard knows you are a guest at the hotel. Each time we passed through this gate, we had to explain that we were hotel guests. It just became a little tiresome.

As a lot of other people have said, there are many restaurants that are within a 5 minute walk from the hotel. A bunch of them were great! Trappa's, Hamilton's, Seabreeze, Mad Mongoose, Barb's...a lot offered breakfasts and lunch....some only had dinner.

Overall, I would recommend that this hotel reevaluate their rates, or upgrade the bathrooms and kitchens in the rooms. It was a neat experience, but I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thumper1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Simply put, a hotel setting like no other. A converted 18th century ship supply depot now serves as a pristine, comfortable and historic glimpse into the past. Literally at water's edge in English Harbour, the location is situated in the heart of Nelson's Dockyard National Park.

Our bi-level, asymmetrical room featured lacquered furniture and exposed wooden beams aplenty with the amenities you'd look for in a modern hotel: pumpin A/C, fans and sat TV. Room does include a kitchenette however ours did not include a stove or any heating appliance and only bear minimum utensils so you may want to bring your own if needed. Upscale toiletries were supplied for the bathroom.

There is a restaurant on the ground floor but we didn't eat there and it's not open for dinner fyi. But there's a ton of quality restaurants within 10 min walk including Admiral's Inn, infamous Abracadabra's and Trappas, which I highly recommend for dinner. If your visit includes a Sun, you must visit the legendary Shirley Heights BBQ which kicks into high gear after 7p.

Front staff were very helpful in answering my many questions including local recommendations for activities.

Again, one of the most unique settings for a hotel I've experienced.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2010

Where do we start ! for those needing to stay in the English Harbour area, whether a boat crew member or just on holiday, the Copper & Lumber is the perfect fit, located within Nelsons Dockyard. The hotel staff were obliging, extremely friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Even allowing us to host the gathering of The Royal Naval Tot Club of Antigua and Barbuda (many thanks). The stunning outlooks of the harbour are quite breathtaking and the colonial style of the hotel takes your imagination back to Nelson's time. We so look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieMcnally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Ont., Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

The Copper and Lumber Store exudes quiet charm, a perfect stay for people who want a quiet time in a historic atmosphere. There is no pool or beach here but Pigeon Beach is an over-the-hill walk away and worth the trek, with warm water and some shade available, though no washrooms.
We were upgraded to a two room suite with living room, kitchenette, and bathroom on the lower floor and large bedroom with a hard queen-sized bed on the upper floor. The only negative was the hard bed, because the two foot thick brick walls, exposed wooden beams, and varnished wood floors made the rooms seem like a comfortable old club. The two leather chairs were cracked but very cozy - you wouldn't expect new chairs anyway. There were ceiling fans on both levels and air conditioning in the bedroom.
Breakfast is provided each day in the hotel's restaurant as part of your package. We had the amusing experience of enjoying a late breakfast while the tour groups ambled in and wanted to know where the baththrooms and their complimentary rum punch were. You can buy lunch there too but the hotel's restaurant is not open after 3:30 pm.
That means you need to walk three or four blocks toward Falmouth Harbour for dinner in the dark (at this time of year). A flashlight is recommended, but the route seems safe. And the walk is worth it. There is excellent choice for dining. Each restaurant seems to close one night of the week but there is always something open. Abracadabra is good for Italian food and there is a pizzeria nearby as well. The big surprise to us, however, was the unassuming-looking Trappas restaurant, where the speed of service, choice of entrees, and taste were all amazing; the fish dishes in particular were to die for. We even got to watch the chef as he lifted the food onto our plates with a (clean) wallboard spatula! Perhaps he had a previous career in construction trades. Chef is his true calling.
We stayed in mid-January, which meant there were upwards of fifty superyachts in the marinas ready for racing - quite a sight for tourists who own a lowly Sunfish sailboat.
Service was friendly and excellent at the hotel and the restaurants. The staffs were always ready to solve the little, inevitable problems or just pass the time of day with you. At the beginning of our stay, only three rooms of this fourteen room hotel were occupied but more people came in later. In the day, the Docktard was full of day-trippers from the cruise ships, but at night it was quiet.
This is not a hotel for families but for those who like being on their own and finding their own entertainment.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLewis_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

I stayed here overnight to catch a flight back after a sailing trip.

The hotel is within Neslon's Dockyard National Park in English Harbour which is in itself a wonderful attraction. The Antiguans have refurbished all of the buildings and amenities used when the bay was the main base for the Royal Navy in the Carribean, back in the days of 'wooden ships and iron men'. The whole development is very well done, a good meseum with interesting shops and very peacful. There are a number of businesses based in the dockyard such as bars and resturants and also the Sunsail Charter base where we left our Beneteau 48 after the sailing trip (great boat by the way).

The harbour itself really comes to life during Antigua Sailing Week and the hotel will be booked out for hard core yachties years in advance. However in November, at the very start of the season it wasa almost empty.

The hotel itself is, as the name suggests, a conversion of the original storehouse which i think dates back to the 1780s. As you can imagine, with lots of original wood and brick the place is full of character.I wanted something basic just to get my head down for the night so took the cheapest room. However what I got was a two room suite with its own kitchen. This may be because it was low seaon or because I was staying there on the reommendation of a frined whose name I mentioned. (This always goes down well with small hotels I find0. The staff were just great, very relaxed, friendly and helpful as you would expect in this part of the world.

In exchange for character, this place is in no way a resort hotel (which I personally dislike anyway) as ther is no beacfron and no pool. It is however a great place for the discerning indipendent traveler. I doubt however that it will appeal to families with young kids who want to slob about round a pool.

If you are looking for a beach there is a pretty nice public one about 20 mins walk away (slow walking West Indies style) which the staff can direct you to.

The resturant was closed as it was so early in the season but I had already arranged to meet friends at a resturant about 10 mins walk up the road.

In summary a cool place to stay in an area teaming with history and character but best suited to indipendent minded travelers.

http://www.copperandlumberhotel.com/

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamouthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near English Harbour
0.1 mi away
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites
#3 of 4 in English Harbour
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Antigua Yacht Club Marina Resort
12.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,296 reviews
9.0 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
8.0 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Copper and Lumber Store Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Copper and Lumber Store Historic Inn

Property: The Copper and Lumber Store Historic Inn
Address: Nelson's Dockyard | Nelson's Dockyard, English Harbour, English Harbour 11111, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > English Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Copper and Lumber Store Historic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Copper and Lumber Store Historic Inn is a beautiful intimate Antiguan Hotel where the laid back charm and rich culture of the Caribbean blends with the colonial history of Antigua to create a luxurious romantic hotel in a unique setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Copper and Lumber Store Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing