We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breath taking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“breath taking”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I had the most relaxed stay at this hotel. From the moment i arrived, the atmosphere was so relaxing i had a great sleep. The area of which the hotel is situated, is very much breath taking. I had a great 3 nights stay here. The furniture in the rooms reminds me of older Britain, if you are a person interesting in the arts and architecture, especially the more older art, this hotel is the place to be. It if designs with old architecture and a mixed of modern art. The beds are wooden but very comfortable, the windows are wooden. The rooms are air conditioned and have a ceiling fan. It reminds me of growing up in the country, but a touch of the modern Caribbean. If you believe that you need a vacation that is not hassle and bustle, and all you need to do is put your feet up relax and listen to the birds flap their winds and the calming winds flows through your hair, this is the best hotel to be at. Also the owner is very down to earth and friendly, the staff are very friendly and helpful, they made my stay worth while. Most times when i visit a different country my most concern is Safety, however at the Admiral Inn, my safety was met 100%, i remember i wanted to go out for a late night relax at a different place and the Owner arranged for one of the guys to take me, with no extra cost. I want to return here and bring all of my friends when i am coming.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leston P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    65
    11
    10
    8
See reviews for
21
147
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

If you are expecting mod cons then the old part of this hotel is not for you. We love the main building because it is rustic and authentic. We normally prefer all mod cons but we make an exception for this hotel. We love staying here and will continue to stay here for Antigua week and other sailing holidays! Perfect location.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LARA401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Pros: Great location and character hotel. Surprisingly good food. Friendly staff.

Cons: Rooms perhaps a little tired (depending on your view could add to the character!)

For a mid-price Carribean hotel this offers a great location in an absolutely charming character building in the heart of Nelsons Dockyard.

The rooms are what you would expect for the price. The food in the restaurant (we were one of 2 couples dining at end of season) was actually really nice - they created a menu for us and did a great job of drumming up some lovely food from what was left in the stores I think!

Staff very friendly.

If you want a convenient location, character building in the heart of Nelsons Dockyard for a mid-range price I don't think it could be beat.

Room Tip: Some look out over the harbour (rather than the road) so I'd request a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The Admiral’s Inn was a warm and welcoming place as soon as I arrived to the premises. From the Security staff at the front gate to the guest check-in everything is very organized but in a laid back sense. Typically that would mean inefficiency any lengthy processes but not here; it was chill, efficient and pleasant. The entrance of the site has a “market” that is selling T-shirts and knick-knacks and the check-in counter is located in the restaurant/bar area. That is a wonderful place to hang out, grab a drink and socialize.

The rooms I booked was a wonderful spacious loft which had a common sitting area and mini-kitchen (fridge, kettle and sink). The room was very nice, had high ceilings, bug net over the bed and a beautiful washroom. The hotel also has free wifi, which is always great for us travelers that want to connect our cellphone and laptops. The docks on the compound are also full of sailing yachts and you get a real sense and connected flavor of the people who are here. A very welcoming group!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We had 2 nights at the end of our holiday in Antigua and stayed at the 260 years old Inn,For something so old the bedrooms were comfortable but basic,The Staff were very friendly and couldn`t do enough.The restaurant was excellent and worth a visit even if you are not staying there.Great position in the historic Nelsons dockyard with wonderful boats and surrounded by good restaurants.The hotel is always looking to improve,its not flash but very nice

Room Tip: room 1 a corner room with good views of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffreyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
240 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

My last experience (3 years ago) was of two full days with no running water, only huge plastic containers and using a plastic glass to shower. This 4 night visit made up for it, and more! Telling of my past experience we were instantly upgraded, landing us in a spacious elegantly furnished room very up-to-date, and with a lovely bath. The restaurant offered some fine dining: when you go, try the chef's tasting menu! The location is excellent, you need to walk a bit to get to Pidgeon Beach, my favourite, but when you see it, and amaze at the lack of people there..Needless to say, yachts are all around you.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Norwegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greetham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We enjoyed our dinner here so much that we came back a second evening. The setting is lovely, among the old buildings of Nelson's Dockyard, the service was attentive and the delicious, Asian inspired food was memorable. Highly recommended!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Walkinggranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near English Harbour
12.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn at English Harbour
The Inn at English Harbour
#1 of 4 in English Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.4 mi away
Antigua Yacht Club Marina Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Copper and Lumber Store Historic Inn
The Copper and Lumber Store Hist...
#4 of 4 in English Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
8.5 mi away
Sugar Ridge
Sugar Ridge
#2 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
9.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites

Property: Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites
Address: Nelson's Dockyard, English Harbour, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > English Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, historic boutique hotel set in a secluded section of 18th century Nelson's Dockyard, offering casual elegance and friendly, personal service, provides the perfect backdrop for relaxation, romance, special events and being active if you choose.The 23 rooms and suites are housed in 4 historic buildings on the waterfront and a headland 100 yards across the bay. The hotel offers a small non-swimming beach, spectacular infinity edged pool, a spa and two excellent open-air restaurants, Pillars and Boom. There is a complimentary boat shuttle to the swimming beach in Freeman's Bay and kayaks to explore the harbour. The perfect hotel for relaxing in peace and quiet or for finding plenty of activities (sailing, scuba diving, hiking, snorkeling, yoga) and fun (several restaurants and nightlife) only 5 - 10 minutes away. A great spot for honeymoons and weddings for 2 to 200. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Admiral`s Hotel Nelson`s Dockyard National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing