We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gone down hill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Hopkinsville
Level Contributor
106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“gone down hill”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Years ago this was a great hotel. I visited again recently and was so disapointed! Construction started years ago wasn't near finished. A lot if the stores in the downtown area were closed. I saw drug deals on the private island. Smelled pot smoke each night. It made me very sad , I stayed at this hotel for years and will not return. If you go to Aruba stay out in the highrise hotel area, it keeps getting better out that way.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelingal555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,042
    1,582
    527
    202
    146
See reviews for
843
2,274
113
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (998)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conception Bay South, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed at the adult part of the resort and from arrival to departure a week later we had a great time. The service was great. We found the staff very friendly and the food perfect. The water taxi from the hotel to the resorts private island takes but minutes where you can relax on the adult side of the island or if you have your family with you the other side of the island is for you. Food and good food it is as well as drinks of any kind are available. The wedding on the adult side was amazing with a beautiful sunset and flamingos. The only down side were some of the rooms. Some are small and need some work. Overall a great destination for fun and sun.

Room Tip: Corner room if you can get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GTR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We booked this on hotwire for our "baby moon" in January. It was a very nice, well laid out hotel with a private island which was kind of cool. The location was terrific; lots of shopping and restaurants within walking distance. I liked that there was a Starbucks in the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ButterflyInNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Stayed in the Marina Tower from June 10, 2012 to June 17, 2012.
If there is one area that seperates this from being a true 5 star it has to be the rooms. The views in all the rooms are limited, some actually face the hotel lobby, while others overlook a somewhat busy sidestreet. There are no balconies so relaxing in your room at any point of the day is not really an option. rooms are great for sleeping in, comfortable beds, clean and not lacking anything you would expect from a top notch hotel. You don't spend much time in the room anyway because Aruba is so so beautiful !!
Now for the good news, the food, beach, ambiance and people are all great !
Let's start with the food, lots of options (healthy options) breakfasts exceed your expected down south spread, some items included in the breakfast menu include salmon, nuts, raisons, cottage cheese, fresh fruit and freshly squeezed juices. Lunch was more pub fare for me, simply because I ate on the island daily although there was more formal fair availble at the restaurant at the Marina Hotel. Dinner was the highloght with tender steak, lobster seafood, high quality salad options and yummy deserts. Lots of wine options bottled service). The Balashi beer was also tasty and rivals the famous mexican Corona Beer.
Beach spectacular turqoise water white sandy beach, you do need to take a boat shuttle to the private beach. All the amenities on the island including some yummy food. The water rafts which are great cost $5.00 per day, well worth it, on more than one day I spent hours on the raft in and out of sleep, bring lots of sunscreen It's Hot !! a decieving hot due to the constant gentle breeze that can disguise the actual high heat of the sun. A couple of draw backs, on a couple of days we were bothered by flies, could be that we were seated to close to the restaurant? They could be a nuisance especially when reading or falling asleep. Oddly this was not a constant problem but one worth mentioning, perhaps bringing some bug spray could be useful. My second minor issue was the reorts lack of insight with regards to the lounge chairs at the beach and beach resort hotel. Perhaps the hotels were not at capacity but the resort staff insisted on spreading out all the chairs daily even though only have of the chairs were being occupied, this made the gorgeous island beach an eyesore filled with empty lounge chairs rather than seeing and enjoying the sand and water. To add to the bad decision is that when the chairs began to be collected they were stacked at waters edge so if you like to stay at the beach after 4pm you would be staring at a bunch of lounge chairs pilled 4 feet high rather than the gorgeous waters of Aruba. Perhaps piling the chairs towards the back of the beach rather than waters edge would give guests a more enjoyable afternoon? The staff at the Beach Bar (Iguana Grill) were the least pleasant at the resort, they seemed to lack professionalism and failed to provide high quality service that was apparent everywhere else at the resort. that being said one of the hardest working and most pleasant employee could also be found on the island. If you are planning a trip and want excellent service while soaking up the rays please see Maria. Maria is hard working, polite and provides excellent service. She actually comes right to your lounge chair and promptly brings you drinks in a bucket of ice, she also has a menu ready and will bring you lunch right to your lounge chair. Another beef I had was why one women (Maria) is given the task of servicing the entire beach? She was not only reponsible for bringing you food and drinks but picking up when finished. Hello management give her some help please!!! Meanwhile girls working at the bar are watching the soccer game and ignoring guests. Not sure if management ever visited the island during the day? But changes should be made. If i'm sounding negative be naugt afraid I just notice a lot of the little stuff. I can go on but dinner is calling, I will leave off with my top ten list, something I always like to include in my reviews, ok here we go,

# 10
Yuraima - She works front desk and I happned to observe her on more than one occassion providing excellent customer service, she is very helpful and does her best to make guests feel welcome.

# 9
Washington
He is a waiter at the hotel steakhouse, this guy provides high quality service, his high level of service helps build the wonderful ambiance of the restaurant.

# 8
Adriana Other top 10 Maria, Elizabeth (great smile!), Robert, Richard, Maid Service (i didn't get her name)
I've run out of characters!! Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SeaSunFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I really love staying at this hotel as it's a fantastic location. You are right in the heart of the city and within walking distance to the major night clubs, casino's, restaurants. The rooms are spacious (we had a mini kitchen area which was great). The steakhouse in the main hotel was fantastic and the casino was very clean. Only thing is it is not by the popular beaches (the strip hotels have better beaches but you have to cab it into the city every night and it's filled with spring break kids). Renaissance has it's own private island for the beach which has a restaurant as well- very relaxing and great service. If I went back to Aruba, I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: I liked staying in the annexed portion of the hotel- the pool is much more resorty style and has a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My wife and I just returned from the Renaissance marina hotel and thought the place was great. As I said in the title, the place reminded of a South Beach hotel. Its trendy, open air, 2nd floor pool with cool music playing, and a convenient, friendly lobby bar. The other great aspect of the hotel is the boat pickup in the lobby to take guests to the amazing private island since the hotel is not beach front. The private island is incredibly relaxing with both a family friendly side and an adult only side. In my opinion, the private island, even with the 5-10 minute boat ride was as nice if not better than staying on the ocean and walking out to the beach.

A couple of other notes from reviews, I have read - yes, the hotel is in Oranjestad (or in the downtown area). Remember, this is not NYC, being "downtown" is not a big deal. The hotel is across a small street from a beautiful marina and you can walk over to the beach on the family side of the resort if you would like.

My only real negative was the bathroom. It was very small and certainly didnt have the feel of being in a higher end hotel. I think someone else mentioned this, but also make sure you have a room that faces out of the hotel - some face into the atrium which IMO was not very private at all.

Room Tip: make sure your room/balcony faces outside the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vabrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed at the Renaissance- Marina hotel and opted for the all inclusive option for our honeymoon. Initially our room faced to the inside of the lobby, but we were upgraded for free to an island view, which really was an ocean view room. We could see all the way to the high rise resorts on the other side of the island.

You can tell this hotel is older. The rooms are on the smaller side, but were just cozy for the two of us. Plus we were never in the room anyway. The balcony was lovely, especially in the mornings. I noticed on the reviews that people listed issues with hot water. The first day I had no hot water for my shower, but my husband too his immediately after it was fine. We never had a problem the rest of the week.

The staff are extremely helpful with everything. We made reservations, rented cars and got recommendations from the staff. They were great!

The private island is AMAZING. Much more private than the beaches at the high rise resorts and there were very few children even on the 'family' side. There are lizards and flamingos that walk amongst the guests on the island. And the boat ride to and from the hotel is a fun little addition!

The restaurants at the resort are expensive, as expected, so the all inclusive option was good for us. We ate several meals off resort and still felt that we got our monies worth out of the all inclusive.

The pool is amazing and very Vegas-esque. There were DJs there and always a young fun crowd drinking at the bar. The open air lobby is right next to it so you can sit at the pool and pool bar and get the free wi-fi, which was nice.

The location of this hotel is perfect. There are very few other resorts near by, but there is a TON of shopping and restaurants. There is a mall across the street, below the hotel and next door. Its a very safe part of town. We walked around almost every night to the Casino or other bars to get a drink after dinner.

I would highly recommend this hotel for honeymooners or an adult couple looking to have a fun relaxing get away. There's so much to do around this spot, you definitely won't get bored!

Room Tip: Ask for an island view room. The ocean view rooms are more expensive and look directly over the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
4.1 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,642 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,935 reviews
1.7 mi away
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,395 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Property: Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Address: L G Smith Boulevard 82 | Aruba, Oranjestad, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the newly renovated Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, we Live Life to Discover. Here in the heart of Oranjestad, you will find yourself in the middle of the excitement, and our entire staff is ready to inspire you. You don't have to go far to experience the real Caribbean, it's right outside your door. Our luxury hotel in Aruba offers a perfect location steps from Oranjestad's vibrant modern downtown boutiques, giving you endless opportunities to indulge your inner shopaholic. Get the thrill of a hand of poker in one of our two casinos, enjoy one of our RLifeLIVE events and revel in the Aruban culture in a way you can only experience from the heart of the city. The resort offers two distinct experiences, the hip and lively adult-exclusive Renaissance Marina Hotel and the Renaissance Ocean Suites, a sophisticated one-bedroom suite accommodation. Both provide exclusive access to a special discovery, Renaissance Island, with Aruba's only private beaches and a truly tropical experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
Renaissance Aruba Resort And Casino
Renaissance Hotel Aruba
Renaissance Oranjestad
Oranjestad Renaissance
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing