We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many Excellent Restaurants”
Review of Driftwood

Driftwood
Ranked #20 of 225 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$36
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are located in the heart of characteristic downtown Oranjestad and offer you a unique dining experience. Enjoy the freshest fish, biggest shrimp, or the most succulent Caribbean lobster amid the rustic ambience of the natural driftwood dining room. Our menu includes a large variety of typically Aruban delicacies including our three star fish soup and our mouth-watering filet of fish served with a mild Aruban Creole sauce... A seafood lovers dream come true. Furthermore all dishes are prepared with an Aruban touch and accompanied by Pan Bati, our famous Aruban corn bread. We welcome you to our intimate and comfortable Aruban seafood restaurant where we will do our utmost to make your dining experience a most pleasant and enjoyable one. Welcome to Driftwood!
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Many Excellent Restaurants”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

There are many excellent restaurants in Aruba. Driftwood has excellent fish dishes. They also have non-fish dishes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    943
    486
    227
    79
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This restaurant serves mostly foreigners. The space was tight and cramped. Everyone raved about it but it's just an average steak and seafood restaurant. For the quality, the price was a little high. And be careful- we went late and had to walk through a rough crowd.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MsDnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tastes Great...More Filling!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

WOW! From the garlic bread to the check, this was a great dining experience. I had the breaded shrimp dinner and my wife had the filet mignon. All was prepared to perfection! Excellent service was given by a mature staff and was delivered with precision. Not one complaint from me.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Seafood dinner at the Driftwood”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The last night in Aruba and we couldn't leave without a dinner at the Driftwood restaurant. It is a local place in the back streets of downtown but worth the extra effort to find. My wife had the Wahoo and I had the Surf and Turf, A 8oz Tail and a 4oz Filet Minon. Both dinners were probably the best meals we had in the 9 days that we were there. You need to make the extra effort to go there for dinner, you will not be disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mikeysee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
2 reviews
“Food was a 5”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The best fish preparation we have had on Aruba, but the decor needs a bit of help. The chowder was delicious, as was the fresh fish or shrimp in garlic sauce. The seafood Thermidor was also excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlagGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Driftwood also viewed

Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Oranjestad, Aruba
 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Driftwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing