We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty, but not cheap”

Caribbean Taste Restaurant
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
200 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Tasty, but not cheap”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Caribbean Taste isn't cheap local fare, but it is good and the servings are generous. It's on a side street, and we were the only guests on the evening we ate there. We shared a bowl of delicious lobster bisque and a plate of grilled shrimp (cooked with ginger and peppers, it was a bit zingy but not too hot), served with a salad, rice and beans, mashed potatoes, steamed veggies and a fantastic eggplant creole (said by two people who normally don't like eggplant!). With a bottle of water, it came to US$35, but it was plenty for two not-too-hungry people. We were pleasantly full and happy with our choice when we left.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thompso2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    20
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Nebraska
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Outstanding food”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

If you want good, authentic Caribbean food, this is the place. I highly recommend the goat curry. It was one of the best dishes we had during our stay on Antigua. The owner is a very congenial lady and treated my wife and I like friends who stopped in for dinner. The location is a block off the main road in English Harbor and not hard to find.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Amazing food with a side of amazing people”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Caribbean taste is a wonderful place that is off the beaten path in English Harbour. I have chosen to dine there two consecutive nights in a row – Yes it is that good! Night one we had the conch and my friend had the snapper; both very very good. The second night I had a pumpkin soup to start, with the conch again as a main (just amazing flavors), my friend had the crab cake and the conch as well and another friend (who is a Bajan personal chef) had the lobster bisque and the grilled fish. We all had amazing meals and it was really nice to speak to the owners and operators Gretchen and Nick – lovely people who really make the experience come alive with their service and flavors.

I hope to return there many nights to come! Thanks so much for the local experience and for doing what you do so well

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
150 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful Local Cooking”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We love goat, and some large yacht owners RAVED about Caribbean Taste's goat -- all so true. Delicious. Grettle, the owner chef took excellent care of us. If you want local color and flavors you must go here.
They monitor VHF channel 68.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LCB108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Caribbean food”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

The curry goat is delicious - strongly recommended!
Excellent service, and good value.
This restaurant was less busy than those on the main road, since it is quite hidden. Don't let this put you off. Heading towards Nelson's Dockyard, turn right just before the Anchorage, then follow the signs.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank scaryfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caribbean Taste Restaurant also viewed

English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
Falmouth, Saint Paul Parish
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 

Been to Caribbean Taste Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing