We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, English Harbour”
Review of Ocean Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Inn
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights in May.
Away from the all-inclusive (and gated) resorts there is not a lot of choice in English Harbour. Ocean Inn has great views of the harbour. If you are choosing a room without a view you might do better elsewhere. My "cottage" had a reasonable size room with all the essentials and a good shower. This was a quiet and restful place. It has a small pool.
Breakfast was a modest affair.
For a small establishment it was curiously not very welcoming, and it was lacking in atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vodoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

I stayed at the Ocean Inn for one night before flying to Barbados and spending two nights at the Barbados Hilton. And the Ocean Inn is certainly not the Barbados Hilton: if you're looking for a chain hotel with a big pool and a beach and modern rooms, the Ocean Inn is not for you.

Buuuuuut, with all that said, my wife and I had a very good time at the Ocean Inn. The staff was very friendly, the view was amazing, the hillside layout beautiful, the location excellent (within walking distance of several hotels) and for a very reasonable 120$. That included free wi-fi and a continental breakfast. While our cottage was fairly spartan, its bed was comfortable and its air-conditioning functional.

So while the Inn isn't luxurious per se, we had a very good time while staying there. Plus it gets you free admittance to Nelson's Dockyard!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The Ocean Inn at English Harbour sits on a hillside with a fantastic view of Nelson's Dockyards and the harbour. It's a short walk down the hill to the Dockyards (left) or Falmouth Harbour (right). The hotel has rooms in the main house or in cottages (rooms 8, 9 + 10) The cottages have more privacy and the best views. Room 6 opens onto the deck and honor bar so is a little noisier.

We stayed a week and found Robert and the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The AC worked well and the rooms have a small television (which we didn't use). The deck was a wonderful place for a nightcap or to do some reading. There is free wireless but no computer. We decided to leave our devices behind but we checked our email a couple of times at Falmouth Harbour in the gelato shop. Mmmmm...

English Harbour is away from the congestion and noise of St. John's but still has places to eat etc. Even so, it is easy to get to St. John's and and other attractions. There are several beaches nearby although our favorite was Halfmoon bay (but it's too far to walk).

There are several restaurants nearby with a range of food. Our favorites were Trappas and LIfe. Trappas has a large menu and the food is very good. I particularly enjoyed the locally caught Wahoo fish (Cajun style). Trappas is very popular so you probably won't get in without a reservation.

Life has a smaller menu but is also good. The mahi mahi and gumbo are both good. Even when we didn't have dinner there, we enjoyed Dark and Stormy's (Antiguan Rum and ginger beer) with Conch fritters before dinner at another restaurant.

Another alternative is BBQ on Shirley's Heights (Sundays and Thursdays) This mountaintop overlooks English Harbour and Nelson's dockyards as well. The sunsets here are amazing as you can see all the way to the island of Montserrat. On Sundays, there is live music and a huge party. (with an $8.00 cover charge) Thursdays are much quieter.

Hamilton's (dockyards) and Southern Cross (Falmouth) are also good but a little expensive by comparison.

Not all restaurants are open every day so plan ahead if you want to go to a specific place.

Room Tip: The hotel has rooms in the main house or in cottages (rooms 8, 9 + 10) The cottages have more privac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ppatchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Laid back hotel with a great view and vey friendly and attentive staff. Some rooms slightly better than others, but overall very satisfactory, especially compared to other options nearby, often much more expensive and not particularly better. Easy walk to Nelson's Dockyard and the local attractions. English harbour is a great place for true relaxed Caribbean atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pickle010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

As others have mentioned, this is a delightful place overlooking English Harbour. The cottages are cozy, surrounded by lush gardens and the atmosphere is relaxed. The place could use some more maintenance and upkeep (some fresh paint in a number of places would help) but that may be part of the charm for some.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tourdelmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We stayed here for two nights after a week of sailing around Antigua. It has an excellent view of the harbor from the outdoor deck / dining area. Nice and quiet with a small pool. The grounds are lush with fruit and nut bearing trees, plants and flowers. A bountiful breakfast is served buffet style each morning. There is a bar near the pool that operates on the honor system. Robert was very helpful from our initial email inquiry to the day we left. He made us feel like family. The Ocean Inn was the perfect tranquil setting for us after a full week of sailing. Thanks, Robert!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveLight49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

We stayed at the Ocean Inn for just over a week and couldn't fault it. The views from pretty much everywhere are fantastic and Robert and all the staff are all really helpful.
The Inn itself is split between rooms and small cottages, of which we stayed on a small cottage which was lovely, its not the Ritz but thats not what I wanted and I personally prefer the charm of that. Moreover there are a vast number of wrist band wearing resorts you could go to if thats your thing.
Overall the whole atmosphere, location and facilities were and are top notch I could not praise the Ocean Inn to much.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Militantmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near English Harbour
0.4 mi away
Antigua Yacht Club Marina Resort
0.3 mi away
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites
#3 of 4 in English Harbour
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Copper and Lumber Store Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Trade Winds Hotel
Trade Winds Hotel
#7 of 16 in St. John's
257 reviews
1 mi away
The Catamaran Hotel
The Catamaran Hotel
#1 of 15 in St. John's
143 reviews
11.3 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 16 in St. John's
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Inn

Address: St. Pauls, English Harbour, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > English Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in English Harbour
Price Range: £88 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel English Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing