We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Driftwood

Driftwood
Ranked #20 of 222 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$36
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are located in the heart of characteristic downtown Oranjestad and offer you a unique dining experience. Enjoy the freshest fish, biggest shrimp, or the most succulent Caribbean lobster amid the rustic ambience of the natural driftwood dining room. Our menu includes a large variety of typically Aruban delicacies including our three star fish soup and our mouth-watering filet of fish served with a mild Aruban Creole sauce... A seafood lovers dream come true. Furthermore all dishes are prepared with an Aruban touch and accompanied by Pan Bati, our famous Aruban corn bread. We welcome you to our intimate and comfortable Aruban seafood restaurant where we will do our utmost to make your dining experience a most pleasant and enjoyable one. Welcome to Driftwood!
South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

When my husband and I arrived to Aruba, we asked our cab driver a good place to get delicious seafood. He said that Driftwood was the best on the island. It was also conveniently behind our hotel, so we walked there one night for dinner. We started with some Sangria which was pretty good. We both chose to get the catch of the day which was wahoo. I got mine grilled and my husband got his blackened. Both were cooked really well and stayed moist. We got steamed vegetables and the waiter also brought us their version of cornbread. I'm from the South so I know cornbread, so it was definitely not what we were use to. It reminded us a lot of the taste of pancakes. Still delicious though. This was not our best meal of our time in Aruba by far, but it was still a nice experience with good seafood and kind/attentive staff.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SandalsLvrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    913
    474
    218
    77
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Driftwood…oh yes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We go to driftwood every trip to Aruba, and it never lets us down. I have been out on the Driftwood boat with Herbert's crew and they know where the best spots are to fish for the restaurant.
Driftwood = fresh fish, nice staff, decent drink prices, and a great Aruba experience.
The restaurant is a little bit of a hike from the high rise hotels but the $11 cab ride is worth it….plus you can stay downtown and shop after dinner.
My recommendations (depending on the season) are shark, tuna, wahoo, and mahi.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were looking for a restaurant serving fresh Aruba fish and we had heard very good things about the Driftwood.

Our family of 4 had a reservation and upon arrival were promptly seated in a booth. The table was very skinny and on the smallish side. Next time we would request a different table.

The service was prompt but not overly warm but the fish was delicious and excellently prepared.

Overall for Aruba, the prices are an excellent value for dinner.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Arubalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

On our last night in Aruba we decided to visit Driftwood. We had received many recommendations for this restaurant from locals. We'll they were right. The service was pleasant and our server was attentive. The salad was crisp and loaded with blue cheese. The fish was fresh and plentiful. The portion was generous. I would highly recommend this restaurant. The only con at this restaurant was from my 10 year old son. He said the French fries tasted baked and not fried. .kids. Anyway you won't be disappointed at driftwood. We were told they catch their fish daily and it tasted like it

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkMommyof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Many Excellent Restaurants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

There are many excellent restaurants in Aruba. Driftwood has excellent fish dishes. They also have non-fish dishes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Driftwood also viewed

 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Driftwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing