We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Rooms and Pool are beautiful and cool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Jamestown, Rhode Island
2 reviews
“New Rooms and Pool are beautiful and cool”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

It was great to see an old Admiral's Inn in such great shape from my last visit 30 years ago. The new suites in the Powder Magazine building and the new pool and bar/dining area really put it in a new category for a wonderful stay in Antigua. The pool and Powder suites are a skipping stones throw across the harbor on a boat always ready for guests. Food service was just about to begin at the pool when we were there. The food in the main restaurant was excellent. A really great place to explore Antigua from.

Room Tip: The new suites are pricy but the views from private decks over the pool and English Harbor are hard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bruce-Kathy_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    66
    11
    10
    9
See reviews for
21
148
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This was our second visit in this beautiful, historic hotel. The lobby is the best characteristic of the hotel. It is very nice, comfortable and a good place to relax and enjoy the view.

The rooms are adequate and not much more. Be sure to get a room that has window screens or air conditioning. If you fail to do this you will have a swarm of bitting flies in your room! The air conditioning in our room was marginal. There is quite a bit of noise coming from the upper floor.

Again, it is a historic hotel with charm. It is worth a visit.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank claytonj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Arrived at Admirals Inn after a long journey a warm welcome greeted us and a rum punch to ease the fatigue. The main hotel is full of history and offers wonderful views across the harbour, comfortable seating to enjoy the view, attentive staff and outstanding food make this a wonderful place to stay. We were lucky enough to be the first guests the stay in one of four magnificent rooms opposite the hotel in what was the gun powder rooms. The rooms have private balconies overlooking an infinity pool and bar area serving delicious food . Everything about this hotel is excellent we are sad to leave and have promised ourselves a return visit.

Room Tip: Choose the gun powder new rooms and you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathryn040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had a wonderful time on New Year's Eve (2013) at the Admiral's Inn (our pre wedding honeymoon). Everything was first class from the outstanding staff and service to food and stunning views.

We will highly recommend the Admiral's Inn to all our friends and family.

All the best for 2014.

Kindest regards

Angela Beattie and Scott Raworth

Room Tip: ask for a sea view room if available and swim in their new pool just across the bay (Gunpowder Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaRaworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My wife and I just completed a wonderful 12 night stay (more on that in a second) at the Admiral's Inn. We had originally booked at another resort on the western side of Antigua, but were informed by Booking.com a week and a half later (after we had already bought plane tickets) that that hotel was overbooked. As were just two weeks out from our vacation (over the busy New Year's weekend), we felt fortunate to find a room - any room - on the island. However, we didn't realize how luck we were until we checked in to the Admiral's Inn.

First off, it is in an absolutely wonderful location. The Inn itself occupies three structures in the historic Nelson's Dockyard. You can walk throughout the Dockyard complex (3 restaurants, bar, grocery store, a salon/spa, shops, museum, and various yacht services) which, in addition to its quaint and historic character, is also ground zero for the international yacht scene. Second, you are but a mere 10 minute walk to multiple other restaurants, shops, and yacht club in Falmouth Harbour.


We had Room A (a Superior Room with Harbor View). This room is actually in an annex across from the main two story Inn. The room was lovely with elegant (though minimalist) decor and had a view of the Harbor. This is the only one of the Harbor View rooms on the ground floor, so you did need to close the curtains at night/when dressing because there are a number of boats not terribly far from the windows. Everything was very clean (not a guarantee, in my experience, in island destinations) and well maintained.

The hotel has an excellent restaurant where we ate on New Years' Eve (and virtually every morning). However, there are a number of restaurants in easy walking distance of the hotel and the staff is more than happy to make recommendations and reservation (in particular, we really enjoyed Le Cap Horn, Catherine's a la Plage, and Rum Baba). There is also a bar with names of 19th Century ships carved into it and a well-weathered blueprint of the HMS Boreas (Nelson's ship at the time he was stationed in the West Indies) above the bar. They are opening (today, in fact) a new kitchen by the pool, which will make getting lunch over there a little easier.

Speaking of the pool, it's fantastic. It's located across the harbor from the main hotel (and next to the new Gun Powder Suites). Since it's up a slight hill, it enjoys lovely views of the Inn and the rest of Nelson's Dockyard (and the impressive collection of boats moored there). There is a collection of beach chairs and hammocks that surround the brand new infinity pool. There is a covered dining area with bar and the aforementioned kitchen coming on line shortly. The bathrooms (along with everything else) are brand new and nice.

There is no beach right at the hotel, but Cecil will happily take you by boat to either the pool or to nearby Galleon Beach. Or, you can walk ten minutes through town to Pigeon Beach. Alternatively, you can take a one mile hike through ruins of British forts and blockhouses with sweeping views of the ocean and harbor to get to Pigeon Beach.

But despite all the joys of the location and facilities of the Admiral's Inn, what really makes the hotel is its staff. Kemlin and Allison, who man the front desk, are simply outstanding. Kemlin made arrangements for all sorts of excursions (including car rental and an OnDeck sailing charter) and dining reservations throughout our stay. Allison gave us a very warm welcome to the hotel and then really made the stay memorable by coming to the rescue when United cancelled our flight. Allison quickly got on the phone to her contact at American Airlines in Antigua and reserved us a flight out A FULL WEEK EARLIER than what United and American were telling us was possible online or via their call centers. If it weren't for Allison, we would still be "stuck" in Antigua (granted, there are worse places to be stuck). She then quickly arranged for us to extend our stay in our previous room. While Kemlin and Allison stand out, everyone at the hotel, but particularly Cecil who runs the boat, Francine who runs the pool bar, and Reggie who runs the main bar were always extremely friendly and helpful.

Overall, it was an excellent stay and we couldn't be happier with the location, the facilities, and, particularly, the service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank studog2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2014

After searching extensively for an accommodation that didn't feel like any other chain hotel we found the Admirals Inn and were so happy here. It felt like the romanticism of yesteryear in the Caribbean, four poster beds and cannons mixed with every modern requirement like internet and a stunning new infinity pool just a short boat trip across the water. I could not recommend this beautiful hotel more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mightyquin73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanne, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Admiral's Inn

On my arrival to the Admiral's Inn I was greeted by the warm and welcoming Kemlin at reception.
I stayed in one of the quaint and lovely rooms above the main inn and admired the famous view of the pillars at Nelson's Dockyard outside my window.

Being a foodie, I was excited to sample the dishes created by chef Juan and sous chef Wenty in the restaurant. I was not disappointed! One of my favorites is the "Pillar Burger" this burger is topped with caramelized onions and locally made Yao goat cheese ... Unbelievably great!

I look forward to staying in the exquisite new rooms in the Powder House that have been lovingly restored by owners Paul Deeth and his sister Astrid with incredible flair and panache. Local craftsmen have used heartwood, marble and stone to blend to blend 18th century bones with 21st century aesthetics.

Adjoining these rooms is a new art gallery currently featuring the stunning photography exhibition "Antigua Pride" by artist Margo Davis.

The view? Only in your dreams or so I thought! Sitting by the gorgeous new infinity pool and sipping on a lime squash mixed by the lovely Francine with the pillars and the dockyard in full view is heaven!

This is one of the most iconic and historic views in the Caribbean, and the wonderful restoration of the historic Powder House has made this a must destination for travelers who prefer small and historic boutique hotels in their travels.

I cannot wait to return!

Judith Fabian

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near English Harbour
12.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,830 reviews
0.4 mi away
Antigua Yacht Club Marina Resort
0.4 mi away
The Inn at English Harbour
The Inn at English Harbour
#2 of 4 in English Harbour
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
South Point Antigua
South Point Antigua
#1 of 4 in English Harbour
130 reviews
6.2 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
554 reviews
9.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites

Property: Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites
Address: Nelson's Dockyard, English Harbour, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > English Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, historic boutique hotel set in a secluded section of 18th century Nelson's Dockyard, offering casual elegance and friendly, personal service, provides the perfect backdrop for relaxation, romance, special events and being active if you choose.The 23 rooms and suites are housed in 4 historic buildings on the waterfront and a headland 100 yards across the bay. The hotel offers a small non-swimming beach, spectacular infinity edged pool, a spa and two excellent open-air restaurants, Pillars and Boom. There is a complimentary boat shuttle to the swimming beach in Freeman's Bay and kayaks to explore the harbour. The perfect hotel for relaxing in peace and quiet or for finding plenty of activities (sailing, scuba diving, hiking, snorkeling, yoga) and fun (several restaurants and nightlife) only 5 - 10 minutes away. A great spot for honeymoons and weddings for 2 to 200. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Admiral`s Hotel Nelson`s Dockyard National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing