We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maesycwmmer
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed for three nights, room clean, but carpets need replacing,staff very friendly and polite, food OK, small portions and a little over priced. Facilities good, used the pool, extra towels provided.hotel in a secluded area.lovely views,

Room Tip: 216 over looked golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paynephil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gavyn B, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am certainly glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

689 - 695 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Visited here for an evening meal with friends/colleges as a leaving do for one person. We started in the bar and although we were in no rush we were not invited to our table until half an hour after the booked time. It then took a long time for pre booked starters to arrive. The bread on the table was extremely tasty. It again took a long time for the mains to come out. Service from the waitresses was polite and friendly but options that had to be stated at the time of prebooking had not been made clear. The food was okay, but nothing special. At the end of the meal there was an issue with extras that had not been ordered appearing on the bill. However this was sorted once we had pointed it out.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mandi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gavyn B, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your meal at our Hotel. I am sorry that you did not enjoy certain aspects of the experience. We value all feedback at the resort and will take your comments on-board to improve our standards.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My daughter booked afternoon tea for a treat for me and our 2 friends as a mother's day surprise. What a disappointment. Firstly we had to send the cups back because they were dirty, when they returned them we were given two pots of tea, the tea was luke warm and there was no sugar. When are food arrived we were so disappointed our sandwiches and cakes were just on bog standard dinner plates, we thought we were going to have it on a cake stand which makes afternoon tea special. We were given 5 quarters of various sandwiches, warm scones and cream (these were lovely), Welsh cakes, slices of ginger cake and Madeira cake and that was it. What a rip off £56, somebody was rubbing their hands but not us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillyoddlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gavyn B, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I was disappointed to read your comments about our afternoon tea. We have a friendly and helpful team that would have been more than happy to help if only you had given us the opportunity with the issues you have raised.
On the small occasions that we do fall short all we ask that you tell us at the time to allow us to make the necessary corrections. We are here to provide good food and good service and I can only apologise if we fell short.
I would welcome a call from yourself to discuss further.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We booked for afternoon tea and what a disappointment. Tea and coffee were cold and milk took nearly 10 mins to arrive. Only a small,amount of food and not of the best quality. We paid £14 a head when half of that would have seemed pricey Cracked crockery and half dead flowers suggests an uncaring attitude. We won't be returning

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank PaigeCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gavyn B, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I was disappointed to read your comments with regards our afternoon tea. We have a friendly and helpful team that would have been more than happy to help if only you had given us the opportunity with the issues you have raised.
On the small occasions that we do fall short all we ask that you tell us at the time to allow us to make the necessary corrections.
I would welcome a call from yourself to discuss further.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed at bryn meadows this weekend, we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who made checking in and out quick and easy, the room was first class and overlooked the golf course.bar facility's great.had breakfast food was pleantyful and hot,spa facility's were 1st class, the only thing I could find at fault were the spa changing rooms which were very small that aside I would recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: Stayed in room 217 overlooked the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob1obe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gavyn B, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for taking time to review you experience with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Date: 25th Dec 2013. Sorry this a bit late, it will be worth it. 6 adults and 2 youngsters arrived for the pre booked Christmas meal. We were met at the door by very smartly dressed, smiling and polite staff who offered to take our coats. We were escorted to our tables, where drinks orders were soon taken. The whole meal was served to our table together, nice and hot, and served with a smile. At no point did any of the staff give the impression they wished there were at their own homes. Father Christmas arrived for the children's (and adults) benefit and he was brilliant. Equally his grotto was fantastic. We have already made enquiries for Christmas 2014. When I went to ask see the manager, (unfortunately I made him think I was about to complain). It was to ask about whether some specific family issues could be catered for in 2014, because this day in total was absolutely brilliant in all aspects. Although children's menus were priced the same as adults, the only slight 'dip' in an excellent day. I am led to believe that in 2014 Christmas day, children's portions, priced accordingly have already been planned. An excellent venue, excellent staff led by an extremely professional manager...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gavyn B, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

A massive thank you for your wonderful review. The team are always encouraged by good feedback and it’s great to hear that you was so well looked after. It was our privilege to have the opportunity to take care of you on Christmas Day and look forward to welcoming you back for the festive period 2014 and to see Father Christmas again
On behalf of all team I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Bryn Meadows Golf Hotel &Spa for your Christmas Day.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

The Room...
Booked a junior suite for 1 night for my fiancés birthday, the room was a good size, the bed was huge and very comfy. The furniture and decor isn't the most modern by design but is good quality and the room was clean.
The bathroom had a TV in it but this didn't work, was told by reception it was hit and miss which ones did!

The spa...
The spa was very nice, made use of all of it but spent most of our time in the hydrospa watching the sunset!
There was a few tiles coming off the bench in the steam room, nothing major but could do with a bit of TLC.

The food....
We ordered room service which was very quick, 15 minutes from ordering to eating! The welsh burger was really good!
Breakfast in the morning was superb, very fulfilling, lots of choice, we didn't have to wait long and despite going in towards the end of service it all seemed freshly cooked.

The staff....
We dealt with people in reception, spa, and restaurant and they were all very friendly, no problems at all!

Overall a very nice relaxing break, easy to get to, pleasant views and a good place to chill out.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Danger1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gavyn B, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visits with us. I was pleased that you enjoyed your visit to and once again thank you for your comments. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maesycwmmer
8 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
12.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
6.3 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#2 of 74 in Cardiff
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
4.4 mi away
Llechwen Hall Hotel
Llechwen Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Pontypridd
434 reviews
15.8 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa

Address: Maesycwmmer | Nr. Ystrad Mynach, Maesycwmmer CF82 7SN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Caerphilly County > Maesycwmmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maesycwmmer
Price Range: £90 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a unique luxurious four star golf and spa resort set in over 100 acres of meadowland and hidden amongst the breath taking valleys of south east Wales. Bryn Meadows is one of the leading destinations for spa breaks and golf breaks in Wales, comprising of 42 contemporary, yet classically styled en-suite rooms most with balconies overlooking the beautiful surrounding countryside, extensive leisure & spa facilities and a championship parkland golf course.Only 10 minutes away from J32 of the M4 and just 25 minutes from Cardiff, one of Europe’s most lively and cosmopolitan cities, Bryn Meadows is perfectly located to all the major attractions of the city, yet is far enough away for those searching for a relaxing retreat. For those wishing to explore the local area, the town of Caerphilly is just 10 minutes away, steeped in history with its own impressive hilltop Castle. Just 30 minutes away, the incredible Brecon Beacons renowned for its beautiful and diverse landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel And Spa
Bryn Meadows Golf Hotel Maesycwmmer
Bryn Meadows Hotel
Bryn Meadows Boutique Hotel
Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa Maesycwmmer, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing