We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunshine and Flamingos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Just spent a week at the Ocean Suites and had a great time. Yes the hotel does show its age but the rooms are clean and have all the comforts of an all suite hotel...fridge, microwave and coffee pot. The sleeper sofa is a sofa-bed...may want to ask for the rollaway instead. Always had plenty of hot water and towels. The restaurants had good food and nice service. The Flamingos on the private island were truly beautiful. Always plenty of chairs and enough shade or sun...and nice snorkeling. Saw tons of fish and even an eel. The lagoon at the Ocean Suites was perfect for just floating around and cooling off. Plenty of chairs there and shade too. Wifi is available in the open air lobby for free and even on parts of the beaches and private island but not the rooms. Lots of nice restaurants close by. Plenty of parking available if you decide to rent a car. For stays longer than a few days the car is nice to get out and about the island to explore. Overall GREAT experience here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daune G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,759)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,640 - 2,646 of 4,759 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

I cannot say enough about the Renaissance Aruba (we stayed at the Adult Only Marina Palace). Everything was excellent! the hotel, the restaurants, the people. Although there isn't much of a nightlife at this resort, you have to make the best of it...the nightlife is probably more lively down by the other resorts along the resort area by the RIU hotels and all that but the Renaissance Aruba MORE than made up for it by what its hotel provides! The private beach was definitely our highlight! The snorkeling at this beach was better than the snorkeling trip we paid to go on! I have never seen so many fish! If you do get a chance to take a day trip, definitely do the ABC Jeep Tour (try to get Marshall & Wendel as your guides)...it was so much fun, get to see the entire island and most of its' highlights, and Baby Beach was awesome! If you're going to Aruba, be sure to invest in your own snorkeling gear, it's worth it! p.s. I couldn't select Sept 2011 (when we there so this may appear as Sept 2012)....but by the reviews, this place is still as great as ever!

Room Tip: be sure to go all inclusive, at check in doublecheck that you get that, we changed rooms when we fir...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank renee147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed on the "time share" side closest to the ocean complete with its own lagoon. Fourth time back for me. The staff is great especially Julio at the dockside bar. Private island with another lagoon is like snorkeling in a fish tank. Prices are comparable to the surrounding area. Aruba is pricey. The safest place we've ever traveled to.

Room Tip: The Towers are adult only and part of the mall/casino.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crispell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Just returned yesterday from a four night stay. We had a great time and would rate this hotel experience as one of the best that we have had in 4 countries and 9 different destinations in the Caribbean.
First when we arrived we met the only jerk on the "One Happy Island." Our cab driver #77 did not understand that the Marriott Renaissance is the Renaissance and started to take us to the other side of the island. When we asked him where he was going he threaten to kick us out of the cab and call the police. Be very clear that you are going to the Renaissance and not the Marriott Renaissance because the cabs will not understand and if you get in cab 77 get out and take another cab!
Hotel staff was great. I am a Marriott Gold Elite member and of all my nights in Marriotts this stay would rate at the top. Room was clean, lobby clean and pool was great.
We did not buy the all inclusive. Mixed drinks were $7.50 and beer was $5.50 for Chills (Aruba's beer). Happy hour from 4 to 6pm everyday 2 for 1 so unless you drink a lot all day long your bar tab should not be too bad. We ate the local restaurants to get the overall experience. Que Pasa was awesome, we ate a pasta place at the market across the street that was okay and we ate at LG Smith which was very good.
The private island was nice. The restaurant was good and fairly priced. The four days there I got a burger, club sandwich, steak sandwich and a fish sandwich prices ranged from $11 to $13 with fries. The scenery was good, not a lot of shade on the adult side but the family side had plenty.
We will certainly consider this hotel again when we return to Aruba in a few years.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed here on business 1/16-1/19. The hotel is decently nice, has nice infinity pool, decent lounge vibe, small casino and high end shopping mall underneath. No Wi-Fi in rooms, and only spotty Wi-Fi in Hotel lobby/bar. Rooms are decent, TV reception and selection is not so great. Main issue is the hotel is located in Oranjestad, which is all shopping, but without nice beaches. Presumably one would come to Aruba for the beaches. so staying in the high rise hotel area North of here is a better recommendation. Taxis from airport to Oranjestad run about $25 - from Oranjestad to hotel area (15 minute ride North) are $11. Better to come to this part during the day, as one day will suffice any interest in the area.
The Renaissance also has a beachfront property across the street from this property that has a pool with swim-up bar. Also bars in both have 2 for one special roughly everyday from 5-7. Still beach here isn't that great, has constant view of airplanes coming to airport and huge ocean tankers in distance constantly (not sure if they're headed to Aruba or Venezuela)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJKNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights on our third trip to Aruba. It's a really nice hotel with a great pool area and great location in downtown Oranjestad. They are attached to a casino and shopping mall. They even have a private island that they will take you to for free every 30 minutes. The private island was nice to check out, but it's not nearly as nice as the other public beaches on the island. (like Eagle Beach). You could hear all the planes coming in and out of the airport, which made it less relaxing.
Service was very friendly, although we did have to wait in line to check in and out for awhile. Check-out is at 11am, but if you have a later flight, they let you leave your luggage at the front desk, and use their hospitality room to change and shower up before heading to the airport. This was a great service, which allowed us to hit the beach on our last day. Parking is free across the street. There's also a really good dutch pancake house in the plaza by the marina, and a good seafood spot (The Old Fisherman) like 2 blocks away. The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is that they charge guests $10 to use their steam room, which should be a free amenity in my opinion.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We were first time visitors to Aruba and stayed at the Renaissance's Marina and the Ocean Suites properties (because we couldn't get all 5 nights at one property). We loved both locations.

The rooms were clean however the bathtubs were small and had mildew stains. It wasn't too big an issue because we spent most of our time at the Renaissance Island which made our trip divine.

The private island was perfect for relaxing. We enjoyed swaying in the hammocks, photographing the flamingos, and watching the planes and cruise ships go by. There weren't too many planes and we only saw two huge ships sail past - which was a nice diversion. The beach is small and not meant for leisurely strolling - but we were there mainly to soak in the sun and dip in the ocean.

We were glad we didn't stay in the high rise area which we visited for an afternoon - too crowded for us - but could see it as being an attractive location if you like water sports.

We had dined at Passions on the Beach, which I preferred over our experience at Barefoot. The setting was more romantic and the beach was wider. However the red snapper at the restaurant on Renaissance Island was probably the freshest fish I had on the trip.

We had one hiccup on the trip when we were in the process of moving rooms from the Marina to the Ocean Suites. The folks at the reception desks between the two hotels got their signals crossed, one side informed us that our room was ready but when we went to check-in they said it wouldn't be ready for another 4 hours. It created a bit of a logistics problem, but after discussing the matter with the manager at the Marina, she resolved the issue immediately. Within 15 minutes of explaining the situation, she informed us our room was ready and arranged for us to check in at the Ocean Suites at the Marina side. Our Ocean Suites room overlooked the pool and ocean - the room location was fabulous and in no time the 1 hour wasted over the mix-up was forgotten. I felt like we had great customer service!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skhatri2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
4.1 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,891 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,179 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,539 reviews
1.7 mi away
Divi Aruba
Divi Aruba
#3 of 6 in Oranjestad
2,823 reviews
2.3 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Address: L G Smith Boulevard 82 | Aruba, Oranjestad, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range: £145 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the newly renovated Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, we Live Life to Discover. Here in the heart of Oranjestad, you will find yourself in the middle of the excitement, and our entire staff is ready to inspire you. You don't have to go far to experience the real Caribbean, it's right outside your door. Our luxury hotel in Aruba offers a perfect location steps from Oranjestad's vibrant modern downtown boutiques, giving you endless opportunities to indulge your inner shopaholic. Get the thrill of a hand of poker in one of our two casinos, enjoy one of our RLifeLIVE events and revel in the Aruban culture in a way you can only experience from the heart of the city. The resort offers two distinct experiences, the hip and lively adult-exclusive Renaissance Marina Hotel and the Renaissance Ocean Suites, a sophisticated one-bedroom suite accommodation. Both provide exclusive access to a special discovery, Renaissance Island, with Aruba's only private beaches and a truly tropical experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Aruba Resort And Casino
Renaissance Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
Renaissance Hotel Aruba
Renaissance Oranjestad
Oranjestad Renaissance
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing