We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Certainly four star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maesycwmmer
Caerphilly, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Certainly four star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

On arrival we had an issue with our room, we were visited by the Manager who sorted immediately any issue and ensured that our stay was special.
The staff did everything to make our two day stay a wonderful experience The food was good, they have a new chef. The room was very clean and the junior suite was excellent with views over 5 valleys of South Wales being able to sit in our room or the restaurant and watch others playing golf. Our two days felt like a two week break, The staff in the Fusion spa are excellent and the gym, pool and other facilities are excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. We cannot wait to return in 7 weeks time, We came home so relaxed and happy with our stay. A big thank you!!!

Room Tip: A relaxing haven of rest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gavyn B, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
A big thank you for your excellent review. It was our pleasure to serve you and your comments are a pleasure to read. I will most certainly pass on your praise and gratitude to our team. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    231
    146
    81
    70
See reviews for
177
301
25
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We booked the Barn Suite for our daughter's christening celebrations, we ordered a buffet for 30 guests, a selection of sandwiches and 5 choices off the chef's selection menu. The food was exceptional. It was presented beautifully on slate platters and all our guests commented on how delicious the food was. The waitress attending to our party was Sally G and she was an absolute star! She couldn't do enough to help and as Welsh speakers we were most impressed that she was also Welsh speaking! A rareity in hospitality these days! Gavin booked the event for us and nothing was too much trouble to ask. We shall certainly be booking the next event there! The only negative is that bar prices were expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gavyn B, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
A big thank you for your wonderful review. The team are always encouraged by good feedback and it’s great to hear that you are being looked after. Sally was certainly over the moon when I informed her of your comments. On behalf of all team I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your continued loyalty to our hotel.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberbargoed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Trying so hard to be a large exclusive venue but feels like a 3 star option and I can't justify the room, bar or restaurant prices.
That said, service and food were very good. The venue itself looks great in places but let down by the area it's situated in and some poor positioning of rubbish etc around the car park.
Won't be rushing back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Welshjedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gavyn B, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I am disappointed with some of your comments as we strive to be a resort that has the personal touch compared to some of the larger hotels. That saying I am certainly glad you enjoyed both the food and service you received. We hope to have the opportunity of a return visit.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

As a member of Bryn meadows I do spend quite a lot of time there but have only now chosen to write a review as last nights meal and service were outstanding. Our waiter Mark was so lovely and a credit to the hotel. The food was by far the best we have ever had in the restaurant. We throughly enjoyed our evening and will be returning very soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajw27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gavyn B, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am glad that Mark was so helpful and our chefs looked after you so well. Your comments are very encouraging to all the team and an absolute pleasure to read.
Thank you again.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackwood
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Thanks to Gavin and the staff at Bryn Meadows for a great night, the room looked lovely food was delicious and the whole evening was very well organised and went off without a hitch, the Captain will be delighted I'm sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gladygabalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gavyn B, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the meal you had with us. I was so pleased that you enjoyed and once again thank you for your fantastic comments. I have spoken with the Club Captain including several of his guests and all have given a glowing report of the night. I do look forward to welcoming you back and to hopefully try Sunday Lunch.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

My family and I have been stopping at Bryn Meadows now for almost 20 years. Over the years we have seen the hotel become a little tired, seen upgrades and the like. I think it’s fair to say the hotel is beginning its next downward turn – everything is starting to look a little worn in my opinion. The seating in the bar area was fraying, there were marks on the walls, the tiling in the bathroom was a little mouldy and the guest information packs in the rooms could do with an update. A lick of paint to the rooms and communal areas wouldn’t go amiss. I don’t know what it is about the place but after a while, a mild musty smell appears in the hallways – some air freshner should sort that out.

The room was really small, and for £200 a night I would have expected to be put in one of the larger/suite rooms.

With all that said, the staff are very friendly – always have been and I must say the breakfast never fails to disappoint there. Excellent selection, plentiful with great views over the valleys. I wouldn’t be put off by the place – especially if you are just dining, but guys, if you are reading this review – it’s time for a minor refurb so your prices reflect the surroundings.

Room Tip: I don’t know why but it’s always 10 degrees colder downstairs so it’s probably an idea to be on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlondieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gavyn B, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review of our Hotel. It was pleasing to read that you we have been your place to stay for over the past twenty years. Your feedback is welcomed and is paramount to us improving. I am grateful for your frank and honest review and your comments have been discussed. We have in the last two weeks just begun a new programme of maintenance both in the hotel and the bedrooms alike and look forward to your comments next time you stay. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed here on a business trip, but as it was half term took my 7 year old daughter. When we tried to get into the room the pull out bed was blocking the way. The gap the other side was about 3 inches from a cupboard. So to get into the main part of the bedroom you had to step onto the pull out bed. For three of us there was a tiny bar of soap, one small bottle of shampoo & 1 small bottle of shower gel. We asked if we could buy some conditioner from the spa to be told "We don't do conditioner". The a/c didn't work it was either freezing or too hot. It was also very noisy. The bathroom was disgusting, mould on the shower curtain, rust around any metal. There is also supposed to be a TV in the bathroom. Needless to say this didn't work. I found someone elses hair in my bed. The view from the room was over the closed golf course. There was a small patio that had a couple of metal chairs thrown onto it and a discarded Fruit Shoot bottle. We also found out that the door had not been shut properly by the chamber staff or previous occupants. Breakfast finishes at 9.30am! I was not made aware of this & could not read the hotel information as someone had soaked it in liquid & it was then left welded to the desk/dressing table. I asked reception if breakfast was still being served & was told yes at 9.25am. When I took my daughter into the dining room I was rudely told that breakfast was over & we would have to make do with whatever there was left on the buffet. We then had to go on a cutlery hunt. I spoke to another couple of guests, who like us booked their stay on the pretext that this was one of the best hotels in the Cardiff area. Everyone was of the same opinion that it was pretty awful. When checking out other guests were overheard complaining. The heating being one of the most talked about. The worst of this experience is the total indifference of the staff. Go there at your peril.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gavyn B, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I was disappointed to read your comments with regards aspects of your stay. We have a friendly and helpful team that would have been more than happy to help if only you had given us the opportunity with the issues you have raised.
On the small occasions that we do fall short all we ask that you tell us at the time to allow us to make the necessary corrections. I would welcome a call from yourself to discuss further.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maesycwmmer
8.0 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
15.8 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
12.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
6.3 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
11.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa

Property: Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa
Address: Maesycwmmer | Nr. Ystrad Mynach, Maesycwmmer CF82 7SN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Caerphilly County > Maesycwmmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maesycwmmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a unique luxurious four star golf and spa resort set in over 100 acres of meadowland and hidden amongst the breath taking valleys of south east Wales. Bryn Meadows is one of the leading destinations for spa breaks and golf breaks in Wales, comprising of 42 contemporary, yet classically styled en-suite rooms most with balconies overlooking the beautiful surrounding countryside, extensive leisure & spa facilities and a championship parkland golf course.Only 10 minutes away from J32 of the M4 and just 25 minutes from Cardiff, one of Europe’s most lively and cosmopolitan cities, Bryn Meadows is perfectly located to all the major attractions of the city, yet is far enough away for those searching for a relaxing retreat. For those wishing to explore the local area, the town of Caerphilly is just 10 minutes away, steeped in history with its own impressive hilltop Castle. Just 30 minutes away, the incredible Brecon Beacons renowned for its beautiful and diverse landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Meadows Golf Hotel Maesycwmmer
Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel And Spa
Bryn Meadows Hotel
Bryn Meadows Boutique Hotel
Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa Maesycwmmer, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing