We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Water front dining” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matthew's Beachside Restaurant

Matthew's Beachside Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 220 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Romantic, View, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Casual and chic, Matthew's is renowned as one of the best covered open-air beachfront restaurants in Aruba. Upscale Caribbean, International and seafood dishes are prepared using the freshest ingredients.Besides breakfast, lunch, dinner, we offer all you can eat spareribs on Tuesday's, Karaoke night after dinner party on Wednesdays, Italian night on Thursdays and of course our daily happy hours with live music at the bar on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday. If you are a sports fan, you'll be happy to know that there are 3 flat screens at the bar that are always showing your favorite sport.
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Water front dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

My wife and I ate at Matthew's for our anniversary. We had a great table right next to the beach with an awesome view of the sunset. The food was delicious. We returned several more times that week for breakfast and dinner. Great value with excellent service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    644
    492
    165
    56
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Casual”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Place to take small children, don't come here for a luxury dinner because you won't get that. People are kind but the food is awful and feels like a diner, not a top ten restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Traveler95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This place has great food and lot of options to choose from. They also have great desert menu. It is on the beach but not right on the sand. If you choose their three course dinner for two at the beach, you get nice private table right on the sand away from everyone, great value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank btsilosani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Casual beach dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

While staying at the Aruba Beach Club we had both breakfast and lunch at this beachside restaurant. For being located beachside and on a vacation ownership property the pricing was very reasonable for very good food and service. I had a very juicy hamburger for lunch and their take on a Mexican egg burrito for breakfast. Will return again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful--on the water!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Matthew's was a great restaurant near the Divi low rise hotel. The decor is festive, right on the ocean, and very pretty. The food was reasonably priced and delicious. The steak my husband had for dinner was just as good, or better, than steaks in some of the other higher priced restaurants. Highly recommend Matthew's!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pat20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matthew's Beachside Restaurant also viewed

 
Oranjestad, Aruba
 

Been to Matthew's Beachside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing