We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dull & Outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
LOs Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dull & Outdated”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I recently stayed at the Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino in the Ocean Suites bldg which is referred to as the family side. This place is horrible. It is outdated and has absolutely no beach. There is ocean access but it is shored up with rocks so its a small pool. The island is a dump, empty no one was there and again there are rocks which create a lagoon, not a reach ocean experience. This area is dead at night. We were taking taxis every night and day to go to the high rise area where all the clubs are for young people. The hotels there are much nicer and bigger. After the 1st day we starting using the beach at the hotels in high rise area. There is a marriott there that is stunning. DO NOT GO TO THIS RENAISSANCE IT IS A DUMP AND BORING.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Morda_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,101
    1,616
    549
    205
    152
See reviews for
874
2,338
118
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,026)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

OK that may sound biased so let me clarify. If you have little ones by all means stay on the family side BUT if you are there with another adult and don't want screaming kids running up and down the halls-stay on the adult side! The staff was super friendly, the bar had great music, the spa is wonderful and relaxing but most of all the boat to the private island is spectacular. Loved it, if I go back to Aruba I would stay again.

Room Tip: I only gave the room a very good because I am an outlet junkie and there weren't a lot of availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Note that this hotel has 2 separate structures: the family-friendly building on the water, and the adults-only building in the city. The two structures are a 5 minute walk apart, and there is free golf cart shuttle service between them. Your room key allows you to access and pay for services at both.

My most recent stay was at the adult-only structure, though I have stayed at both. I did not experience the problems with clenliness of the showers or delays in hot water that other Trip Advisor reviewers did, but they may have stayed in the other building. Time between bathroom sink on and max hot water = 9 seconds.

The room was clean and servicable. Many of the rooms at the Adult side face the interior atrium of the hotel, which means not much of a view. Air conditioning worked well and kept the room comfortably cool. The room featured a small refrigerator that I found helpful for keeping beverages in too slake my thirst after coming back or in the middle of the night.

Service is friendly, but can be slow. The front desk can turn into a mob scene with people lined up to check in or check out. It would be nice if they would hire more staff/train them to work faster/install automated kiosks/all of the above to solve this, but it has been that way for the 4 years I have been visiting here. Lovely jellyfish aquariums behind the front desk to stare at while you are waiting (im)patiently.

There is a shopping arcade (the "Rennaisance Mall") on the ground floor; ostensibly it is open from 10-8 daily, but the shops within it keep different hours, and don't bother to post what they are. Can be annoying.

The Renaissance also owns a private island a short distance off the coast of Aruba, since it does not have a beach at either of its locations. A free boat shuttle leaves from each of the 2 buildings during the day for the 20-minute shuttle back and forth. The boat dock at the adult-side is actually right below the lobby of the hotel! You will need a room key to access the boats. As other reviewers remarked, the island is near the airport, which can be 1) cool if you like watching jets swoop over your head on the boat ride, or 2) annoying if you can't abide the sound of airplanes. In truth, AUA is not ORD, and there are probably fewer than 30 flights all day long, so normal people shouldn't find it too distracting. The beach island is split into adult-only and family-friendly sections, both are encompassed by rock jetties to keep out rough surf and negate the danger of being sucked out to sea. There is a small restaurant there (haven't tried it, can't speak to quality) as well as an aquatic activities hut.

The pool at the adult side of the Renaissance is on the second floor, near the lobby and overlooking the marina. It is small but nice, and doesn't get too crowded. There is a bar and restaurant there as well called Blue. It has 2 for 1 happy hour from 4:30-6 PM daily. Service is friendly, but can be slow. Food from their limited menu is decent.

There is a casino down the hall from the lobby, also on the second floor. Of all the casinos in Aruba, this is my favorite. It seems to have the most life, biggest size, and lacks the depressing vibe that some of the others have.

The pool at the family-friendly side is quite large, with many chairs. There is also a swim-up bar that has a dry seating area as well. Same happy hour as Blue: 2 for 1, 4:30-6 PM. Same friendly-if-not-speedy service.

The rest of Oranjestaad is an easy walk from either hotel (though the adult side is closer). Oranjestaad is a weird town in that there don't seem to be centers of activity; bars and restaurants are scattered down random streets that seem dead and lifeless, especially at night when the steel shutters and cages are locked down. Nevertheless, an enterprising explorer will find great food and friendly people hidden at the local joints should they choose to explore. A streetcar project is being built a couple of blocks behind the hotel; we will see if that breathes some life into things.

All in all, the Renaissance provides what I think is the best lodging option in Aruba for the visitor who has the initiative to go out and explore, and wants a central base of operations and a basic room.

Room Tip: Note that this hotel has 2 separate structures: the family-friendly building on the water, and the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gordon13798465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This resort is in the middle of downtown, close to eaterys, close to casinos , it even has its own exclusive island , The island takes about twenty minutes to get to by boat, provided boat taxi ride by hotel. .it s worth the trip , Hotel is very friendly, staff is very helpful. One nite I was reading in the lobby around 3AM and a security guard asked if I wanted a coffee and went to get it!. Hotel is not that large and you will not get lost looking for your room. .

Pool and bar is outside on a deck overlooking downtown and the ocean in the background.

I would recommend the
Renaissance Aruba Resort and is one of my favorites places on the island.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gnapoli321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
widnes
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

w
l inclusive


e have just arrived back of holiday from aruba we stayed at the renissance hotel its the worest hotel stating five star accomadation the bedrooms are basic the bathrooms are dirty if you go all inclusive you are in for a shock the food is the same each day fish there is a steak house with the same menu each day you have a ten minute boat ride to there island they don"t tell you its onlly 800 yards from the main airport runway so you aircraft landing and takeing every ten minutes

Room Tip: there very expensive on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bamoore2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Everything about this hotel is modern and well kept. Great staff, attentive service.

Having easy access (short walk) to the adjacent Reniassance property was nice for the beach and another pool. Plenty of restaurants within an easy walk, too.

Boat ride over to the private island is convenient and enjoyable. One of the boat operators paused the boat on our ride back to the hotel so we could watch a plane landing at the airport.

Hot water was hard to come by in the late afternoons / early evenings. Only complaint.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed here using Marriott points, and was told on arrival that I'd received a free room upgrade based on my platinum status as well as a choice of a free room service item, which was delivered to our room shortly after we were settled. The gym is very nice and was clearly designed into the building, rather than being put in as an after-thought by combining two or three rooms. The shuttle boat service to the private island is frequent and easy, and the island itself is picturesque. The hotel staff was very friendly and attentive; I was particularly impressed with the housekeeping. When we left our in room safe open after having a problem with it, while we were out the housekeeping noticed the safe was open. They notified the front desk who secured the room and ensured the door could only be unlocked by security personnel in our presence. Only gripe is that hot water was hard to come by if you tried to shower in the mid- to late-afternoon when everyone is returning throw the beach. Overall a great stay and I would come back in a second.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
4.1 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,754 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,059 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Divi Aruba
Divi Aruba
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
2,757 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,384 reviews
2.0 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Property: Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Address: L G Smith Boulevard 82 | Aruba, Oranjestad, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the newly renovated Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, we Live Life to Discover. Here in the heart of Oranjestad, you will find yourself in the middle of the excitement, and our entire staff is ready to inspire you. You don't have to go far to experience the real Caribbean, it's right outside your door. Our luxury hotel in Aruba offers a perfect location steps from Oranjestad's vibrant modern downtown boutiques, giving you endless opportunities to indulge your inner shopaholic. Get the thrill of a hand of poker in one of our two casinos, enjoy one of our RLifeLIVE events and revel in the Aruban culture in a way you can only experience from the heart of the city. The resort offers two distinct experiences, the hip and lively adult-exclusive Renaissance Marina Hotel and the Renaissance Ocean Suites, a sophisticated one-bedroom suite accommodation. Both provide exclusive access to a special discovery, Renaissance Island, with Aruba's only private beaches and a truly tropical experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Aruba Resort And Casino
Renaissance Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
Renaissance Hotel Aruba
Renaissance Oranjestad
Oranjestad Renaissance
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing