We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jewel of Aruba”
Review of Marandi - CLOSED

Marandi
Price range: US$23 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, View, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Marandi is Aruba's Sunset restaurant, one of the islands hidden treasures…Dine in a fabulous ambiance right above the turquoise waters on the “Laguna Pier”, either under a giant palapa hut or with the sky as your rooftop. Enjoy a majestic view of the Laguna Bay no matter where you are seated at Marandi, take in Aruba’s breathtaking sunset, totally surrounded by fishes, and later on the sparkling stars right above you… The sinfully delicious international flavored food, with a touch of the Caribbean combined with our attentive and friendly staff makes your dining experience second to none. You may also take a look into our ‘open’ kitchen, to see for yourself how our Chef and his kitchen crew are preparing the most outstanding dishes.The Marandi crew invites you to come, see and taste for yourself Aruba’s Sunset Restaurant, treat yourself to a not to miss dining experience!
Valley Cottage, New York, United States
1 review
“Jewel of Aruba”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This restaurant off the beaten path in Aruba is a must for anyone looking to relax, be catered to, enjoy an absolutely excellent meal (menu is great) and enjoy the atmosphere and ambiance of
their "on the water" location. The entire staff were professional, courteous and very attentive.
The seating is good no matter where you sit on their dining deck. Fairly dark roads heading to
Marandi after you leave the main roads and poor lighting. There are signs leading you to the
restaurant but pay attention as there are multiple turns required.

Roadrunner4464

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    96
    30
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PA18078
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Without a doubt, the best meal ever on the island!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We are very frequent visitors to the island, two times a year, and after an unpleasant experience at this restaurant several years ago (they said our reservation was cancelled), we decided to give it another try. We are very glad we did! I don't know where to begin. We were warmly greeted and were shown to a lovely table for two; we chose the Marandi app of foie gras and German bacon salad to share that was the beginning of our most delicious meal ever! Next we shared the pumpkin soup, my favorite part of the meal. I wish I had ordered my own. The main course was tuna and shrimp cooked to perfection with a wonderful sauce served with a mixture of fresh asparagus, zucchini, and tomatoes! No room left for dessert after devouring the generous portion.

We are returning the second week of January for a month and will definitely dine here again! Susan was a friendly and attentive server too!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lainies0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Casual and enjoyable!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

First time at Marandi was nice. We thought the food was OK, nothing was outstanding but enjoyed feeding the large fish next to our table and the crazy heat lightning. Marandi w has a nice landscaped atmosphere and ambience.

Helpful?
Thank Wmertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food, service and ambiance”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Marandi is now our favorite restaurant in Aruba!! And, that's remembering that it is difficult not to find a good restaurant in Aruba!! The food was fresh and beautifully prepared. The ambiance out on the waterside deck was lovely. The service provided by our server, Laura was beyond attentive and welcoming!! As frequent visitors to Aruba, this will be a place we will dine on each and every trip!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
170 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“JUST AS GOOD TWO YEARS LATER”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Two years ago we were thoroughly impressed with the setting and food at Marandi. We actually thought we should not return as it just couldn't meet that memory, well it did! By the way, there are signs making it easy to find that I don't think existed in the past. At any rate, the place is a beautiful setting over the water. The table setting is lovely, the waitress, Laura, was terrific, the drinks well made and the food just as terrific. We all had either fish or shellfish for the entree. Our choice was made easy after Laura gave an accurate description of the fish of the day, an import from Panama, tri tail. When the huge shrimp came out with their heads on, she was quick to offer having the heads removed in the kitchen. A foi gras appetizer was also well received. In short this place is a perfect combination of Aruban friendliness and a real effort at perfection in preparation and setting.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marandi also viewed

 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing