We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If it wasn't for the rude owner, this would be the ideal place to stay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Malibu Hotel Aruba

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oranjestad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Malibu Hotel Aruba
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If it wasn't for the rude owner, this would be the ideal place to stay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

The service at the Malibu Suites was acceptable. However, our experience with the owner was not so nice. She was rather rude and unfriendly.
We loved the room and the cleanliness and the cleaning team was very pleasant.
The area felt safe. There are security cameras everywhere and the front entrance is locked at all times.
The kitchen did not have an oven, toaster or towels.
We at least enjoyed the free wi-fi access.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindseyidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    21
    7
    4
    19
See reviews for
35
34
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

Have to agree with previous reviewer. Generally a good little place. Very clean rooms with nice little pool and BBQ area. Location a little far from the action, but not too bad. Good value for money.

However, the service was just AWFUL. The owners were hardly ever there to let guests in which meant other guests often had to double as 'doormen' or even porters. However, the bad attitude of the owners when they were there - particularly the owner's wife - was just shocking.

I have never been treated as badly as I was at Malibu Suites. Ruined our trip.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Streatham_Superstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

I stayed here in December 2010 with a group of friends. The rooms are fine, however the service is just horrible. I've never ever in my life been treated this badly by a host. We had 2 rooms for the weekend. The last day of our stay the owners wife Mrs. Yamilet went to check the rooms, she told me that we used the safe and that she could not open it. I told her that we didn't use the safe. Mather of fact we didn't even know there was a safe in the rooms! This was not shown to us either when we checked in to the hotel. She then addressed me as if we were lying and told me that they would keep my deposit because they would have to break the safe open. I tried to have a normal discussion with this lady, but this was just not possible. She walked away while I was talking and didn't even try to find a solution that would suite both parties. I have never been treated so unfairly and unprofessionally before. This was the horrible ending of a weekend away with friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carpediem1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara On The Lake
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

We just returned from a week long vacation in Aruba. We stayed at Malibu suites and were very happy with our experience there. It is a small complex with 8 apartments and the owners (Robert, his wife and daughter) live on site. Robert was very helpful and assisted us with dealing with lost luggage, directions, restaurant suggestions, beaches and general information. The complex has a pool and all the units open onto it. The apartments have one bedroom with a king size bed and a kitchen/living area with a queen size pullout couch. Our unit was very clean and was cleaned daily. We used the apartment as a base to explore the island, a car is needed to get around. It is a good place to go with a family and is quiet and relaxing. We'd go back again!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jboek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2008

We first heard about Malibu Suites from an ad on one of the Aruba BB's. The pictures on their web site looked nice, but I could not find a thing on the internet about the place and was a bit nervous about booking there, having had bad results before by depending only on the pictures posted by a property. Well there was no reason to worry. The small staff at this 8 room property is great, the rooms are very clean and well kept, and the pool area which the rooms surround was small but very inviting, and very secure. The location, though not on the beach, is not far from Surfside beach and is right near downtown Oranjestad. Having stayed all over the island this was a nice change. The property does provide shuttle service to the airport (though you should have a rental car if you are going to stay here) and also has free WiFi.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and friendlieness and imtimacy
  • Disliked — Would like a computer on premisis for guest use
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryS1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
0.2 mi away
Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club
3.4 mi away
MVC Eagle Beach
MVC Eagle Beach
#7 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
1.1 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Camacuri Apartments Aruba
Camacuri Apartments Aruba
#7 of 30 in Oranjestad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
3.3 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Hotel Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Hotel Aruba

Property: Malibu Hotel Aruba
Address: Stadioweg 19, Oranjestad, Aruba (Formerly Malibu Suites)
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are happy to announce that the new Malibu Hotel Aruba formerly known as the Malibu Suites is under new management and we are working hard to improve the client experience. Because of the new management and new owner, the newly renovated Malibu Hotel has increased the amount of rooms and the great experience we can deliver for your Aruba vacation. They are just Hotel Rooms with Air- Conditioning , Television Free Wi-Fi Internet and Room Temperature Water for Showering it a Budget Hotel close from the Airport and Close to the Nikky Beach Aruba . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Malibu Hotel Aruba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing